We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Citadines @ Trafalgar Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #281 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel has probably the best location in London. It is very close to Trafalgar Square and many other famous attractions of London. The hotel also offers free tea and coffee 24/7, which is very convenient as well. However, the quality of internet in the rooms was extremely poor and it was very annoying, especially if one is travelling on business. Rooms service was also a bit annoying, most of the times the room was cleaned late afternoon, and sometimes I would find my stuff on the floor, instead of them being folded and put on the bed. Though these are minor things, I think that the hotel really needs to invest in proper internet connection.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NinoG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear NinoG82,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. I am glad you generally liked your stay with us, but sorry for the inconveniences with the WIFI connection. We have replaced one of the modems and are also waiting for Fibre Optic to be installed in the coming weeks. Once again Thank You for the review, all feedback helps us improve on our product and services so we can try to ensure all our guests have a great stay. We look forward to you returning and enjoying our Fibre Optic broadband on your next visit to us.

Best Wishes,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,253)
There are newer reviews for Citadines Trafalgar Square London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 2,253 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Location wonderful
apartment spacious with a private bedroom with a door. Living room had a sofa bed with a comfortable mattress. Two singles, perfect for two kids. Small kitchen but very useful. Close to 100's of restaurants and bars. There is a supermarket around the corner to pick up anything u might want. Great find.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sonu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Sonu K,

Thank you for the excellent review. The team and I are glad you had a fantastic stay and we look forward to you returning on your next trip to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Good value for money considering its central location. Great for business meetings if you're not having the majority of them in the City or Canary Wharf. Lots of food choices nearby with Covent Garden and the surrounding neighbourhoods within 10 minute walks. The rather well known Sherlock Holmes pub is right next door and Trafalgar Square itself is a stone's throw away. Very liveable sized rooms. Water pressure is good and hot water comes on instantly. Could have included disposable bedroom slippers but otherwise all the amenities you would need on a business trip. Tends to be a bit loud if you have a room facing Northumberland avenue as quite a lot of buses ply that route.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the main road as a lot of London buses run that road.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeloGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear GeorgeLeeCC

Thank you for posting about your recent stay. As you mention our rates are very competitive for central London and we also run advance purchase rates and promotions. The location is great for visiting London whether it be business or pleasure as we are so central. We look forward to you returning on your next visit to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here on business for 3 nights. The location is excellent, the staff are very friendly & helpful. I was on the 5th floor which was wonderfully quiet even on a busy Saturday night in June which was a pleasant surprise. The bed was comfortable, the pillows could have been better but that is only a minor niggle. The room was clean & had everything you could need. There are plenty of food shops within easy walking distance so making your own food in the kitchen area is a great option.
I would definitely stay here again either for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Wifi easily gets to the 5th floor
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingboltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Wanderingboltonian,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay on Tripadvisor. The team take great pride in knowing they have made a guest experience enjoyable, so thank you. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar whether it be for work or business.

Best Wishes,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Considering how pricy London can be, this is a VERY good hotel for the price. Stayed with my husband for over a week and was not disappointed. The location is quite central and a short walk to two major tube lines -- Embankment and Charing Cross. Tons of buses as well. The room was spacious and clean. The bathrooms were a good standard size with basic amenities. By far the best feature of the hotel was the small kitchenette. It allowed us to purchase groceries (cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, juice, milk, water) at a nearby supermarket and eat breakfast in the room at our convenience and for a considerably lower price than the hotel breakfast. We also ate in one evening (pasta, salad, etc.) when we were too weary to avoid the restaurant tourist traps. I would highly recommend this hotel. For the location, price, and professional and friendly staff, you cannot beat it. We were able to enjoy London with no grumblings about bathroom size, cost, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors could get street noise. This is a happening location! Ask for a room facing...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Rosemary,

Thank you for the excellent review. As you say the kitchen is great if you want to relax in your apartment and enjoy dinner. Thank you for the kind words about the staff, this motivates us to keep improving on our service to ensure all guest experiences are similar to yourself. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar in the future.

Best Wishes,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here a few years ago when it had more of a budget feel. Now everything is smarter from the electronic key system to the new kettle and iron in the room and the free fresh coffee on tap in the lobby. it's not actually in Trafalgar Square, of course but only a minute or two walk. Only criticism is that the wi-if doesn't reach the 8th floor, and the bath could be a bit bigger. Oh, so could the TV screen. But it's still the best value for money I've found in this part of London.

Room Tip: Higher floors are a bit quieter and lighter but less chance of accessing wi-if in hit he room?
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euromnlostatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Euromnlostatsea,

Thank you for the review. Citadines Trafalgar refurbishment was completed in 2012, so am glad you liked the improvements that were made. In regards to the WIFI my apologies this was slow, we have replaced some of the modems and should also be having Fibre Optic installed in the coming weeks. Once again Thank You for the positive review and we look forward to you returning on your next trip to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you like to be walking distance to Trafalger Square, the National Gallery, Westend Theatres & Covent Garden, this apartment hotel should be for you. We look forward to staying here again this fall for its convenience to favored venues, transportation, restaurants & beyond ...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Laurie B,

Thank you for the great posting, I am glad we will be your home in London and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,874 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#175 of 1,072 in London
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £156 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing