We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, beautiful and central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #282 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Netanya, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, beautiful and central hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Absolutely gorgeous hotel.
It has central location (near Trafalgar square) and 2 tubes stations in a 3 minutes walk.
They welcomed us nicely and we had a great time.
==================================

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sagi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Sagi E,

Thank you for the fantastic review, we look forward to you returning!

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    910
    263
    84
    50
See reviews for
820
668
86
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I stayed 7 nights in room 518 in June 2014. The hotel is in a perfect central location. The suite was quiet. It has lots of power points, both UK and euro. The wi-fi was free and fast. There is a separate toilet. The suite is well equipped with utensils, ironing board, a safe, etc. Air conditioning is good. TV is good. There is a laundry available in the hotel. Reception staff are polite. We recommend the hotel if you want all facilities in a central area.

However it must be said that the paintwork in the suite is tired. It has grey walls, with grey wallpaper and grey pictures. Rooms are cleaned well but this is done late in the afternoon which is not always convenient. The room rate is expensive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Lesley K,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. I am glad you and your wife had a nice time staying with us. My apologies about some of the paint work in your suite, I have instructed the Maintenance Manager to ensure all our rooms are up to the usually high Citadines standards. Should you return to London we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After many years of staying in lower priced hotels in suburbs close to the tube but not necessarily convenient to places I wanted to visit I finally gave in and spent more money to be centrally located. How I wished I had found Citadines before. Great location near Trafalgar Square, Embankment and Charing Cross tube stations and within walking distance of so many attractions in central London. My room had a small kitchen area which was very useful for quick breakfasts or dinner in - there are several supermarkets within a few minutes walk. The hotel staff were very helpful and efficient. Some rooms overlook Northumberland Avenue which is very busy and so rooms at the back are quieter. My room was modern, spacious and very clean. Tea and coffee are available in reception at all hours for guests and there are a couple of computers for guest use in the lobby area. There is very poor & inconsistent WiFi reception in the guest rooms, so if you need to work in your room this might be an issue. I will definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it for anyone visiting central London. This hotel has parking available.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. If WiFi is important, ask for a room that has good reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndigoJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear IndigoJT

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay. I am glad you eventually found us! Yes the location is great as we are so central most sights are within walking distance. My apologies about the WIFI we were having issues during your stay, but have since rectified the problem and are now just waiting for Fibre Optic to be installed in the coming weeks. Once again Thank You for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed with my family from June 16th to June 22th.

The location is amazing, near Trafalgar Square and Charing Cross train / tube stations. VERY accesible.

The apartment we rented was spacious and the kitchen well equipped (we asked for a larger pot and by the time we came back, it was in our apartment that same day) The internet connection was good and we were able to stay in touch with our family back in Argentina

All the staff was very helpful and kind. Some of them spoke Spanish, which was a plus because my parents don't speak English.They even send me a bottle of wine and chocolates for my birthday.

I'm recommending this hotel to all my friends and fmaily for they stay in London and I'll definetly be chosing it again for my next visit to this amazing city.

Thanks for making my first visit to London (and my birthday too) an incredible experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CotyAr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear CotyAr,

Thank you for wonderful posting. I am glad you and your parents were well looked after during your stay with us and that your parents could take advantage of our Spanish speaking staff. Thank you very much for the recommendations and we look forward to you returning on your next holiday to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our fourth stay at Citadines Trafalgar Square. We keep coming back because of its great location, excellent family accommodation and the value (compared to a family room in a hotel in comparable location). Not a particularly cheap option for a tight budget, but very good considering all things on offer, and affordable for a stay of 3-4 nights. The option self cater is very helpful for families with children. We were also very pleased to find that breakfast is now offered. Ours was included in the price of the room. A perfectly good cold buffet with plenty of options for children as well. A great base from which to enjoy all that London has to offer. Minutes from Trafalgar square, the river, the London Eye and Houses of Parliament and with three Tube stations within minutes walk. Highly recommended for those who like to be centrally located and want the flexibility of an apartment instead of a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunlomgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Gunlomgirl,

Thank you for the posting. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us when in London. Yes having a kitchen is definitely a plus, especially when with a family, as eating out nightly in London can be expensive. The Trafalgar team all look forward to welcoming you back for your fifth stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have just returned from a 3 day break in London at the Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. Having never been to London to stay before was a little anxious about noise; locality etc but the location of the hotel was super. It was central to so many things inc. Tube.
Northumberland Ave is an attractive tree lined ave which added to the location. I asked for a quiet room and we got rooms at the back - free from traffic noise.The staff were helpful and on my birthday I returned to my room from Afternoon Tea at the Ritz to see a bottle of wine and chocolates in our room. A very thoughtful touch.
Room was clean ( cleaned every day - fresh towels ) and had all we needed.Tea and coffee is available - and the hot chocolate after an evening out was most welcome in the lounge area. Our daughter and partner stayed with us and their room too was spacious and cool and quiet. So appeals to different age groups....Have no hesitation recommending the hotel and will return for another break.

Room Tip: A room away from the road has obviously no traffic noise but the view I imagine from the rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Sue F,

Thank you for the fantastic review! I am glad you had a special time for your birthday and hoped you enjoyed your first stay in London. As you say Northumberland is a beautiful street in central London, and for such a central location our rooms are very quiet. Once again Thank You, and we look forward to your returning to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel has probably the best location in London. It is very close to Trafalgar Square and many other famous attractions of London. The hotel also offers free tea and coffee 24/7, which is very convenient as well. However, the quality of internet in the rooms was extremely poor and it was very annoying, especially if one is travelling on business. Rooms service was also a bit annoying, most of the times the room was cleaned late afternoon, and sometimes I would find my stuff on the floor, instead of them being folded and put on the bed. Though these are minor things, I think that the hotel really needs to invest in proper internet connection.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinoG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear NinoG82,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. I am glad you generally liked your stay with us, but sorry for the inconveniences with the WIFI connection. We have replaced one of the modems and are also waiting for Fibre Optic to be installed in the coming weeks. Once again Thank You for the review, all feedback helps us improve on our product and services so we can try to ensure all our guests have a great stay. We look forward to you returning and enjoying our Fibre Optic broadband on your next visit to us.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,666 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#196 of 1,067 in London
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing