We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only 23good things: Breakfast, service & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #278 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 daughters. We originally booked 8 months ahead of time the Citadines in Civent Garden. 2 days prior to arrival they sent an email saying that for technical problems they had to transfer us to Trafalgar Sq... Not nice as we had chosen this hotel because of the Civent garden location.
At Trafalgar Square the room was good in size and pretty updated... As well as the reception. The breakfast is definitely the best thing the hotel has, as well as the service. Cleanless doesn't exist at all at this hotel or is pretty bad!!!! You definitely will go here because of price and location!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Samanta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Samanta C,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay with us. I am sorry you had to change from Citadines Prestige Holborn to us, I understand this is frustrating. We are a short walk of 10 minutes to Covent Garden so hope you still managed to get there. I am glad you thought the room was a good size and you enjoyed the breakfast. I have passed your comments about the cleaning onto the Executive Housekeeper who is investigating. Once again thank you.

Best Wishes,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 2,283 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Very central perfect for seeing the attractions, clean, tidy, friendly staff not luxurious but for the price you wouldn't expect it to be, would Defo use again. Did not eat there, and don't know if it had a bar.
Even though it was very central our room was very quite could not hear any outside noise.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank wendyjanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Wendyjanem,

Thank you for the posting, I am glad you had all your needs met during your stay with us. The Citadines Prestige Team all look forward to you returning on your next trip to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My family stayed in a one bedrooms suite on the 8th floor for 4 nights. We loved the location, the spaciousness of the apartment, the separate toilet room, the decor and the safe. Management was wonderful about sorting out a reservation problem that occurred before we got there. It was in a safe neighborhood with lots of shopping, the tube, even a McDonald's nearby. One of our favorite meals was St. Martins in the Fields Cafe in the Crypt. It was very reasonable, the food was good, the atmosphere was great and it was a 5-10 min walk from the hotel. There is a self serve laundry in the hotel that worked great for our needs. The internet wasn't the best - but we weren't in London to sit in the hotel and use the internet - so it didn't bother us. The room was very clean and the maid service was wonderful. We loved our experience with Citadines and will be back next time we are in London. We came from the airport and it was easy to take the tube to Trafalgar Square. Thank you for a great experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daynie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Daynie71,

Thank you for the fantastically detailed review. I am glad you and your family loved your stay with us and were able to use a lot the facilities that separate us from hotels. We are all proud you had a great experience with us and we all look forward to you returning should you revisit London.

Best Wishes,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Absolutely gorgeous hotel.
It has central location (near Trafalgar square) and 2 tubes stations in a 3 minutes walk.
They welcomed us nicely and we had a great time.
==================================

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sagi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Sagi E,

Thank you for the fantastic review, we look forward to you returning!

Best Wishes,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I stayed 7 nights in room 518 in June 2014. The hotel is in a perfect central location. The suite was quiet. It has lots of power points, both UK and euro. The wi-fi was free and fast. There is a separate toilet. The suite is well equipped with utensils, ironing board, a safe, etc. Air conditioning is good. TV is good. There is a laundry available in the hotel. Reception staff are polite. We recommend the hotel if you want all facilities in a central area.

However it must be said that the paintwork in the suite is tired. It has grey walls, with grey wallpaper and grey pictures. Rooms are cleaned well but this is done late in the afternoon which is not always convenient. The room rate is expensive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Lesley K,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. I am glad you and your wife had a nice time staying with us. My apologies about some of the paint work in your suite, I have instructed the Maintenance Manager to ensure all our rooms are up to the usually high Citadines standards. Should you return to London we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar.

Regards,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After many years of staying in lower priced hotels in suburbs close to the tube but not necessarily convenient to places I wanted to visit I finally gave in and spent more money to be centrally located. How I wished I had found Citadines before. Great location near Trafalgar Square, Embankment and Charing Cross tube stations and within walking distance of so many attractions in central London. My room had a small kitchen area which was very useful for quick breakfasts or dinner in - there are several supermarkets within a few minutes walk. The hotel staff were very helpful and efficient. Some rooms overlook Northumberland Avenue which is very busy and so rooms at the back are quieter. My room was modern, spacious and very clean. Tea and coffee are available in reception at all hours for guests and there are a couple of computers for guest use in the lobby area. There is very poor & inconsistent WiFi reception in the guest rooms, so if you need to work in your room this might be an issue. I will definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it for anyone visiting central London. This hotel has parking available.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. If WiFi is important, ask for a room that has good reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IndigoJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear IndigoJT

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay. I am glad you eventually found us! Yes the location is great as we are so central most sights are within walking distance. My apologies about the WIFI we were having issues during your stay, but have since rectified the problem and are now just waiting for Fibre Optic to be installed in the coming weeks. Once again Thank You for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Regards,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed with my family from June 16th to June 22th.

The location is amazing, near Trafalgar Square and Charing Cross train / tube stations. VERY accesible.

The apartment we rented was spacious and the kitchen well equipped (we asked for a larger pot and by the time we came back, it was in our apartment that same day) The internet connection was good and we were able to stay in touch with our family back in Argentina

All the staff was very helpful and kind. Some of them spoke Spanish, which was a plus because my parents don't speak English.They even send me a bottle of wine and chocolates for my birthday.

I'm recommending this hotel to all my friends and fmaily for they stay in London and I'll definetly be chosing it again for my next visit to this amazing city.

Thanks for making my first visit to London (and my birthday too) an incredible experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CotyAr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear CotyAr,

Thank you for wonderful posting. I am glad you and your parents were well looked after during your stay with us and that your parents could take advantage of our Spanish speaking staff. Thank you very much for the recommendations and we look forward to you returning on your next holiday to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,932 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#173 of 1,076 in London
1,203 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £146 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing