We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #285 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
norwich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had 2 nights in a studio here and I was surprised how much room we had, I had expected the kitchen to be behind sliding doors but it was adjacent to the bedroom. It was fully equipped and even had a dishwasher! The bathroom was bigger than some I've had at Hilton hotels with a good shower (the towels are too small ). The beds were really comfy with nice cotton linen. Some of the decor was damaged which was a shame as we obviously had a refurbished room, some people clearly are just reckless!! There was also a safe in the room and a free hot drinks machine in reception. I've never used this chain before but definitely would again.

Room Tip: We had 103 which was refurbished and at the end of the corridor hence less noise. It also overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagpuss311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Bagpuss311,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. I am pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us. Yes our rooms are quite large for a central London property, (Starting at 25m2). I am glad in the in room features were to your liking as well and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    892
    258
    84
    50
See reviews for
803
652
86
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Having read the many positive comments on this hotel, I had high expectations when I booked the Citadines Trafalgar for a stay in August but turned out to be quite disappointed, considering the high price that I paid for. Perhaps the room I was given was not renovated - it was dark and outdated, The door panel was cracked. The wifi was terribly slow, and the bathroom was so small that I could hardly squeeze in to help my younger kid take a bath. The only pluses I find are its location and complimentary hot drinks self served in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level to get more natural light (as there is insufficient lighting in the room) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happyme14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Happyme14,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary coffees and also our excellent location. I am however sadden to know you did not like your room. All of our rooms were updated in 2012, we do though have some rooms that are have smaller windows then others hence are slightly darker, so my apologies this was not to your liking. Our WIFI has been slow of late and we are currently waiting for Fibre Optic to be installed in the coming weeks. Once again I am sorry that we disappointed you, but hopefully you will decide to return and we can correct your perception.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I guess as with all Citadines the rooms are spartan. Staff were reasonably helpful and did try to get us into our room earlier than check in time. But there is nothing prestige about this Citadine except its location which is excellent. It is quite expensive to stay at, but if you want a convenient situation, then this one is worth trying.

Room Tip: I think they are probably all similar - we had a one bedroom premier apartment. It was Ok only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Josie084

Thank you for posting about your recent stay on Tripadvisor. Yes our location is great for visitors to London with lots of attractions within walking distance. In regards to the rates we do offer numerous promotions though out the year, and do have an advance purchase available. Once again Thank You and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,

Ben Pattinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We only stayed a week but this would be a great place for families or people on longer stays because it has a nice little kitchen with everything you need and my room had a living room with a pull out sofa bed and a separate bedroom.
The bathroom is split into a small closet like room for the toilet and a room with the sink and bath . The room with the toilet was a like a little grey box. Unpleasant but functional . It could have used something the brighten it up a bit . The bath was very slippery . I was afraid of falling and there are warnings about it being slippery. It was very clean.
Staying here is like having your own apartment/flat in London. It is very close to all the attractions and places to get groceries if you don't feel like visiting one of the great many restaurants nearby.
So many attractions are within walking distance.
It was clean and pleasant. I would stay here again. Reasonably priced as well.

Room Tip: The better whew are rooms facing the front of the building . Mine just looked at an alley and offic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Knitkat

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and got to see many of the attractions that London has to offer. My apologies the bathroom was slippery, we do have an anti slip mate and also a grab rail in rooms but I will personally see if there is anything else we can add. Once again Thank You for the review.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geddington, Northants
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have been 2 years running and will go back again 2015 for 10 days, so you can tell that I think this is the best answer to visiting London. As an old couple, we go and then invite our relatives for a couple of days at a time. The apartments are clean , but remember that it is bijou, because space is at a premium. But.... WOW! Trafalgar Square 200 steps away. Underground is 0ne minute to Embankment or Charing Cross. Theatreland is 5 or 10 minutes away. The staff is friendly and willing to help you with information, problems or suggestions. It has a kitchenette so you can cook the kids something they want. The bathroom and bedrooms are small, but, firstly, you won't spent much time there and secondly, it has a living room so they can sprawl in front of telly when they are tired. In a hotel, costs soon mount up as you have to eat in cafes and restaurants whilst the children are tired and don't like the food. This place positively encourages you to eat in your flat., so a great tip that I have. Go to Charing Cross where you will find Marks and Spencer food shop. It is small but has everything you want. To go there and back takes us 15 minutes, and we are old, so you can do it easy. The savings on your meals will offset the expense of the Aparthotel and everyone will be happy. Don't forget, it is tiny but in the centre.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be soundproofed against noise. The room is cleaned very well and is spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldfishwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Oldfishwife,

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderfully detailed review with some great hints for readers. I am glad you enjoyed staying in Citadines and got to take advantage of the kitchenette, which as you say can save a substantial amount of money. Once again Thank You for the great posting, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is in the best location in London, walking distance to all the major sites but it's not actually in Trafalgar Square but only a minute or two walk. We stayed here after being recommended. The check-in was very fast. The room was very clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Wifi in the room was great. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Oliver D,

Thank you for the great posting. I am glad you had a fantastic time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I ended up finding this aparthotel because I was looking to fit 3 adults in one room and most standard London hotels only fit 2 adults max. Our room was clean and spacious, though the room with the shower and sink was extremely tiny. If the toilet was in the same room, it probably would've seemed a bit bigger, but it was convenient having the toilet separated since we had multiple people sharing the bathroom, so we were okay with the small bathroom. I found the pull out coach mattress to be surprisingly comfortable! It was also well designed. The coach pulls out into two twin sized beds, so if you only need to sleep one person there, you can leave one side as a coach seat and the other as a mattress.

It took us a little while to figure out that you have to leave your key card in a slot by the door to use the lights (which is a great eco friendly feature!).

The service was good and all the workers we encountered were helpful and friendly. There's also free coffee in the lobby, which the coffee drinking members of my family said was very good.

The location was central and right near the Embankment tube stop (and a short walk to the Leicester Square stop). It took us about an hour to get here from Heathrow by Tube (with one transfer). The Strand is also right near the hotel, which features a lot of places to grab a quick bite to eat. We even walked to Buckingham Palace and Harrods (Harrods was admittedly a long walk, but doable).

I would definitely stay here again while in London. The only downside is that the free wifi in the room is very slow. It was almost a throwback to dial up internet days!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PiperNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear PiperNYC

Thank you for posting such a great detailed review of your stay at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. I am glad you liked your room and that it was comfortable for the three of you, and yes I also find the sofa bed comfortable! Yes we are very conscious about being 'Green,' with the light activating key cards one of our features. Myself and the Citadines Prestige Trafalgar team look forward to you returning on your next trip to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#103 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,520 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing