We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #337 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bedford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

We booked to stay for our first anniversary as we were planning on seeing a show in London.

Check in was fast and the reception staff were very helpful. The room was a nice size for us and very comfortable.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,586
    1,181
    733
    323
    160
See reviews for
760
1,779
131
643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We were upgraded to one of the contemporary rooms which was funky but a little odd! Hotel is lovely though and breakfast is the best hotel breakfast I've had. Location is great as well with Covent Garden just around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth Shropshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed at the Waldorf for one night on 11th May 2012.The hotel exudes an air of Victorian grandeur with all its public rooms. It has been changed to a Hilton and refurbished since my last stay some considerable time ago.
Check in was a bit of a nightmare - we arrived at 12.30 and were told that the room would be ready shortly. We went for a walk and returned at 3.15 to be told that the room was ready but had not been checked so went for a drink in the bar returning about 20 minutes later. Yet again told that rom was not rwady due to an issue with a blocked sink. Told them not happy and they went to check if there was another room available, but in the event the problem was solved and we went to our room. This was disappointing - we had booked a Quenn Hilton room that I assumed meant it had a queen size bed - but not so it was a normal 4'6" double (not even king size) and the room was small. It was otherwise comfortable and well appointed with a good bathroom - but overall not really what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Unfortunately the room was also rather noisy due to fans in the square below our room.

That evening we had the pre-theatre dinner which, with a supplement for lamb and two glasses of wine was just over £90. The service was excellent and the food and wine similarly very good, well presented and tasty.

Next morning we had a full English buffet breakfast and again the food was of a very good standard and service was also very good - indeed all staff throughout our stay were polite and attentive.

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the theatre we were visiting but overall we were somewhat disappointed so it is rather doubtful we would choose it again.

Room Tip: Check exactly what size of room/bed you are getting and avoid noisy internal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stay at Hiltons. My husband is a diamond member so we often travel on points. If I had to pay for this hotel, I wouldnt stay here. While the outside is beautiful, the inside is pretty rundown. Its not worth the price. Staying at a cute boutique hotel would be better for the price unless you plan to hit the theatre every night you are there. It's right next door to a show after all. It's also not far from the Covent Garden tube station and a very quick walk to all sorts of shopping, restaurants and pubs. It's also only a 15- minute walk to Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery.


For Hilton travelers:
There is a chance we got the worst room in the hotel. They tend to do that when you are using points, which makes no sense at all because we are the most likely customers to stay again given we always stay at Hiltons, and we are obviously frequent travelers. The executive lounge is amazing. You will get delicious free breakfast, snacks, canapés, alcoholic beverages, wine and champagne. Drinks all day long. It's a beautiful room. I wish the executive lounge reflected the look of the rest of the hotel, especially the rooms. The service is fast and friendly, aside from one really snooty woman, perhaps named Olga that works in the executive lounge. She was rude and made us feel uncomfortable. Other than that, a wonderful experience. Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kjtravelingmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

A great location close to theatres, the river and transportation. I stayed for one night in a queen size bed room, although a tiny room and bathroom, the bed was delightfully comfortable and the room fairly quiet. Staff are friendly and helpful, with a smooth check and check out procedure. Ate in the restuarant for opne dinner, average food. Overall, a cosy pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on 7th floor have minimal road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4peopleonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliane H, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at our hotel and please rest assured that I have forwarded your comments to the different hotel departments.
It would be wonderful if we could welcome you back in the near future and I would be very pleased if you contacted me directly next time you would like to stay with us so that I can look personally after you.

With kind regards,
Juliane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The location is wonderful -you can walk almost anwhere you want to visit in central London.

The public areas are grand and the service is efficient and friendly.

So why am I disappointed?

I suspect it all depends upon the luck of the draw when rooms are allocated and that (understandably) the better rooms are reserved for those who pay the full rack rate .

I had a seventh floor room -the bathroom looked tired and the room felt cramped for the price paid.

I may return because the location was ideal but will look to get a deal on a superior room

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erskinechilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliane H, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the service delivered. However, I do regret to hear that you were disappointed with the room size and decor.
We have recently refurbished some of our bedrooms and it would be my pleasure to ensure that next time you are staying with us you will be allocated in one of the newly renovated rooms. May I therefore kindly suggest contacting me directly next time you would like to make a reservation so that I can personally look after you.

With kind regards,

Juliane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed a few nights there in April. The building is beautiful, the staff is helpful, check in quick, professional, only they did not mention about the gym facilities(or, frankly, anything about the gym). We stayed in one of the Executive Room which was fantastic. Iconic hotel, deserves its good reputation.

Room Tip: The Executive Rooms are very spacious and modern and it comes with the free antry to the Executive L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliane H, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Please rest assured that I have shared your constructive comments with our Front Office team.
Once again thank you kindly for staying with us and we hope that we may soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Juliane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#409 of 1,067 in London
9,150 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#69 of 1,067 in London
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,067 in London
3,998 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Property: The Waldorf Hilton London
Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in London
#240 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#331 Family Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing