We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good London base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #342 of 1,088 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good London base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Excellent four night stay at The Waldorf in early November. Great as a business or tourist base. Quiet, well appointed room overlooking The Aldwych, relatively small but this was London and to be expected. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Excellent executive lounge. Will certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yovany T, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for once again choosing to stay at The Waldorf Hilton during you recent visit to London.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor, your feedback is invaluable.

We were delighted to read your review and your comments goes a long way in motivating and encouraging the team.We look forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,

Yovany S. Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,513
    1,163
    711
    314
    155
See reviews for
728
1,714
131
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

A good clean Hotel central fro all attractions. Staff friendly and service in the Bars and at Breakfast very good. Not a great deal of seating area downstairs for guest waiting to be collected by coach. Bedrooms modern clean along with the Bathroom. Size average for a London Hotel. Would stay here again and bring clients,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Manager T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yovany T, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
I would like first to thank you for taking the time to shared your review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I appreciate your comments with regards services and facilities. I have forward your review to our General Manager, In relation to seating area downstairs for guest waiting.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,

Yovany S. Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUIDFORD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very disappointing afternoon, in comparison to some of the other hotel tea dances we have attended.
Pleasant enough afternoon tea, service a bit slow. Café style crockery - no china and clotted cream and jam served in coffee cups, not the way you'd expect it to be done. Service could have been quicker, although our waiter had only been in his job a couple of weeks he said.
Live entertainment ok but could have done with a singer for a bit more interest.
The Palm Court only contains one small palm in a pot and decoration of the court very bland and boring, no colour and lacking in atmosphere, glad the company was good!!!
Wouldn't book another one there

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TJBGuidford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Waldorf London (24/11/13 - 25/11/13) stayed in a lovely no smoking room (640) was clean and fresh and right by the lifts, no walking for miles. Check in was a quick and pleasant experience. The view from our window was of the Royal Opera House and the London sky line. The room was warm and the beds were comfy and bedding was luxurious, also had plenty of pillows. Rooms had complimentary bottles of water (one sparkling, one still), tea and coffee in the walk in wardrobe. There was also a iron, ironing board, hair dryer and safe. The only thing I can say I wasn't keen on in the room was the frosted see thru door to the bathroom. The shower was a great lovely and warm, towels were soft bright white and clean. We had complimentary bath robes but they are small more for a size 0.

Had a buffet breakfast in the morning. Choices of cakes and pastries, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, beans, cold cuts and cheeses, cereals, fruit and yogurts, juices, salads and a selection of breads, tea and coffee. More than enough. Staff always replenishing food the only problem was the toaster it was like warm bread with a bit of a crunch. That was after going thru the toaster 3 times.

We also had afternoon tea, a bit expensive, but another experience to add to a London trip. 5 finger sandwiches pot of coffee and cakes all on Crown Derby china.

The whole experience was excellent. The staff are very polite and always speak to you on entering or leaving the Waldorf overall it was a 10/10 experience from start to finish.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zara-Luiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yovany T, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
I would like first to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,

Yovany S. Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Nice location close to Covent Garden. Expensive room with no complimentary WIFI. Room is OK, but bed linen appeared washed but with old spots on such that it looked 'dirty'. Did not use reastaurants or bar on this trip. The staff is very friendly and the front desk helped out when my reservation had a mistake.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank JanneJohannesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yovany T, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Waldorf Hilton London during your recent visit to London.

I'm delighted to learn from your feedback that you were pleased with our services and that our Frond Desk team were able to resolved the encountered issues with your reservation; however, I'm sorry to learn of your disappointment with regards to not having a free Wireless connectivity in our rooms to all our guest, due to our HHonors Loyalty Hiltonworldwide program benefits. That aside, I'm happy to say that we do offer free WIFI in our public and lobby areas of our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,

Yovany S. Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many Hilton's and I expected a lot more from a 5 star Hilton in central London. Wifi is not complimentary even for Hilton honors while this is standard in all Hiltons in the USA. I was appalled that they don't offer complimentary phones for calling locally. Apparently, you can call, but it will cost you £3.75 a minute!!! Rooms are small and working those funky lights is like rocket science. The bathroom sink doesn't drain well and the towels are beat up! I was so turned off by this hotel, I didn't bother checking their other facilities. Pointer: one of the doormen jumped on me while I was walking in asking if I needed something. I guess they are not used to my kind staying at this overrated joint. Of course I ignored him and headed straight to the lift. I won't waste my money or precocious Hilton points at this place again. Checking out tomorrow and going to a Marriott hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mumias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTO2013, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
I would like first to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Waldorf Hilton London.
I regret to learn from your feedback that we had no chance to change your perception of our services during your previous stay with us. We are always keen to receive our guest’s feedback and acquire efforts to find a suitable solution for shortfalls if possible upon spot of those.

I'm also sorry to learn of your disappointment with regards to our telephone charges. We do continually benchmark our prices with our competitor hotels to ensure we remain competitive.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Waldorf Hilton London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed 22/11/13 for 2 nights, staff friendly and helpful, hotel clean, we stayed in 639 as soon as we opened the door the wow factor kicked in, breakfast lovely and the executive lounge amazing, food good and free drink - get in there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTO2013, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
I would like first to thank you for taking to write a TripAdvisor review related to your recent visit at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to hear from your feedback, we greatly appreciate any comments made by our guest and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with our team.

Thank you,

Yovany Santa Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#70 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#177 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,922 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#390 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,961 reviews
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#326 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Property: The Waldorf Hilton London
Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in London
#246 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#331 Family Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing