We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #337 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dayton, Texas
Level Contributor
229 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location and great hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Only stayed one night but this hotel is in the heart of the theatre district in the center of everything. A short 10 minute or so trek to the tube. I may be a bit critical but the doorman seemed to only be out front when he wanted to be. Although not needed I thought that a bit odd. The check in is EXACTLY at 1500 I found out. For I checked my bags early in the day and came back at approx. 1430 and was told politely I needed to wait til 3. When I checked in it was efficient. I was thanked for being a Hilton Diamond and sent off to my room. The room was very large. One problem. It was a first floor room and my view was the heating and HVAC units. The room was very clean, the concierge delivered my bags with expediency and I slept well. Overall an enjoyable night stay in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Mr. Paul R,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and that you had a good night sleep at our Hotel. I regreat reading that the room was not ready before 3 PM as we always work very hard to have the room ready for early arrivals and that you did not like the view of the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of your next visit. Please let me know in advance when you will be returning so I can make sure you will receive a nice room with a lovely view.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,586
    1,181
    733
    323
    160
See reviews for
760
1,779
131
643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a great break in London and stayed at the Waldorf. I'd used the bar there a couple of times and liked it.
Overall the hotel was in very good condition, very well appointed throughout. Perfectly quiet for a good night's sleep and all the staff we met were very good from check in to check out, bar staff, bell man and doorman.
An excellent hotel and well positioned for Covent Garden and a short walk from the west end shopping.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurorrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Eurorrocket,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services we provided and facilities that our hotel has to offer. I was happy to read you have enjoyed our Good Godfrey's bar and you had a good night rest.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Wales
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We are regular visitors to the Waldorf Hilton & it's our favourite place to stay in the capital. We have tried other properties but none come near to this.

Check-in was seamless & we were soon on our way to our room. We booked 2 nights in a basic room on HHonors points & were allocated a Queen Deluxe Plus on the 4th floor which was very spacious with a fantastic bathroom - a big thank you to Mette Olsen & her team! We overlooked the Aldwych (front of Hotel) but there was no noise from the road. There was a lovely chocolate cake in the room as we were celebrating my wife's birthday.

We visited the exec lounge on both nights & it was pretty full (it can get too busy at peak times) but the drinks & canapés from 6pm to 8pm were just fine. I do think that they should not allow small children in the lounge after 6pm as there were some lively little ones in there during our visit which wasn't conducive to a quiet evening before the theatre.

We had breakfast in the main restaurant which was plentiful & of good quality.

We didn't try the valet parking as we took the train.

We received great service from all departments, & would recommend the Waldorf Hilton to everyone who likes a quality Hotel with 5* service.

Room Tip: The size of the rooms differ enormously Queen deluxe plus can be bigger than King exec plus, ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshtorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Welshtorchy,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.
I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. As our Executive is a very popular spot whitin our hotel facilities it does sometimes get a bit busy and I would like to thank you for your understanding. I was also very glad to read that you and your wife have enjoyed the birthday cake upon arrival and that it has been welcomed.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We had champagne afternoon tea here & we thoroughly enjoyed it all! It all tasted delicious, the staff were very friendly & attentive, beautiful surroundings & the harp finished it off nicely. We were a little bit disappointed having to cut the cakes in half as there was only 1 of each (but we had equal sandwiches & scones) but the extra chocolate that came with happy birthday on the plate with a chorus of happy birthday from our waitress was a welcome surprise & treat!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kmj153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
I would like first to thank you for taking to write a TripAdvisor review related to your recent visit at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to hear from your feedback that you were pleased with our services and facilities and your comments goes a long way in motivating and encouraging the team and rest assured your comments will be shared with our Executive Chef Mr. Johan Rox.

The team and I, are happy to learn that the birthday celebration went well and that the special touch from our team at the restaurant was welcomed.

We look forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of your next visit to our Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Yovany T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed in a number of hotels during this trip to the UK. By far this was the worst value for money experience I had. I am very disappointed. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. I have not stayed a Hilton hotels before but if this is the standard of the group then I do not plan too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Desmond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yovany T, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Sir\Madam,

I would like to first thank you for taking the time to share your review through Tripadvisor related to your previous visit at The Waldorf Hilton London.

We greatly appreciate all comments made by our guests, whether positive or for our development as it allows for continued improvement in that which is most important to us, our guest service.

I was really concerned to hear that we did not meet your expectations and I am sorry you were very disappointed. We are constantly monitoring the performance of our hotel against Hilton's high service and quality standards. I would like to learn more about your stay as it will enable us to continually improve, exceed quality standards, and are vitally important in helping us achieve our Mission to be the first choice of the world’s travellers. Please contact me via email yovany.torres@hilton.com or y telephone +44 (0)20 7836 2400.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

I look forward to hear from you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Yovany Santa Torres
Assistant Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Enjoyed a very comfortable stay on New Year's Eve at The Waldorf. Reception staff was very efficient and friendly, as were all the staff. Our room had all the facilities you would expect of a hotel of this calibre. The breakfast choice was extensive and buffet style or cooked to order for specialities, very enjoyable and relaxing. We fully intend to revisit for an afternoon tea as the ballroom looked stunning. We were made to feel that anything we requested would be provided without any fuss. All the above coupled with an excellent location make this an ideal London venue.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpatricia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yovany T, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. I was pleased to learn that in general you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team here at the hotel very friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of your next visit to the area. In the meantime, please contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind Regards,

Yovany Santa Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I have just spent five fantastic nights at the Waldorf Hilton where we were upgraded to a king executive room upon arrival.
The room itself was very large and well appointed with a large bathroom complete with rain shower and a separate large bath.
After long days exploring London it was lovely and relaxing to be able to use the Executive club room where you could meet up with fellow travellers and discuss the days outings etc.
Plenty of food and complimentary drinks etc.
We found the location of the Waldorf perfect for our needs as we went to several shows .
We certainly hope to return to the Waldorf Hilton in the near future.
I

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room. Whilst we didn't have any views it didn't matter as we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela191241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yovany T, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
I would like first to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,
Yovany S. Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#409 of 1,067 in London
9,151 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#69 of 1,067 in London
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,067 in London
3,997 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Property: The Waldorf Hilton London
Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in London
#240 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#331 Family Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing