We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waldorf Hilton London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #353 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Luxury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Waldorf Hilton following a trip on the Orient Express from Venice. We wanted to carry on the luxury experience before returning to normal life and were not disappointed.

We had booked a King Junior Suite but were upgraded to an Executive Suite.
(Both have the benefit of access to the Executive Lounge which was a really good feature).
Check-in was friendly and efficient.
The room was incredibly spacious and had luxurious touches like a TV at the foot of the bath.

We were only there for one night but could have tolerated a few more!

All in all a great stay. The hotel is in a good location for whatever you want to do in London. Having a discount code made it affordable for future stays in the capital for theatre trips etc.

Room Tip: An Executive Suite is very good if you want to push the boat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear guest,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to one of our Hilton King Executive suites which indeed come with an television in the bathroom. I would like to thank you for your comments in regards to the staff as this goes a long way in encouraging and motivating our team.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,464
    1,145
    706
    309
    155
See reviews for
702
1,686
127
621
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great place, good service, well located in the Theatre district.
I will come back for more enjoyable stays in this fine hotel.
The room was clean and the bathroom refurbished.
We obviously paid full price for one night so that might have helped.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear guest,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a short break at Waldorf and what a marvellous time we had. Firstly the tour of the hotel was good it gave you a brief insight into the history of the place. The check in was quick and efficient, however the gentleman was a little bit abrupt but it did not put us off. The room was spacious and exceptionally clean as were all the public areas.

We had drinks in the bar area where someone played the piano, it was so relaxing. Some may say drinks were expensive but that's what you expect at this type of venue.

Breakfast well where do I start it was amazing, there was plenty of choice and the staff were so professional yet still extremely friendly.

All in all it was a great experience!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank daisy06Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Waldorf Hilton during you recent visit to London.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor, your feedback is invaluable.

We were delighted to read your review and your comments about our staff as it goes a long way in motivating and encouraging the team. Please be rest assured that your comments will be shared with the Guest Relations team as they always keep searching for new information or improvements about the History tours to impress our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Waldorf is in the ideal location for visiting central London for either business or pleasure. It is right in the midst of the West End theatres, just around the corner from Covent Garden and only a few minutes walk from the Strand. Most major tourist attractions are within walking distance and others are easily accessible due to the hotel's close proximity to both Holborn and Covent Garden tube stations.
I stayed for two nights midweek in an executive room. Access to the executive lounge made my stay even better - unlimited free drinks and aperitifs in the evening were definitely worth the extra cost! All staff were friendly and helpful, especially the doorman. The room itself was lovely - very clean, comfortable and spacious. The bed was heavenly, I could stay there forever! When leaving, I was initially charged for taking something from the minibar that I hadn't actually taken, but the reception staff were understanding and this issue was resolved quickly.
Overall, I would definitely recommend the Waldorf, especially for business, couples or solo visits.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Waldorf Hilton during you recent visit to London as well for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.

We were very much delighted and appreciative to read your comments about our staff which goes a long way in motivating and encouraging the team. I was glad to read that you took great advantage of our Executive lounge and that you had a good night sleep whilst staying with us.

I hope you were able to enjoy some lovely theatres or restaurants whilst staying with us and we are very much looking forward to your next stay with us.

If I may be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to me.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbys
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great central location- staff member working the door was very helpful in our dispute with a cabbie who insisted the fare from Euston Road to the Waldorf was £20 when we have travelled this route many times paying between £8 and £10.

Impressive interior and bar staff very friendly and attentive. Disappointed that the toilets had paper towels but that's just me.

We thought it was a shame that on a Saturday evening that the piano was covered over and not in use as this would have enhanced the atmosphere.

We were disappointed that the dress code on the restaurant was rather lapse with people sitting in jeans and t-shirts- but again this is only personal preference.

The food was good but not outstanding- while the waiting staff were lovely and friendly, they also were very well presented, I am afraid on this occasion service was extremely poor ( the restaurant was not over busy either with plenty of staff).Examples included having to repeatedly having to request water, wine, butter, food coming at different times to each other, wrong food being served- it was a little like faulty towers in the end. Service and lack of atmosphere sadly did spoil the experience. We raised this at the time and asked for the service charge to be removed which was duly done- shame as the building is beautiful and we loved the different nationalities of people working there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtraveller307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments related to your recent stay at the Waldorf Hilton London.

I would like to convey my sincerest apologies for your disappointing experience. I was saddened to learn that your expectations were not met and I fully understand as to why you were disappointed.

I take onboard your comments in regards to the overall experience in our restaurant. We are known for our excellent customer service, however on this occasion this was not the case and I understand how frustrating it must have been for you.

I have spoken with the relevant teams and I am confident this was only a one off occasion. Our food and beverage team will directly take action on this to make sure that all team members will be fully trained. I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention as we are constantly monitoring the performance of our hotel against Hilton's high service and quality standards

As Hotelier's we aim to exceed expectations at every opportunity and on this occasion we have clearly failed. I truly hope that you give us the opportunity to prove that this was a one off disappointment that you experienced and look forward to meeting you on the occasion of your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Pleasant staff and very helpful. Bedroom tired looking, bedding (valance) stained, bathroom not clean - room required updating. Hotel is in a good position for the Opera House within walking distance for Coventry Garden.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments related to your recent stay at the Waldorf Hilton London.

I would like to convey my sincerest apologies for your disappointing experience. I was saddened to learn that your expectations were not met and I fully understand as to why you were disappointed.

I take onboard your comments in regards to the condition of our bedrooms. We are known for our excellent customer service, however on this occasion this was not the case and I understand how frustrating it must have been for you. Please note that we are currently in process of refurbishment and that we hope to finish this process by this time next year.

As Hotelier's we aim to exceed expectations at every opportunity and on this occasion we were not able to exceed your expectations. I truly hope that you give us the opportunity to prove that this was a one off disappointment that you experienced and look forward to meeting you on the occasion of your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Typically I write only positive reviews as I'm willing to give most vendors the benefit of the doubt. Not in this case. The good? The location is very good, several tube stations in walking distance, most major attractions are in walking distance and the hotel is clean. My advice is to avoid this hotel and it is based on recurring billing issues with the hotel. There is no simple way to say this, they will charge your credit card for services or rooms upgrades you do not receive so you must watch closely. I have been dealing with this for some time with the property. Additionally be cautious if you book through a third party. We pre-paid to get a good and low rate and the hotel did not honor that (not upon checkout but three weeks later and additional $2K appeared on my card - after a promise of an owed refund finally being issued). There are many hotels in proximity to the key London attractions, they will appreciate your business and treat you responsibly. I have spent upwards of 12 hours and numerous international phone numbers to resolve this, I write this so you may avoid a similar fate! In 25 years of traveling around the world and the country I have never encountered this.

Room Tip: Avoid this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rlisicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yovany T, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I refer to our recent conversations between you and various Hotel personnel.

Please let me assure you that the Hotel takes all complaints of this nature extremely seriously and, accordingly, a thorough investigation of your complaints and, in particular of the alleged accusation, has since been conducted by the Hotel. Having had the opportunity to consult with the relevant Hotel personnel involved. We're happy that everything is clear and resolved.

Please do contact us again if you have any questions.

Kind Regards,

Yovany Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#75 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#40 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#41 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#177 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#388 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Property: The Waldorf Hilton London
Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in London
#252 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#331 Family Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing