We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor standard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waldorf Hilton London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #350 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great location but very disappointed with standard of accommodation, very tired and room
required refurbishing also not very clean with a lot of dust in places bed valance stained
and quilt had hole in it. Breakfast fine although staff not that attentive, It's really a 3 star Hotel with 5 star prices in the bar,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay with us at the Waldorf Hilton.

I was most concerned to read your feedback and I would very much like to learn more of your experience.

Please can you email me at lonwa_guestrelations@hilton.com so I can investigate your feedback further.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Kind regards,
Sarah

SARAH I Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,462
    1,145
    706
    309
    154
See reviews for
702
1,684
127
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel many times, and look forward to being there again in August. We're always impressed by the efficient, friendly staff; they maximize an already magnificent experience. Our rooms have always been immaculate and comfortable. The executive lounge is a welcome refuge from the bustle of the city. Perhaps best of all is its location - right in the middle of the theatre district - with easy, walkable access to London's history, museums, restaurants, and monuments. What makes the hotel unique is not one thing - it's the combination of everything. We wouldn't consider going elsewhere. For us, this hotel IS London.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review in regards to your numerous stays with us at the Waldorf Hilton. Our team have a genuine passion for delighting our guests and I am so happy that you have experienced this on the numerous occasions you have stayed with us.

Thank you for your continued loyalty and I look forward to meeting you personally in August.

Kind regards,
Sarah

SARAH I Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Waldorf Hilton is a beautiful, well maintained hotel in a great location in London - just a short walk to many sites.
I paid a little extra for an executive room - we got a quiet room as requested which I appreciated - it was spacious and felt luxurious. The executive package entitled us to the executive lounge which should have been renamed the creche. When looking (and paying) for a nice romantic weekend away I don't expect to have children running around, screaming and crying when trying to have breakfast, however the staff didn't seem phased. The other disappointment was when we rang for food at 10:45pm and were refused food, as the kitchen had closed even though the menu and front of house staff said you could order anytime up to 11pm. Again, the man on the other end of the phone didn't seem bothered. The staff all seem very lackluster and let down the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at the Waldorf Hilton.

I am delighted that you found the hotel and location ideal for your visit and that you enjoyed the benefits of upgrading to one of our Executive rooms. I am sorry however about your feedback regarding our Executive Lounge, we at the Waldorf are lucky enough to be popular to both business and leisure guests and of course being summer holidays we are welcoming many families these coming weeks. I was also concerned to read your comments in regards to our room service department and I can assure you that your feedback will be passed on so corrective training can take place.

We do value you feedback and thank you very much for sharing.

Kind regards,
Sarah

SARAH I Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Unbeatable location next to the Novello theatre..now playing Mama Mia. This hotel is bright fresh and feels new, even though the actual outer building is old. The executive lounge is excellent, serving a nice breakfast and evening reception

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review in regards to your recent stay with us and we are overjoyed that we are your new favourite Hilton hotel!

I will be my absolute pleasure to share your feedback with our dedicated team and I once again do thank you for taking the time to share with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Waldorf.

Kind regards,
Sarah

SARAH I Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here using Hilton Honors points and was fully expecting the worse room there (as happened in the Waldorf Astoria in NYC) but very impressed with the room and service. It was our anniversary and a bottle of wine was sent up to the room with congratulations.
The hotel is near Covent Garden, Leicester square and not far from the West End so convenient location although not that close to a tube station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumof1soontobe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review or our beautiful hotel and once again may we take this opportunity to wish you a very happy anniversary.

Our team work extremely hard to ensure that all our guest have the very best of experience here in the heart of the city we are delighted by your feedback, I am very much looking forward to sharing your comments with the whole team especially our dedicated pastry department who take great pleasure in making special moments such as these.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Waldorf Hilton to celebrate your next anniversary.

Kind regards,
Sarah

SARAH I Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Absolutely delighted with everything during my overnight stay at this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful from the minute I stepped thought the door. The rooms were clean and the chamber maid was confident, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind review of the Waldorf Hilton.

I was delighted to read that you were made to feel welcome from the moment you entered our beautiful hotel as we do strive to make all of our guest feel like they are at their home away from home. I am looking forward to sharing your fantastic feedback with all our team members, in particular our housekeeping team will be elated by your comments.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Sarah

SARAH I Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Waldorf and I cannot find any faults. Its a special historic hotel in a great location in London. Walking distance from the river Thames, theatre land, Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square and so on. Basically, its a great location for anyone visiting the capital.

I don't understand people who give this hotel a low rating, moaning about every little thing. I'm sure they live in pristine perfect mansions but come on!! Maybe they should just stay at home!!

Anyway, back to the hotel. I must say that the staff were brilliant. Every time we needed anything, they were more than happy to help. We were initially given a twin room, but asked if we can change and it was done. We asked for a late check-out and it was done. Little things like that go a long way.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Medsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review.

Our team work extremely hard to ensure that all our guest have the very best of experience here in the heart of the city we are delighted by your feedback, I am very much looking forward to sharing your comments with the whole team.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Waldorf Hilton in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sarah

SARAH I Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#74 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#40 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#41 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#176 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#385 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Property: The Waldorf Hilton London
Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in London
#250 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#331 Family Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing