We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, choose your room carefully”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #343 of 1,063 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
441 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Great location, choose your room carefully”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Classic hotel in a excellent location around the corner from the Strand, Fleet Street and Covent Garden. Room category and choice is everything at this hotel. Regular categories (Queen Bed Rooms) are often small, pokey and uninviting. You really need to be booking a 'Deluxe Plus' or 'Executive Plus' category to get a room style that you'd expect from a hotel of this nature. If you are booking a standard room you are better off in other hotels.

I often feel sorry for the people who book the hotel for a special ocassion, book a standard room expecting luxury and end up with a small room they'd have paid half the price for up the road.

However, if you book a Deluxe Plus, Exec Plus or above you will get a nice room in keeping with the standard of hotel you'd expect.

All rooms are in the process of being refurbished so if you want a refurbished room (which are much nicer) then make sure you book a 'Plus' category. You can tell refurbished rooms on website pictures as they have 'blue' furnishings.

The old rooms are fine, but refurbished ones are much better.

Has a great gym (provided by LA fitness in the basement) which also has a small 14m pool, steam room and sauna. However, don't think luxury. These facilities are very much 'ageing sports club' rather than 'luxury spa' with paint flaking off the walls and fairly dirty. Although these facilities are provided by LA fitness I do think Hilton could do with spending a few thousand making them look more presentable, as they'd be a great asset for the hotel. As it stands they are a negative.

Breakfast is excellent, either in the executive lounge or the beautiful Homage restaurant. As a Diamond guest I get to eat in either but a little disappointed to get charged 6 quid extra if I want a sausage or an egg. It seems penny pinching given the thousands I must spend there every year. Its also not something I've experienced in any other Hilton around the world. They money they earn from this must be outweighed by the goodwill they lose by charging it.

Service at breakfast can also be haphazard, but the setting and food makes up for it.

Housekeeping is strange at the hotel also with check in almost impossible before 3pm or 4pm which is the published time, but never known a hotel so short of rooms for check in. I'm guessing its down to housekeeping which is average at best. We often wait until 4pm for our room to be serviced, and they always miss things like tea, or small towels.

I don't think I've ever had a 'good' service in the hotel after over 100 nights or more.

They forget or miss something every time.

Even if you call them in the morning to service it can take 2 or 3 calls and several hours before they service the room.

I spoke to other regular guests and all get frustrated by the housekeeping.

It sounds a mixed review, but there is something about the hotel that keeps me coming back.

A few improvements would make it one of the best hotels in the area, improvements which might happen given so much increased competition in the area.

Room Tip: Never book a standard room. Book a Deluxe Plus or Executive Plus room if you want a spacious room, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa B, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton and for the valuable feedback provided.

I am delighted to read that there is something about the hotel that keeps you coming back, I really hope it’s our amazing staff, and that you really like our “Plus” rooms and our breakfast.

I understand your disappointment about the supplement of £6 for breakfast, however it’s part of Hilton Policy and I hope it won't deter you from enjoy your morning meal at our beautiful Homage Restaurant.

Being one of our most regular guests I noticed you know very well the hotel and our rooms, therefore I can confirm that starting from January 2015 we will complete the refurbishment of our rooms and everything will become “Plus”.

I’m pleased to learn you enjoy our gym, but at the same time a bit sad that you consider the fitness centre a bit tired. As you know this service is provided by LA Fitness and your comment will be reported to relevant management.

About the housekeeping lack of service, please accept my apologies, I will report your comments to our Housekeeping Managers for immediate action.

Once again, thank you very much for your valuable feedback, I really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and to personally look after you.

Best regards,
Elisa Bressanello
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,551
    1,176
    727
    318
    159
See reviews for
747
1,752
131
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Everything was perfect from start to finish. The room was spacious and the toiletries were lovely.
The staff were excellent and could not do enough for us- and the location perfect for us as we went to London for a show and the hotel is situated in 'Theatre land'

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ancenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa B, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this amazing review following your recent stay with us.

As we always do our best to exceed our guests' expectations, I am very pleased to read that everything during your stay at The Waldorf Hilton was simply perfect, our great staff, the beautiful room and the ideal location.

I really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to our hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may need.

Best regards,
Elisa Bressanello
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
720 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After 180 reviews, including 60 for hotels in 60 different cities, we think that this is one of the best, if not the best of all. Elisa Bressanello and her team provided a really professional and at the same time friendly service which we couldn't fault - add to this the great facilities, location and food it made for an ideal place for our last few days in the UK and we'll certainly be returning. On the last day we were able to get a one day rental car from the hotel, delivered to the door, which we were then able to return to Heathrow airport at no extra cost. Nothing was too much for them or organize, including having a car deliver our passports to the airport when we forgot them at the hotel, and all in time for us to catch our flight out. We did have a superior/deluxe room and it was a special occasion for us and we just couldn't recommend the hotel highly enough - we came away feeling nurtured and refreshed and it doesn't get any better than that. To Bressanello and her team, Thank you all for such a great stay. David & Mary Bogan.

Room Tip: We found a high room overlooking the internal courtyard just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Bogan.

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at the Waldorf Hilton. We are delighted that Elisa and our team looked after you so well and I can’t wait to share your feedback with them. Elsa is a key member of our team here at the Waldorf and we will ensure that she is recognised for the outstanding service she and the rest of our team have provided. It was also very refreshing to learn about the service provided by our dedicated concierge team in arranging your transportation to the airport and for successfully returning your passports to you at the airport. We have a real passion here at the Waldorf for providing the special touches to each and every guests stay to make each one as memorable as possible and we are delighted that on your return home you felt suitably nurtured and refreshed.

Mr and Mrs Bogan, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Waldorf in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Sarah

SARAH I Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here purely out of nostalgia as a friend and I spent NYE here 20 years ago.

The location is great and it can be a bargain if you get a deal and don't pay rack rate - I think we paid £244 per room which is good for a Saturday in Covent Garden.

But: they charge for wifi; they got the bill wrong by charging me for both rooms (despite our having 2 separate bookings and my friend handing over her card) and although she later paid me, that's not the point.

It's a shame, it's in such a great location but this hotel is generally a bit tired looking and in need of some pizazz. It could be fabulous, if only someone would restore it to its former glory.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedwaterwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am delighted that we were able to welcome you back after such a long period. First and foremost I would like to sincerely apologise for the apparent error with you account upon departure and I would be more than happy to investigate this further should you wish to send me the information personally.

As I’m sure that you are aware our beautiful hotel is over 100 years old and while most see this as the charm of our property I do understand that other can see this as tired looking. We are continuously conducting maintenance work on and around the hotel to ensure we keep up to the times but in turn we really want to keep the character feel of the hotel. We do have some exciting projects underway that will hopefully re-create the former glory that you spoke about so fondly.

Once again I thank you for your constructive review and I can assure you that your feedback has been noted.

Kind regards,
Sarah

SARAH I Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for the weekend of our first wedding anniversary, after I remembered a business meeting here in 1986.
It is very well located in Aldwych, just off the Strand and only a stroll to Waterloo Bridge.
London is an expensive place to visit and our bill at the Waldorf, from Friday at 3.30pm to Monday at 11am, bed and breakfast was £710, so not cheap for a weekend.
The hotel is well kept but we had a room overlooking a central courtyard that you'd hardly describe as picturesque.
The room was small with a queensize bed with a very nice ensuite bathroom, safe, tea and coffee making facilities and air conditioning.
We paid for breakfast in the Grand Salon and it was very good indeed with attentive service and everything you could really wish for.
So all in all a very nice hotel and lovely weekend but I always wondered if there was something missing for a 5 star.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a detailed review in regards to your recent Anniversary stay with us at the Waldorf Hilton and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable weekend.

I would however like to apologise that on this occasion you were not granted a room with a view, as I am sure you can imagine with 300 bedrooms and a very high occupancy it is not always possible however for future visits please do contact the hotel in advance and subject to availability we will be more than happy to allocate an appropriate room.

We are delighted about your feedback in our Grand Salon restaurant and our food and beverage team would like to join in my appreciation.

Here at the Waldorf we strive for perfection so if there is anything that you think was missing from your overall experience I would be delighted to hear from you so we can continue to improve our product and the service we provide. Please do contact me at lonwa_guestrelations@hilton.com and I would be more than happy to hear your thoughts.

Kind regards,
Sarah

SARAH I Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel in an excellent location. Friendly staff on check in and nice, clean, airy room. Only downside was listening to the house keeping staff arguing outside our door early on a Sunday morning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review following on from your stay with us.

I am very pleased that you were made to feel welcome by our friendly and efficient reception team and that you were pleased with your room allocation. I am however very apologetic about the noise disturbance outside your room on the Sunday morning, I will of course follow up with our Housekeeping Manager.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Waldorf in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sarah

SARAH I Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We've stayed several times at this hotel - the first time was in a standard room (which was disappointing) and twice in a superior/deluxe room (fantastic). The standard room was very expensive for what was an extremely small basic room with no view and when my husband mentioned this on a room feedback card we were contacted by management and offered a special rate for one of the superior rooms with complimentary access to the executive lounge. This was a fantastic room, very spacious, huge bathroom and with an outlook to the front. We liked it so much we returned for a third time. It's also great having access to the executive lounge with drinks and nibbles before going out to a show. We love this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cooper17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Front Office Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review in regards to your numerous stays with us at the Waldorf, I am delighted that we have re-gained your loyalty after a disappointing first experience.

As you will have noticed we do have very differing room types so its vitally important that you choose the room and package that best meets your needs on each occasion. If you do have any questions please contact the hotel directly and we will be more than happy to assist.

Thank you for your loyalty and please introduce yourself when you are next coming to your home away from home.

Kind regards,
Sarah

SARAH I Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#68 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#40 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,957 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#398 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,039 reviews
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#322 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Property: The Waldorf Hilton London
Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in London
#244 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#331 Family Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing