We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms and bathrooms are lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #339 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rooms and bathrooms are lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We liked this neighborhood very much, the hotel is beautiful inside and out. However it annoys me that wifi isn't free at a hotel that is this expensive even if you are a hilton honors member. I don't like being nickle and dimed when I'm paying this much. The bathrooms are nice and the beds were comfy, and there are many good restaurants in the neighborhood and shopping is not to far.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoti_nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review related to your recent visit at The Waldorf Hilton London.

All guest feedback is extremely important to us and we appreciate your participation.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were pleased with our overall services. I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with regards to not having a free Wireless connectivity in our rooms to all our guest. Due to our HHonors Loyalty Hilton worldwide program benefits it only allows our Gold & Diamond members to have access as well as our guests who have booked an Executive room or higher. That aside, I'm happy to say that we do offer free WIFI in our public and lobby areas of our Hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London Hotel.

Kind regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,521
    1,165
    713
    315
    155
See reviews for
731
1,717
131
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Waldorf. Although it is an older property, upgrades have kept it current and comfortable. We enjoyed the central location as it ws within easy walking distance to places of interest. Also the tour busses had a stop just outside the door making it easy to use the Hop on Hop off routes. We also enjoyed the excellent fitness centre which had good, largely current equipment and was well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank YL-vanisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. I was glad to read that you took great advantage of the Hop on Hop off bus which stops right in front of the hotel and I hope you were able to see a lot of London.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a very pleasant experience at the London Waldorf. The location is excellent if you are coming to London for theatre, and the staff is very helpful. The executive lounge was family-friendly and the food was good. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. I am glad to read the you enjoyed our Executive lounge and took great advantage of our lovely location.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed here several times, and this recent one was the best. The room was an Exec Plus in a quiet area on the Exec floor. I think, from reading some of the reviews and my own experience, that location within the hotel is a key factor for a good night's sleep.

The main recommendation I can make is to definitely choose Exec access to the Executive lounge. This comes with an 'Exec room', or you can pay extra for access. It really is worth it. We took breakfast there (or in the main dining), came back between 15:00-17:00 for 'afternoon tea', and enjoyed 'canapes and drinks after 18:30. For us, we didn't need anything else all day - you can definitely get all your daily nutritional requirements in the Exec lounge!

The hotel is a great base for visiting London. We walked a lot, which is a good way of exploring.

There are certainly more luxurious (and expensive) hotels in London, but this one has a nice feel with very friendly staff, is not pretentious and is beginning to feel like our 'home-from-home' in London!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from 'theatre-land' noise. Though, to be fair, even the next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you again for choosing to stay with us as well for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. I am very glad to read that you had such a pleasent stay with us and that you were able to enjoy our Executive lounge as much as you did.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I am looking forward to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

After reading other reviews, I must agree housekeeping is a persistent weak link. After 5 hours of being gone all day, returned to an untouched room at 430pm. Had to make several phone calls.
Aside from that we enjoyed everything else. A very nice renovated room. Loved the double sink in the bathroom. View of brick walls but it was very quiet. It seems the beautiful front facing rooms you would be subject to street noise. Very nice executive lounge, but be forewarned that summer brings many families with children. The gym is operated by LA fitness so it is very busy generally but fully equipped. Good Godfeys is a fabulous place to unwind. Excellent addition to this hotel. Overall we loved this hotel, location,staff, most aspects very good. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Try to get a removed room. First 5 floors. Avoid street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I booked this Hotel for my 50th Birthday. I communicated clearly with the Hotel that I need 2 rooms, one for my elderly parents (who needed a room with a "disabled bathroom") and one for me next to them or nearby so I could look after them.
When we checked in my parents room was fine - but my room was some distance away and was very noisy and dark (air conditioning units outside). I complained, and had to move rooms the next day - huge inconvenience and made my weekend (which should have been fun) more stressful. I also complained about the cleanliness of the corridor outside my room - nothing was done about this. Do not accept room 109!!

We had access to the Executive Lounge which was great, although it did get very busy in the evenings and my parents had difficulty in finding seating. Food was OK for breakfast - certainly nothing to write home about.

Overall staff were friendly and professional - but the overall experience, especially since it was a special weekend, was spoiled. Overall for the price - disappointing - I am going to complain to the Hotel (AGAIN) and see what they do - other than send a cheap bottle of wine to the room. Generally the Hotel is tired and needs an upgrade - even though it is Grade II listed - this is no excuse!!

Room Tip: Do not use room 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor0wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EChristiaanse, Guest Relations Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to share your review through Tripadvisor related to your previous visit at The Waldorf Hilton London.

We greatly appreciate all comments made by our guests, whether positive or for our development as it allows for continued improvement in that which is most important to us, our guest service.

I was really concerned to hear that we did not meet your expectations and I am sorry you were disappointed.

We are constantly monitoring the performance of our hotel against Hilton's high service and quality standards. Normally our guests are very pleased with our rooms as these rooms in particular are newly refurbished as well as most of the hotels public areas. As the hotel is a listed building and due to it herritage we work very hard to maintain the hotels history and I regret that you feel that the hotel, in general, is not up to standards.

I would like to learn more about your stay as it will enable us to continually improve, exceed quality standards, and are vitally important in helping us achieve our Mission to be the first choice of the world’s travellers. Please contact me via email eline.christiaanse@hilton.com or by telephone +44 (0) 207 759 4255.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

I look forward to hear from you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Eline C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my wife. The hotel is not living up to its name. As many writes it needs a thorough upgrade. Furnitures are old and dirty though hotel staff are friendly. Breakfast also not very interesting.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yovany T, Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Sir\Madam,

I would like to first thank you for taking the time to share your review through Tripadvisor related to your previous visit at The Waldorf Hilton London.

We greatly appreciate all comments made by our guests, whether positive or for our development as it allows for continued improvement in that which is most important to us, our guest service.

I was really concerned to hear that we did not meet your expectations and I am sorry you were very disappointed.

Comments from our guests enable us to continually improve, exceed quality standards, and are vitally important in helping us achieve our Mission to be the first choice of the world’s travelers.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,
Yovany Santa Torres I Assistant Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#70 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#40 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#171 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,928 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#390 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,979 reviews
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#323 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Property: The Waldorf Hilton London
Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in London
#244 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#331 Family Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing