We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton London
Ranked #342 of 1,064 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location !”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Room a bit small for a couple, should have upgraded. Bathroom very small. Concierge exceeded my expectations. Secured a difficult dinner reservation on short notice. Location is awesome for walking to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Upgrade and get a larger room if you are not alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 399beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear 399beach,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and that you took good advantage of our great location. Please rest assured that your comments about our Concierge team will be shared with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Alison P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    1,176
    727
    318
    158
See reviews for
747
1,753
131
638
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights combining g a weekend break with a business trip.

Had a nice quiet room on a high floor (as requested), which meant a very peaceful stay.

Booked an executive room, and the visited the lounge for pre theatre drinks. I think the cost of the upgrade is money well spent.

Great location for shows and sightseeing. I am familiar with London so managed to walk everywhere.

Have stayed here several time son business, and will do so again (either business or pleasure).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ce04dje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear CE04dje,

Thank you for once again choosing to stay at The Waldorf Hilton during you recent visit to London as well as for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and that you enjoyed some pre-theatre drinks in our Executive Lounge before visiting one of London's lovely shows.

We look forward to welcoming you back on the occasion of your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Alison P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level Contributor
350 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Excellent large quiet room. Pleasant staff. But ....

1. WiFi was £14.95 !!! Every other hotel I have ever stayed in has free WiFi. For the price at the Waldorf surely it should be free.
2. At 4pm we were told it was not possible to have dinner until after 9.30pm.
3. We were warned there would be long delays at breakfast (so we breakfasted out at Bills)
4. The tea/coffee tray had opened half empty packs of instant coffee
5. The concierge had no real grasp of the local buses
6. £50 was taken by credit card at reception and had to be refunded when we left ( at least I hope it was refunded - hasn't appeared on the credit card bill yet)

For what is supposed to be a top end hotel, none of this should have happened, which is a pity as we found the room excellent

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aberdeenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Aberdeenjohn,

Thank you for your review. It is always a concern to read when a valued guest has a disappointing stay at The Waldorf Hilton and we would like to apologise for the shortfall in expectations.

Please be assured that your overall experience is not representative of our usual standards of service and the areas highlighted for improvement have been shared with the team and immediate steps have been taken.

If you would like to discuss these matters in further detail, please do not hesitate to forward a copy of your review to Lonwa_Guestrelations@Hilton.com and you will be responded to direct.

Kind regards,

Alison P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Where do I begin? I have been a Hilton HHonors Diamond member for 10 years, staying at numerous Hilton properties worldwide. This stay was supposed to be the highlight of our trip to London. Instead, it turned into a major disappointment and hassle. Upon arrival, it was at least 90 degrees (Fahrenheit) in our room, and the air conditioning wasn't working. An hour after we reported this, an engineer finally showed up (we were on our way out by then) and assured us it would be fixed by the time we got back. 4 hours later, we returned, to find the room hotter than before. Got moved to another room, where I sat at the desk and... had the wall mirror promptly fall on me (upon closer inspection, it turned out to be hanging on a single bolt). The staff were very apologetic and offered free bottles of cheap wine, but it was quite clear they were used to dealing with these kinds of complaints. The next morning, breakfast in the severely overcrowded "Executive Lounge" was reminiscent of a school cafeteria experience in both the quality and selection of food. The WiFi didn't work at least 80% of the time. We ended up spending one night of the planned three, and left the place in a hurry to stay at the Westminster Doubletree (which was pleasant and entirely adequate).

Bottom line: this decrepit hotel is banking purely on the old glory of its name. Do not be fooled by the promise of five-star luxury - it does not extend farther than the lobby. Save your time and money; stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abai97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Abai97,

Thank you for your review. It is always a concern to read when a valued guest has a disappointing stay at The Waldorf Hilton and we would like to apologise for the shortfall in expectations.

Please be assured that your overall experience is not representative of our usual standards of service and the areas highlighted for improvement have been shared with the team and immediate steps have been taken.

I believe that our Guest Relations Manager Eline has spoken to you that evening and has offered you a fair compensation. Please feel free to contact me personally if you would like to discuss these matters in further detail, please do not hesitate to forward a copy of your review to Lonwa_Guest@Hilton.com and you will be responded to direct.

Yours sincerely,

Alison P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

took a friend here for a birthday surprise. The room was simple yet clean and tidy and stylish. All the staff where extremely friendly. Made to feel very very welcome. Would defenetly stay here again. Cant think of anything bad to say about this hotel at all. Runs so well. the beds where so comfortable, didn't want to get up out of bed. The bar served wonderful cocktails. would stay again and again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertdick62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Robertdick62,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities especially since this was such an special occasion as it was your friends birthday. I would also like to thank you for your comments about the hotel staff as this goes a long way in encouraging and motivating the team.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,

Alison P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed in the playmobil suite which the kids loved. Lucky to be there - the suite is available for 40 nights. All the families turned up for breakfast at the same time and they were a bot short staffed but it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Willy068,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London.

I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities especially in regards to the Playmobil Suite. I hope your children took great advantage of all the lovely toys in the room and that they have had a great time.

If I can be of assistance in near future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf Hilton London.

Kind Regards,

Alison P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

You should never be able to check into a five star hotel and find the remains of someone else's dinner in your mini bar, here you can.
You should never be able to check into a five star hotel and find the maids dirty cleaning cloth dumped over your tea tray, here you can.
When you bring the above points to the attention of the staff you expect there to be an apology and a fuss to fix it. Not here.
You should never have to queue in a five star hotel for twenty five minutes in the corridor outside the restaurant to get in and get a table for breakfast. Here you do.
When someone drops scrambled egg on the tiled floor at breakfast you expect the multitude of stuff to deal with it quickly an efficiently. Not here. Here they walk round it for ten minutes each telling the other about it but doing nothing.
The glass you lift at breakfast in a five star hotel should not have someone else's lipstick on it already. Here it can. When you lift a second one in this hotel it can be exactly the same as the first one. Fortunately third time lucky.
With three waiting staff on duty in the bar and seating area in a five star hotel, after fifteen minutes of trying to get some attention and service you shouldn't have to give up. Here you will.
On leaving when the receptionist asks if everything has been good and you say not great, you expect to be asked what the problems were. Not here. Not interested in anything other than which card you want to pay with.
A five star building with two star staff who lack attention to detail, and any sort of sense of being there to look after customers. They do charge five star prices though. I am a Hilton gold member who travels a lot and stays in Hiltons a lot but I have never stayed in one where customer care was as unimportant as it was here.
The positives - great location and the doormen stood out from the rest of the staff. Very helpful and informative any time I asked them for any information. Concierge staff also quite helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mccaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton London, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Mccaves,

Thank you for your review. It is always a concern to read when a valued guest has a disappointing stay at The Waldorf Hilton and we would like to apologise for the shortfall in expectations.

Please be assured that your overall experience is not representative of our usual standards of service and the areas highlighted for improvement have been shared with the team and immediate steps have been taken.

If you would like to discuss these matters in further detail, please do not hesitate to forward a copy of your review to Lonwa_Guestrelations@Hilton.com and you will be responded to direct.

Kind regards,

Alison P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#71 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#173 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,959 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#399 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,046 reviews
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#323 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waldorf Hilton London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldorf Hilton London

Property: The Waldorf Hilton London
Address: Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in London
#245 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Business Hotel in London
#331 Family Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waldorf Hilton London 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Hilton has one of the chicest addresses in town bridging the West End and the Square Mile to provide an excellent base for access to the City by day and the cultural delights of Covent Garden by night. Homage Restaurant pays tribute to the grand cafes of Europe, incorporating Good Godfrey's Bar and Lounge and the famous Palm Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Waldorf Hilton London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waldorf Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel London
Hilton Hotel Waldorf
Hilton London Waldorf
London Hilton
Waldorf Hotel London
Waldorf Hilton London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing