We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Ranked #518 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Athens
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, but.....”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The rooms are tired, especially the bathrooms. Mine had dirty mouldings and was very old fashioned. It was clean enough though.
The hotel is in a great location, but during my stay I found the staff unhelpful - particularly those that were serving at the club lounge. No coffee and empty plates when we entered the lounge - it seemed to be a hassle for them even filling the water tank of the coffee machine!
Having said that - the reception staff were very helpful both checking in and out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkinginAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear WorkingAthens,

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your comments posted on TripAdvisor.

I would like to express my sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience during your stay at the hotel. Our guests are our upmost priority and we strive to ensure that every guest has a enjoyable time at the hotel. I was concerned to discovery that we could not deliver on your expectations and I feel sorry that you were disappointed with our room’s product and your experience in the Club Lounge. We are taking guest feedback very seriously and please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the respective Department Heads.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and I sincerely hope that this experience will not
deter you from choosing Le Méridien Piccadilly for your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,

Sérgio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    917
    471
    264
    198
See reviews for
538
762
178
566
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel is located in the best available are for turism.
It offer (as an SPG Member) large room with a very good level of confort.
The rest is very bad.
The level of service is defenitely not what you might expect, the breakfast is fantastic in terms of location, very poor in terms of quality and quantity. You ask something, and they forget, is not clear is you can eat there as your pbreakstast is included or if you will have to pay a fortune, staff do not know hot to answer.
Lounge is little and understaffed, not really a good choice of food and the wine is cheap.
Concierge often do not answer to the phone.
Reception is too litlle, so much understaff and at your check in / out you can easilly wait 20 min.

The best guys are the one the door, always smiling and ready to help.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UBMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear UBMCL,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor following your recent stay here at Le Meridien Piccadilly.

We are aiming ourselves to provide our guest with excellent services at all times and I feel sorry if we fell short on this occasion. I was concerned reading your comments about the poor breakfast experience at our Terrace Restaurant and please rest assured that your feedback has been passed on to the Department Head. I thank you for your feedback as we are only able to enhance our services by receiving guest comments such as yours so we can further look into improvement opportunities. I have shared all your comments with the Senior Management to take appropriate action avoiding similar related service issues in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you again to Le Méridien Piccadilly on your future visits to London.

Kind Regards,

Sérgio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is just a nightmare, the only positive thing about it is the location. The room was unattractive and worn down, on my bedsheets there were blood-stains, the drain in the shower was blocked and the hairdryer was suddenly running so hot that my hair caught fire. I will never come here again, there are so many better options, don't be fooled by the pictures on the website.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poldi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear poldi27,

Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

It is very disappointing that we did not meet your expectation during your recent visit to our Hotel. I was surprised reading your comments about the Housekeeping services received and I feel sorry that you found our product unattractive and dated. Please rest assured that this is certainly not the high standard of service we are aiming to provide to all our guests and I would appreciate if you could contact my office directly so we can together look into your comments in more detail.

My apologies again for the shortcomings in service and product you have experienced during your stay. I sincerely hope that this experience will not deter you from choosing Le Méridien Piccadilly for your stay on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,

Sérgio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel is is a very central location. Walking distance to Leicester Square, Covent Garden, etc. The lobby area is very nice and the staff was very friendly, but I found the rooms to be a little dated. It just seemed like the furniture could have used some updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kehau R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Kehau R,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you appreciate the hotel’s central location that is indeed very close to major tourist attractions and transportation links. It was also encouraging that our associates did positively contribute to your enjoyment. They are great asset and I will certainly share your kind comments with them. I feel sorry that our room’s product did not meet your expectation and rest assured that we are working very closely with our owning company to look into improvement opportunities.

Once again, thank you for posting your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Méridien Piccadilly in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sérgio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The location of the hotel was superb. The staff were very professional. Great system that saves energy by declining room cleaning/towel changes. You can also donate money to charity by doing this. The problems were the room was cramped - space was fine unless two of you wanted to walk around at the same time! The biggest problem was credit card pre- authorisation. I prepaid our room and yet they blocked over £600 from my credit card for a two night stay!!! All hotels pre authorise around a £100 for incidentals etc but this was way over the top and could have a significant effect if you card is near it's limit. The hotel did apologise when I emailed them so please ask how much they are taking!! On check out they also tried to charge us for breakfasts and meals we did not have which is why I emailed to check they were not trying to recharge these items.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intipusscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear intipusscat,

Thank for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Our aim is to provide excellent guest services at all times and I was delighted to read you appreciated the professional services provided by our associates. It was also encouraging that you valued our green initiatives and I am grateful your shared your comments within this platform. Indeed we have to ask for a preauthorisation taken from guest’s credit cards in order to cover any incidentals that might be consumed. Our policy is to block £ 100, - per night and room and my colleagues are asked to point this out upon check in. I feel sorry if this has not been the case and I will certainly speak with the Department Head involved to look into training opportunities avoiding reoccurrence in the future. I was glad to read that my colleagues have been in touch with you already to bring this matter to closure.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Le Meridien Piccadilly. Indeed, perhaps you would be kind enough to contact me directly when planning a future visit to London, in order that I can personally ensure that your next stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Kind Regards,

Sergio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Travelled mid week to see a show. Booked here through a show & hotel site, What a fantastic surprise. Within walking distance of Picadilly tube ( about 100 yards ), Also within walking distance of The West End, Soho, Covent Garden, Buckingham Palace, Westminster, all the shopping streets. We got an upgrade to a deluxe room, 4th floor on the main street, but so quiet at night.Room spacious, beds great, robes & slippers,Mini bar tv etc. So Comfy and cozy. There is a Pool, Steam Room & Jacuzzi which you can access from your floor if you are in your robe. Breakfast fantastic, Never seen so much selection. The staff were IMPECCABLE. Could not do enough for you. The door man was a gem, gave us all sorts of info about the hotel & area.Bar prices were unfortunatly a bit steep, but considering the location, not surprised.Did not eat here either as we were out and about, but heard the food was fab.. This Hotel IS A MUST.Cant wait to go back Thank You Le Meridian for a wonderful stay xxxxxx

Room Tip: 4th Floor, Not a great view but great rooms.Try to register for a " Starwood " Preferred G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elma69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear elma69,

Thank for taking the time to share your recent experiences at our hotel.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed both the product and the services that we offer. I am also delighted to discover that our associates have positively contributed towards this enjoyment. Indeed our hotel is located ideally to the major tourist attractions and I am grateful you shared your comments on TripAdvisor.

Once again, thank you for posting your favourable feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Le Méridien Piccadilly in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sérgio Leandro

Hotel Manager
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiscardo, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was just at this hotel for one night on a business trip. It is a tough property to review because the exceptional staff and location would normally make this a five point rating. It sits just steps from the Piccadilly Circus tube stop so you can go rapidly from Heathrow to the hotel without worry about the traffic. But the facility itself is just not great for the business traveler. For starters most of the hotels that I have stayed at in London of this caliber have 110v plugs for US travelers built in. They did not have this but were very nice about giving me an adapter.

But a major non-starter for me is a bathroom with no outlet for a hair dryer and no hair dryer. As a woman business traveler this just doesn't work. And more importantly there is no other place in the room with a mirror that you can use to do your hair. Pretty basic need. It is very hard to look presentable for work when you have to sit on the floor and dry your hair piecemeal running back and forth to the mirror. Had I been here for more than one night, I would just checked out and found another hotel.

Another strange feature is that they provide a hot pot for coffee and tea with a lovely selection of teas but there is literally no place to plug in the pot. If you put it on the very small desk you need to unplug lamps and phones and move your papers and computer. The bathroom only has an outlet for shavers so that is not an option. So I ended up putting the pot on the floor at the only convenient outlet.

Again the staff is tremendous and I engaged with the front desk multiple times, the concierge and a bellman. Each person exceeded my expectations. But sadly if you are a woman business traveler this place is not for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esemmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEMERIDIENPICCADILLY, General Manager at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Esemmes,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Le Méridien Piccadilly.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our exceptional location in the very heart of London. It is indeed very convenient for our guests to commute from here to anywhere easily. Your comments describing the service delivered by our teams will be shared with all our associates and encourage us to continue focusing on the level of standards. Our goal is to create memorable experiences to all our guests and I am proud to see that we have succeeded on this occasion.
We very much appreciate your feedback concerning our facilities and the different shortfalls encountered as a business traveller. Please rest assured that I will liaise with our Property Manager to look into improvement opportunities with regards to the hairdryer socket and the tea and coffee facilities.

Once again I would like to thank you for your time and we hope that you will spend many more unforgettable stays at Le Meridien or Starwood Hotels & Resorts.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you plan on your next visit to London so we can ensure that we allocate a room that would be at your convenience.
We look forward to seeing you again,

Kind Regards,

Sergio Leandro
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
W London Leicester Square
W London Leicester Square
#393 of 1,069 in London
1,976 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#45 of 1,069 in London
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Westbury Mayfair
The Westbury Mayfair
#391 of 1,069 in London
1,447 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,069 in London
4,016 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,069 in London
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Piccadilly

Property: Le Meridien Piccadilly
Address: 21 Piccadilly, London W1J 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#322 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Piccadilly 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Piccadilly is set in the heart of the West End one of London’s most fashionable destination, and only moments away from London’s cultural attractions, including Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, and Covent Garden. The hotel features many amenities including meeting facilities and banqueting suites, the Piccadilly Health Club and one of London’s largest indoor swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Piccadilly Hotel London
Le Meridien Hotel London
Le Meridien London
London Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing