We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad sleep quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Ranked #531 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“bad sleep quality”
Reviewed 8 September 2010

stayed here for one night on a business trip and would not come again. the hotel has very old doublewindows that don't close properly so you will have all the noise from the street. the bed sags in the middle and the room was very tiny. i had stopped to count how often i stumbled over my luggage. also you can see that this hotel understands renovation by just painting over everything again and again. just looks ugly and this is not a renovation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank das_ubersoldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepa2008, Associate at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments on the Tripadvisor website.

I am sorry to read that you were disturbed by the noise emanating from the street. May I suggest that for any future stays you request a quieter room.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Méridien Piccadilly.

Yours sincerely
Hotel Management
Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    901
    467
    261
    194
See reviews for
526
746
177
559
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed here September 3-6, 2010. I was nervous after some of the bad reviews I read on this site, but it turned out to be a great choice. We asked for a renovated room at check-in and the hotel was happy to oblige. The room was lovely! It looked exactly like the pictures on the website (queen bed w/ gray upholstered headboard, a red arm chair, and dark wood wardrobe, desk, and side tables). It was not large, but basically what I would expect from a standard room in a big city. We were on the 5th floor and had a nice view of a red-roofed church and clocktower. The bed was comfy, no noise at all from the street, and the bathroom was nice. One morning we did hear a baby crying in the next room, but as to people talking or anything like that there was no noise through the walls.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. We're both very busy (and not big planners) so we didn't read any guidebooks or make any plans before we left. Luckily, all we had to do was step out our door, buy a map at the newstand on our block, and we had the whole city at our fingertips. We were able to walk almost everywhere (Hyde Park, the British Museum, the National Gallery, the Tate, etc.) and easily got a cab or hopped on the bus or subway to get to other attractions. The hotel is also a short walk to great shopping and restaurants -- I really can't imagine how the location could be better.

As for the service and amenities, the staff is very friendly and anytime you call with a request they call you up a few minutes later to make sure you got what you needed. The hotel also provides free passes for the Tate, so you don't have to pay to see the special exhibitions (basic admission is free, but the special exhibitions were by far the most worthwhile when we visited). I never looked at the pool or gym, so I can't comment on those.

My one complaint is that, like some other high-end hotels where I have stayed, they charge PER DEVICE for internet access. This is a big pain and causes needless inconvenience and discomfort. I don't mind paying for internet access (although I prefer when it's free!), but to pay 16 GBP per day for each device adds up to an extortionate amount for the average modern family. My boyfriend and I each brought our laptops and blackberries, and in my case my blackberry cell service wasn't working in London, so to access my work email I needed to use the WiFi connection. But to connect two laptops and one blackberry would have been 48 GBP per night (around $75) -- about a quarter of the cost of the room itself! We settled for just connecting one laptop so we could read restaurant reviews and check google maps on the larger screen, but missing my blackberry service was a source of stress I didn't need. I need my blackberry to access my work email, so each day I had to find a cafe with free WiFi before I could see if I had any new work emails. Why put people through this? Just make internet access free, or charge per room rather than per device. This hassle is the reason I can only give the experience 4 stars. Otherwise I think I would have given a 5-star review.

One final note: as to hotel class, Le Meridien Piccadilly looks, feels, and operates like a really nice 4-star hotel, not a 5-star as it is rated. However, the prices are not 5-star prices either (the super fancy places were running about 2-3 times as much when I looked). Whether you pay with Starwood points (as we did) or cash, the value for the money is excellent. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We felt that the room was what you would expect in a 4* the bathroom was more a 3* but the staff were a 5*+. Its a great location for sightseeing around central London. The swimming pool was lovely and the breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jools08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepa2008, Associate at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your favourable comments on the Tripadvisor website.

We are delighted to learn that you found the Hotel had an amazing location for the shops and Central London’s historical sites also that you appreciated the food, the friendly and professional service as well as the facilities that the Health Club - Le Méridien Piccadilly offers.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to Le Méridien Piccadilly.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management
Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

My colleagues and I were dreading going to the hotel following the bad reviews on Trip Advisor. They couldnt have been more wrong. We stayed for 4 nights and loved every minute of it. Having stayed in several hotels in the London Area in the last year this has been by far the best one. Hotel staff from concerige, reception staff, restaurant staff to the cleaning staff were all extremly helpful and pleasant. Staff at breakfast were always courteous and we even had her toast made for us without asking.
Rooms were the best we have stayed in this year, very spacious and clean. Have booked to stay again in October.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine_mullenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepa2008, associate at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 3 September 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay and Le Méridien Piccadilly and for taking the time to post your favourable review on trip advisor.

We were elated to read your positive feedback that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our facilities very comfortable. We are delighted to hear that our associates are a huge asset to the Hotel and that they delivered Le Méridien Band standards of service to our guests. I have passed on your kind words to all associates.

Once again thank you for your visit to Le Méridien Piccadilly and we look forward to welcoming you back to soon.

Yours sincerely
Hotel Management
Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We had a great stay! We had a very large room - the exec suite - which accommodated all 4 of us. We were also in a great location within walking distance of everything. The only exception was the concierge which we felt was not as helpful as we would have liked. Maybe bad time of year with all the tourists.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IluvtravNewJerseyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepa2008, associate at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Piccadilly and for taking the time to post your kind comments on the Tripadvisor website.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Piccadilly and that you appreciated the comfort and spaciousness of the Executive Suite. Also, please accept our apologies for any shortcomings in service by our Concierge Desk and I have shared your comments with the relevant associates to ensure Le Méridien Brand Standard is maintained.

Once again thank you for your comments and for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Spent nine nights and the staff at every level could not have been better. Got great play tickets on a few hours request. Someone was always avaible to give directions or make us a drink. Room service was fast and food was excellent. Location matched the service of the hotel. Nothing could be better. Our room had two seperate bathrooms which was nice. It was room 525, I suggest you request it. I can only assume the complaints I read are from people who travel little or are never happy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiburonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepa2008, Associate at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your complimentary comments on the Tripadvisor.

We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is always wonderful to hear that our associates provide a high stand of service to our guest as they are a great asset to the Hotel. I have shared your kind reviewed with all the associates.

Once again thank you for favourable review and may I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Piccadilly. We look forward to welcoming you to again in the near future.


Your sincerely

Le Méridien Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

There were several reviews in July that painted this hotel as declining. During our week stay we found the hotel to be a great stay. Our room was normal for a European city [small]. The club room was good and we enjoyed breakfast every day. Service was good and staff was friendly. The concierge was helpful but most of them had limited knowledge of attractions. Location excellent to all London attractions and shows. The underground is right outside the hotel door.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepa2008, Associate at Le Meridien Piccadilly, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Piccadilly and for taking the time to post your favourable comments in the Tripadvisor website.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Piccadilly and that you appreciated the benefits our Hotel has to offer. Also, I am pleased to hear that you found our associates professional and friendly.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us. We hope to see you in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
W London Leicester Square
W London Leicester Square
#388 of 1,067 in London
1,945 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#48 of 1,067 in London
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,067 in London
3,935 reviews
Mayfair
Westbury Mayfair
Westbury Mayfair
#390 of 1,067 in London
1,422 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#99 of 1,067 in London
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Piccadilly

Property: Le Meridien Piccadilly
Address: 21 Piccadilly, London W1J 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#330 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Piccadilly 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Piccadilly is set in the heart of the West End one of London’s most fashionable destination, and only moments away from London’s cultural attractions, including Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, and Covent Garden. The hotel features many amenities including meeting facilities and banqueting suites, the Piccadilly Health Club and one of London’s largest indoor swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Piccadilly Hotel London
Le Meridien Hotel London
Le Meridien London
London Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing