We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Waste Your Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Ranked #296 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Money”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Room booked for 3 adults - 16 year old daughter, full time education, they insisted she was to pay adult rates. The room had a child 'zed bed' // put you up bed for her - not an adult bed that they insisted we paid for.
Room for 3 - only 1 robe
Room for 3 - only 2 mugs
Faulty hairdryer
No lock on glass bathroom door - no toilet privacy
Asked to speak to manager when checking out - dealt with receptionist lady Chris - to be told that all managers were in a meeting (8am???) and that there was nothing she could do to help me and no one could deal with my complaint !
This I class as poor service and not willing to listen to customers dissatisfaction
I would not bother booking for the 'Sherlock Holmes' factor - absolutely nothing at all to do with it - and they couldn't care less about customer satisfaction !
I would be happy for the hotel to contact me directly to discuss this further - if they can be bothered !

Room Tip: Room facing Baker Street had scaffolding outside of both windows on floor 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ri1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback.

First and foremost, I must sincerely apologise that your recent stay was not to your satisfaction. The matters that you have raised are absolutely not indicative of the level of service and quality that we pride ourselves on providing, and I am very sorry to hear that you have had such an experience.
In order to fully investigate this matter, I would ask you to please contact me at csantos@pphe.com to provide me with the name that the booking was under so that I may follow up with the relevant members of upper management.

Thank you very much for reaching out to us in these matters, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,
Catarina Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    881
    323
    123
    74
See reviews for
464
792
144
519
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I visited Sherlock bar with my fiancée and we had really good time.I would like to thank the Asian barman with glasses to make our time special with some amazing cocktails.I think i will be there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jamesmax407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We are very proud to read that you enjoyed our bar cocktails.
Our staff work very hard so positive feedback such as yours is always a pleasure to read.

On behalf of myself and my team we look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Joana Sobral
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We booked this hotel for its fair price and excellent location...and it proved to be a good decision. The hotel was very cute, with a nice restaurant/bar located on the ground level that was lively but not noisy. The hotel has windy hallways, which leads to various rooms and give it a homey feel. Our room was located on the mezzanine level and was very quiet, located at the back of the hotel away from the busy road. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was nicely updated. The location was great -- near metro stops, shopping areas, and great restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel faces a busy street -- we asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jes0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel, for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor and for all the kind words about us.

We are pleased to hear that you value our care of our guest. It will be an honour for us to have you with us again during your next stay in London.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Kind Regards

Joana Sobral
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I booked this hotel for a really special occasion, I contacted the hotel in advance of our stay to arrange for some champagne in our room upon arrival. I promptly received a reply promising a bottle of complimentary prosecco, chocolates and a late checkout. When I received my e-mail a few days before arrival it confirmed our check out was 12pm not 2pm - I emailed back to confirm it's 2pm and they replied saying no. Eventually I had this late check out confirmed.

We arrived to check in and were told me hadn't booked a rate including breakfast - even though we had! I had a show an email on my phone to prove this, which they requested to forward on from my phone to their e-mail address. Once we were in the room the bottle of prosecco and chocolates were no where to be seen. i emailed the twitter team who flagged this with the hotel and still no prosecco showed up....

The room was tired with bits of paint missing on the wall, the bed felt like it could fall apart at any minute, didn't look like the pictures on the website of a studio room and we didn't have any towels in the bathroom my fiance had to go on a hunt for cleaning staff! Our view was into someone's office on both sides! The room didn't even have bedside tables!

If you are looking for a Park Plaza hotel in the central location go to Westminster or county hall I promise you won't be disappointed, they are simply amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellalou88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel.

It is regretful to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience caused.

I would very much welcome the opportunity to make amends for your unsatisfied experience as this is not the norm at the Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel.

Thank you very much for reaching out to us in these matters and please contact me directly at jsobral@pphe.com should you wish to plan your next visit.

I look forward to your response.

Warm Regards,

Joana Sobral
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My third time staying at Park Plaza. Locations is great. Just along the road from Baker Street tube and so close to Oxford street.

Hotel has character and is very clean. Some areas could be freshened up but otherwise I really liked it. Rooms are decent size for London.

All the staff were friendly and welcoming especially during breakfast. Reception and concierge were also really helpful.

Great stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Innermoppet_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks indeed for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your return visit so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ou Hotel soon. Please let me know when you are planning a return visit to London as I would be delighted to handle your arrangements personally.

Warm regards,
Catarina Santos
csantos@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes was nothing special. The room was nice and clean. Staff were attentive. Our room key kept playing up and the staff did what they could but everyday for the 4 days we were there it gets quite annoying having to go down and fix it up. But the staff were great and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

I am happy to hear you found our breakfast delicious with great staff.

I also note your comment regarding the room keys and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience it might have caused during your stay.

On behalf of myself and my team we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warm regards,
Catarina Santos
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was in london for 5 nights in Feb 2014.
Well to be very honest, my first impression was not so good as when i was guided to my room it was way too small (felt as if i'll hit the wall if i spread my arms yawning), so i had to upgrade my room means instant £40 per night (i.e. £200 for 5 nights) to be paid for studio room.
Studio rooms are nice and spacious facing road on the first floor, but not worth the charge.

The best thing about the hotel is location "Bakers St.", close to Londonn tube station, Madam tusad and even if u have booekd local tours their pickup points are in close proximity. Staff is friendly and helpful. I like the lobby and bar, just except its right on way to entrance.

If your vacation is for leisure and packed with sight seeing, may chose to stay in this hotel. All points to the location.

Room Tip: Look for a deal on studio rooms. For standard rooms you won't be able to justify even to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VarunVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay at our Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Location and you found our staff friendly and helpful.

I also note your comment regarding the size of your room and obviously I want to make sure you are 100% satisfied the next time you stay with us. I am therefore very confident we will have the perfect room for you, from both a space and cost perspective, so please contact me prior to your next stay on csantos@pphe.com so I can personally discuss the various options with you.

Kind regards,
Catarina Santos
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#59 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#410 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#301 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#295 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#196 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#55 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London

Property: Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Address: 108 Baker Street, London W1U 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in London
#201 Business Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
#229 Family Hotel in London
#242 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Regency-style Hotel situated 200 yards from Baker Street tube station & convenient to West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing