We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor room planning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Ranked #305 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The location is good but otherwise one would be better off staying elsewhere. Here is why
1. Room planning was the worse I ever encountered. Entrance to the bathroom is directly from the room, and the door is made of semiopaque (or semitranslucent) glass. If there is another person in the room this person will not only hear what is happening in the bathroom but pretty much see it as well.
2. The bath is slippery when wet but there is no rubber mat there. After you slip and fall you may notice a sign that the rubber mat is available upon request. Why someone needs to fall first before requesting a mat is a mystery to me. Clearly hotel's priority is not customer's safety but rather saving few pounds
3. The hotel advertises that WiFi is included in the room price. When you actually try to log on you get a message that only 256 kb are free, after that one needs to pay. Clearly deceptive advertising.
4. Hotel that claims to be 4 stars should provide bathrobes. They were amiss.
5. I have yet to see another $350 a night hotel that charges 25 pennies for a printed sheet of paper. The printer was not working anyway however.
In short: there are much better hotels for the money in the same neighbourhood

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alekseyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback regarding your stay at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes Hotel. It is regretful to hear that we missed the opportunity to create a positive experience for you and I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for this.

I can assure you that your experience is far from what we intend to offer to our guests and I do hope to be able to welcome you back at the Hotel in a very near future.

Next time you stay with us please email me on csantos@pphe.com and I will ensure we exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Catarina Santos
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 2,502 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We booked four rooms for us and our adult children, their partners and our granddaughter to celebrate my 60th birthday. The hotel is in a great location for sightseeing and walks in the Park. The rooms also good. We dined in the restaurant on the first night and the food was excellent. The one thing that makes this hotel outstanding are the staff who are just so friendly and helpful but also very efficient. Couldn't fault the welcome and service we received.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philomena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you and your family had a satisfying stay with us on such a special occasion.

It is great that you could take such good use of our central location and specifically you could appreciate our excellent food.

I have passed on your good comments to the rest of our team here at the hotel and we look forward having the pleassure to welcome you again in the near future.

All the best,

Catarina Santos
Guest Relations Manager
csantos@pphe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel has a great location on Baker Street near the Baker Street underground station which has connections to 4 different lines. The staff here is very nice, and the rooms are great as well--high ceilings, tvs with internet capabilities, and nice showers. Although it is a bit pricey (as are all hotels in London), my wife and I felt that it was a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cronins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your Excellent review.

We are very proud to read that you enjoyed our services, location and facilities.

It is most rewarding for us and our Team to get such a nice feedback and it encourages us to continue with our work and efforts.

On behalf of myself and my team we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Joana Sobral
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my 80yr mother. Was very very impressed with the staff and the hotel. Everyone was very polite and friendly. The room we stayed in was a great size for London standards and very clean and tidy....I have stayed in some hotels in London that were supposed to be " a good hotel" and this one beat them easy....will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel, for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor and for all the kind words about us.

We are pleased to hear that you value our care of our guest. It will be an honour for us to have you with us again during your next stay in London.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Kind Regards

Joana Sobral
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel,over the Easter weekend with my girlfriend. Excellent rate for London and very convenient location. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean, cozy and comfortable. The corridors meander and this gives a feel of having nooks, which I quite liked at it felt more homely. The bar service was excellent and the bar food very good. However, the breakfast was outstanding with lots of choice and very well priced. Overall I was very pleased with the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks indeed for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ou Hotel soon. Please let me know when you are planning a return visit to London as I would be delighted to handle your arrangements personally.

Warm regards,
Catarina Santos
csantos@pphe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Room booked for 3 adults - 16 year old daughter, full time education, they insisted she was to pay adult rates. The room had a child 'zed bed' // put you up bed for her - not an adult bed that they insisted we paid for.
Room for 3 - only 1 robe
Room for 3 - only 2 mugs
Faulty hairdryer
No lock on glass bathroom door - no toilet privacy
Asked to speak to manager when checking out - dealt with receptionist lady Chris - to be told that all managers were in a meeting (8am???) and that there was nothing she could do to help me and no one could deal with my complaint !
This I class as poor service and not willing to listen to customers dissatisfaction
I would not bother booking for the 'Sherlock Holmes' factor - absolutely nothing at all to do with it - and they couldn't care less about customer satisfaction !
I would be happy for the hotel to contact me directly to discuss this further - if they can be bothered !

Room Tip: Room facing Baker Street had scaffolding outside of both windows on floor 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ri1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback.

First and foremost, I must sincerely apologise that your recent stay was not to your satisfaction. The matters that you have raised are absolutely not indicative of the level of service and quality that we pride ourselves on providing, and I am very sorry to hear that you have had such an experience.
In order to fully investigate this matter, I would ask you to please contact me at csantos@pphe.com to provide me with the name that the booking was under so that I may follow up with the relevant members of upper management.

Thank you very much for reaching out to us in these matters, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,
Catarina Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I visited Sherlock bar with my fiancée and we had really good time.I would like to thank the Asian barman with glasses to make our time special with some amazing cocktails.I think i will be there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank jamesmax407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSH_12, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We are very proud to read that you enjoyed our bar cocktails.
Our staff work very hard so positive feedback such as yours is always a pleasure to read.

On behalf of myself and my team we look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Joana Sobral
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#418 of 1,081 in London
699 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,081 in London
571 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#233 of 1,081 in London
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#69 of 1,081 in London
3,742 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#299 of 1,081 in London
266 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#164 of 1,081 in London
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London

Address: 108 Baker Street, London W1U 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in London
#200 Business Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
#240 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £129 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Regency-style Hotel situated 200 yards from Baker Street tube station & convenient to West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing