We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bright spot outside the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Ranked #300 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was an excellent hotel with large comfortable rooms and an attentive staff. The included breakfast was good and plentiful. We ate in the bar one night and the food was delicious! It's a bit outside of London but the tube is close and there are several parks and eating areas within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ddn't have a problem with our room or it's location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybowler601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONRP_General_Mgr, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park and for awarding us such great scores. It is very encouraging for all our team to receive such positive comments and we are so pleased you found our hotel excellent.

We hope you enjoyed your time in London and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the city.

Kindest regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,219 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have stayed here previously and it's a standard Marriott - nothing different to all of the others, albeit that the staff are somewhat more helpful and friendly than those at other Marriott properties I have stayed at around the world. For those that don't know London very well, the name is misleading - the hotel is in Swiss Cottage, which is north London and north of Regents Park. This means that it's around a 20 minute cab ride into central London and this will cost you around £ 15.00.

There's little point in providing any meaningful review of this hotel as it's the same vanilla mid-standard, mid-priced Marriott as everywhere else.

But - a couple of problems need to be highlighted, one of which may well have killed me.

1. Breakfast was served to my room and unfortunately there were two slices of bacon that were almost raw, uncooked and placed on the plate with cooked food. How this could have happened in a professional kitchen is beyond me. I've added a picture, but it doesn't really illustrate the true ghastliness. This was a plate of food poisoning.

2. One of the pillows had a lipstick 'kiss' on it and was dirty too.....could have been women's foundation make-up........ This conjures up all kinds of images but I'm not going to go there as someone of a nervous disposition might be reading this. How housekeeping can fail to spot this and change the linen is again, beyond my comprehension. And, no, I don't wear make-up - I'm a bloke.

Yucky.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAR1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONRP_General_Mgr, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to book with us again and for taking the time to review your latest stay at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park. We would like to thank you especially for your kind comments regarding our staff, which we have passed on to the entire team.

In terms of our location, we are, as you mention, located a short walk north of Regent’s Park, therefore we feel that the hotel’s name is fitting for its location. From nearby Swiss Cottage underground station, you can travel to the heart of London (Bond Street station) in just 7 minutes. Alternatively, a taxi to this same destination will take approximately 10-15 minutes and will cost around £10-12, traffic dependent.

We sincerely apologise that the unusual occurrences you describe in your review affected your recent stay. As you may know from your previous stay with us, this is not the standard that we provide at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park. Our kitchen team has a fixed system in place to ensure all bacon is cooked thoroughly and all rooms are double checked by the housekeeping team on a daily basis. We take your feedback very seriously and will be sure to investigate your comments with the departments concerned. If you experience any inconvenience during your stay in the future, please do contact our team directly so that we can rectify the situation right away.

Thank you once again for your feedback and comments, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night for our anniversary and was part of a package for a London show. We were very pleased with the staff, room and facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful and made you feel like an honoured guest. The room was perfect, spacious, comfortable bed, and a good size bath. We did not have a chance to use the facilities such as the pool but is always nice to have as an extra. The hotel is on a main road and noise of traffic can be heard in rooms but not enough to disturb us. The plus side is this hotel is only a few minutes walk from the station Swiss cottage and made moving around London easy. The price is the only thing that disappointed us as we would have liked to have stayed another night Sunday -Monday however this was well out of our price range. However would Definitely recommend this hotel to others :)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Helpmewithascreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONRP_General_Mgr, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park and congratulations on your anniversary. We are honoured that you chose to stay with us on this special occasion.

It is wonderful to read that you were pleased with our hotel and we are delighted that you would recommend us to others! We are sorry that you could hear some road traffic from your room, but glad that this did not disturb your stay. We are planning to address this matter by adding secondary glazing to the windows of the rooms that overlook the road.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed there last month as a delegate for a conference. The hotel is clean, very nice room, comfortable beds and clean linen and towels. My room was on the first floor, overlooking the road, which was noisy at night with all the police and ambulance sirens. The A/c int he room was quite noisy and I had to switch it off. But I cant complain, as the room was quite comfortable. There was a big delay in in checking in. I am unsure whether this was because we were conference delegates, given last priority by the hotel to check in. I received my room keys only at 4pm. I found this extremely inconvenient as I wanted to freshen up in between the conference. I also noticed the door leading to the balcony couldnt be locked. i felt uneasy as anyone could enter room through the balcony door from the next room balcony.

The staff were very friendly and they even provided popcorn and juice at the hotel lobby for all the guests on the house.

This hotel is about a mile away from the Swiss Cottage tube station which is on the Jubilee line. This is not one of the easily accessible lines from central London. There maybe a few changes to be made depending where in Central London you are .

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bipshayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONRP_General_Mgr, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park. We are delighted to read that you found the hotel and the room clean and comfortable. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our team – we are very glad that you enjoyed the treats in the lobby!

We apologise that you could hear some sounds from the nearby road at night. We are planning to address this matter by adding secondary glazing to the windows of the rooms overlooking this road next year to minimise any disturbance to our guests’ stay. Regarding the balcony doors, for the safety of our guests all doors are lockable. If you are unable to lock the door, please do contact our team who will be pleased to assist you.

With regard to checking in, please rest assured that we do not differentiate between or give preference to individual bookings. Although we try our best to check in guests as they arrive to the hotel, check-in is only guaranteed from 15:00hrs. However, we apologise if you came to the desk after this time and the room was still not ready.

Concerning our location, Swiss Cottage underground station is just a third of a mile, or a 3 minute walk from the hotel. It is, as you mention, on the Jubilee line, which is the only underground line that intersects with every other line on the system, making it very convenient and accessible when travelling around London.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We selected this hotel because I had 7 nights at a premium Marriott with rewards. The choice was this hotel or another one (can't recall the name, but also on the edge of town). This hotel did have great service, but everything else was average at best. Hotel room was a standard Marriott, no bells and whistles, breakfast was okay, again, very average, except for the coffee which was the worst coffee I have ever had anywhere. I gave it a try for five days in a row hoping it would get better, but didn't. Bed was springy, but again, average. The staff was really great. From the front desk, to the concierge, to the pub and restaurants, all excellent stars. This is why I have rated the hotel a.

My biggest beef was the location. Although Regents park is a rich area, it is several blocks to any eating outlets. They were Subway, McDonald's, KFC. Not my idea of a great dinner out. There was a pub farther up, as much as 8 blocks away, and if we had gone in another direction slightly up hill, there were more traditional cafes, restaurants and pubs, but again, a long way away for people who had been up in the city since 6 am and walked everywhere. As to the nearby station of Swiss Cottage, its was on the Jubilee line, and far from everything. On Saturday, it took 1 hour by underground to reach the Notting Hill exit on the red line for Portobello Road, and 1 hour on a Thursday to reach Victoria Station by 8am.

We had family traveling with us, one of whom stayed in Piccadilly, the other close to Green park. Either area would have been better for touring. Our hotel seemed to cater much more to business people.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmjpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONRP_General_Mgr, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much choosing to book the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are disappointed to read that you found our offerings to be only average as it is our aim to make your stay with us exceptional in every way. Nevertheless, we were thrilled to read your comments regarding our staff: it is very rewarding for all the team to receive such positive feedback from our guests regarding the service we deliver.

We would like to take this opportunity to respond to the points you raised regarding our location. As you mention, the hotel is located close to Swiss Cottage underground station on the Jubilee line. From Swiss Cottage, you can travel to the heart of London in just 7 minutes (Bond Street station), with direct connections to Wembley Stadium, Lord’s Cricket Ground, Baker Street, Bond Street & Oxford Street, Green Park & Buckingham Palace, Parliament Square, Big Ben and the London Eye, to name but a few. Notting Hill Gate station is normally less than 15 minutes on the underground from Swiss Cottage and Victoria station takes on average 18 minutes. In addition, the hive of activity that is Camden Town, the chic shops, cafés and restaurants of Primrose Hill and London Zoo in Regent's Park are all just a short walk or bus ride away.

Thank you again for your feedback and comments and we hope to welcome you back on a future visit to London.

Kindest regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome from Reception and although we were too early to book in our bags were taken from us to be looked after. Check in was swift and the luggage was soon brought to our room which was spotless, perfect for our one night stay. Breakfast was extremely good with plenty of choice. After check out, our bags were again looked after so that wee could enjoy our day luggage free

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONRP_General_Mgr, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive review of the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park and for giving us top scores! We are delighted that we could make you feel welcome and we truly appreciate your comments regarding your check-in experience, room and breakfast.

We hope you enjoyed your weekend away in London and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.

Warmest regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were looking for a hotel, in London, outside of the Congestion Zone, not too far from the West End, with parking, that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg. We found the Regents Park Marriott. It sort of fulfilled most of those criteria, but still had a surprise or two up its sleeve.

I must admit that many of those hotels I checked out, closer in and lower in price, didn't come out well in reviews here on TripAdvisor and many reviewers' photos of them revealed things that left a lot to be desired. So, slum it or stump up? We chose to stump up.

The Marriott is situated at the North end of Regents Park, between the Finchley Road and Swiss Cottage Tube stations, around a five minute walk away, unless you're in heels, in which case double that. From there by train it is just over 8 minutes away from Oxford Street.

We had arrived by car though, and so were grateful that the hotel has its own off-road forecourt where you can unload and enter to check in without having to worry about traffic wardens. The car park is under the hotel and seem to have sufficient free spaces.

Our room was on the 5th floor (504). Well maintained; tastefully decorated; adequately furnished, including *two* double beds! That aside, everything else was fine for our needs and, had we been staying longer than just one night, would have proved a good, though expensive base for exploring London.

The bathroom was "cosy", though no more so than most hotels. I could have done with one less bed and bit more bathroom. Equipped with a bath and with shower over, the shower curtain *didn't* wrap itself around you as soon as you turned the shower on, which is good.

The the bed was a little soft for my taste but the room was well insulated from traffic noise and from the animals at the nearby London Zoo and we got a good night's sleep after our night out.

In the morning we were surprised to discover that breakfast wasn't included; the booking confirmation was unclear about that; I hadn't factored in the additional cost of a rather exorbitant £17 each for just the Continental Breakfast! The choice was good though and we certainly made sure we got our full money's worth!

The basic room was £178, paid in advance and the parking another £28. I suppose that this is pretty much in line with London's inflated room rates, especially for a hotel that could be described as better than your average. We recently paid around the same amount for a so called "budget" chain London hotel.

Be that as it may, I will think twice about staying here again. The search goes on for a decent London hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONRP_General_Mgr, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Regents Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park. We are very glad that you were pleased with your room and that our facilities suited your needs; thank you for your kind comments.

Regarding breakfast, when booking a room on our website, the room package, including any breakfast element, will be displayed above the relevant rates. You can also click on ‘Rate rules’ alongside each rate for more details on the rate package; these will also be displayed in the confirmation email. Breakfast, as you know, can also be paid for separately: our full English breakfast buffet is charged at £19.50 per adult and our continental breakfast buffet at £15.50 per adult. Breakfast can also be ordered à la carte, which will be charged as taken.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards from the team at the London Marriott Hotel Regents Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,078 in London
3,868 reviews
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Regents Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Regents Park

Address: 128 King Henrys Road, London NW3 3ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Family Hotel in London
#204 Business Hotel in London
#216 Romantic Hotel in London
#216 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £121 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — London Marriott Hotel Regents Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Marriott Hotel Regents Park provides a convenient base for the astute business traveller and leisure guest. This 4 star North London hotel offers spacious facilities and competitive rates combined with a close proximity to the city centre. Located a short walk from Swiss Cottage underground station on the Jubilee Line, the hotel is perfect for shoppers, visitors to the city and sports fans alike with direct connections to Wembley Stadium, Lord's Cricket Ground, Bond Street, Buckingham Palace, Parliament Square and Canary Wharf. In addition, the lively markets of Camden Town, Primrose Hill with its chic shops, quaint cafes and panoramic views across London, and ZSL London Zoo in Regent's Park are all just a short walk or bus ride away. The hotel has 304 spacious bedrooms. The Leisure Club's extensive onsite facilities benefit from a 15m swimming pool, sauna, steam room, solarium, gym and hair and beauty salons. Additional services include an Italian restaurant Carluccio's, 24 hour room service and on-site car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Regents Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Marriott Hotel Park
Marriott London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing