We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good for Business even worse for pleasue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #443 of 1,063 Hotels in London
glos
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not very good for Business even worse for pleasue”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have stayed here on business and was in a room so small I thought it was a broom cupboard; beds are not very comfortable . convenient to central london so went back for a leisure weekend; Oh no double room was just as small and the service is not very good. would be ok if you want a cheap weekend away but this is classified as a four star and chare accordingly. Unfortunately they dont offer 4 star service to warrant the high prices. spend more and you will get more!!

Room Tip: if you find o good one let me know
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your stay with us.

Due to the shape and age of our building each room has its own unique size and charm. We have ensured that each room has been individually furnished to a high stand and all the necessary amenities are neatly tucked away in the room for a comfortable and relaxing stay. We receive many compliments on our rooms, however we are sorry that this was not the case for you. We only wish you had informed us of your concerns as we would have done gladly shown you a range of different rooms more to your personal preference.

We do hope that you may have the opportunity to stay in one of our more spacious suites upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    1,433
    859
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,404
334
961
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It was not out first stay but itwas the worst. The room was cold and the heating was so noisy it gave headache. The old wood window left the cold go in and it hadn't been cleaned since the opening (I think). the bed creaked so much that awoke you if you moved during sleep. Last stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your stay with us.

We are sorry that you found your air conditioner too noisy and that the window was not cleaned to a high standard. Each room is cleaned on a regular basis and should close completely to ensure the room is kept warm. We only wish you had informed us of your concerns as we would have certainly rectified this and sent a member of maintenance team to inspect both the window and air conditioner for you. Nevertheless please be assured that your comments have been taken on board as we understand the poor impression that this has given you.

Our mattresses are all of an extremely high quality and we receive many compliments regarding the comfort of our beds. We endeavour to assist all of our guests with their mattresses firmness requirements. Please also be assured that your feedback has been taken on board.

We would like to the opportunity to turn around your experience for you, please do contact our Guest Relations Executive, Bebita Dhaya at bebita.dhaya@principal-hayley.com as she would be more than happy to discuss your concerns with you.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Russell on 6 April for one night. We booked a theatre break and as my friend works in the hotel industry we were able to upgrade for a small additional fee. We had a suite with two double beds and great views overlooking Russell Square. The beds were I think the most comfortable I have ever slept in we had a great nights sleep as the room was very quiet. The staff were very help and the breakfast was substantial. There is a Tesco Local just around the corner so if you don't want to pay hotel prices at the bar then there are plenty of options on offer at the supermarket. The tube station is a hop skip and a jump away from the hotel and the British Museum is a 10 minute walk. The park has a cafe and as the weather was so nice, for a change, we had a chillaxing cup of tea watching the world go by. This is an ideal location as it is only a 5 to 10 minute walk from Euston and Kings Cross train stations. We booked through SuperBreaks and so the price was very reasonably and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Russell Square if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamPhilpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your room, the amazing park view as well as found our beds exceptionally comfortable as we do want all of our guests to have a good night’s sleep.

We are glad that our team were so helpful and friendly as we pride ourselves on providing exceptional standards to all of our guests.

Our team of Executive Chefs create a wide variety of fresh dishes each morning to suit any palate. We are also so pleased that you enjoyed this.

We are stone’s throw away from many of London’s major attractions and transport links, we are happy that you found our locations so convenient.

We do appreciate your recommendation and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Lovely hotel but would be far too expensive for my budget, it was a gift. Stayed in a very small double room overlookinmg the backyard, good view over the rooftops of the London skylins, as long as you didnt look down.
Breakfast very good but quite a long queue.
Ideally situated across the Square from the Tube station. A room at the front of the hotel would have a great view of the Square.
Walkable from the West End.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you were given a gift of staying with us at Hotel Russell.

Due to the size and age of our building each room has its own unique shape and style. We have ensured that each room has been individually furnished to a high standard and includes all the necessary amenities to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We have a number of different views including our court yard as well as the park view suites.

Breakfast is extremely popular at our hotel and whilst it is beyond our control when guests may arrive for this we endeavour to be as prepared as possible. We do apologise for the delay you experienced, however pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

We are pleased that you found our location so convenient as we are within walking distance to many of London’s major attractions and transport links.

We endeavour to be competitively priced and have many promotional offers each season. Please do visit our website as we would like to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I was booked into this hotel by my corporate travel agent whilst in London for work meetings. That said the location (in the WestEnd close to "Theatre Land") is excellent even if you are in London for pleasure.

The hotel itself is large and has fantastic architecture but is in need of some updating and re-decoration.

The bedroom I was initially allocated was completely unsuitable. My advice is avoid room 114 - it is laughingly described as a suite. What they actually mean is that it's a poky cubbyhole with the bathroom down a steep staircase as there is no room on the same level as the bedroom.

I was immediately moved once I made the receptionist aware that the room was unsuitable. The second room was far better and very comfortable.

The biggest problem this hotel has is at breakfast. I was there mid week and the breakfast room was so busy that I had to wait 20mins to be seated. Luckily I had time to spare before my meeting - had it been an early meeting I would have probably had to skip breakfast. I dread to think how long I would have had to waited had I not been alone or at a weekend. Then when I finally got a table I must say the quality and standard of food was not up to 4 star standard. Cheap ingredients poorly prepared. Overworked waiting staff and the restaurant was clearly being run on a skeleton! Long cues at the buffet didn't help either.

All in all if you just want a bed and a base great. But if you want a special treat there are a number of better small boutique hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southwalesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are extremely proud of our rich heritage and we have ensured that we have captured the essence of our Hotel.

We have a variety of different room types available ranging from traditional to modern rooms to suit our guest preferences. We are sorry that you found your room too small, however we do not have a room numbered ‘114’. Nevertheless please be assured that your comments have been taken on board. We are glad that you found your second room more to your personal preference.

Breakfast is extremely popular at our hotel and whilst it is beyond our control when guests may arrive for this we endeavour to be as prepared as possible. Usually during week days guests tend to arrive at different times, hence normally no queues. We do apologise, however for the delay you experienced. Please be assured that all of our dishes are freshly prepared using quality ingredients. Our chefs also ensure that a large variety of dishes is available to suit any palate.

We are pleased that you found our location so convenient and hope that we may have the opportunity to turn around your experience for you at Hotel Russell in the future.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Hotel is a mix bag with more positive points than the average rate may imply. First the location: perfect for West End and west end attraction. In Bloomsbury with the cultural attraction of British Museum and Universities just around the corner, on the doorstep of Covent Garden without the hassle of day visitors, easy walk to Leicester square and the Thames. Relaxed, calm and well connected. Breakfast room, restaurant and bar of old style and charm well kept.
Service attentive and friendly although sometime not so competent: concierge of old school with information and tips always good.
Rooms? it depends. Ask to see the room and keep the right to choose alternatives. Some rooms are very good, others not so spacious and not so well appointed. A small surcharge gives upgrade that it is worth considering. If you keep your expectations moderate and you like the location (good run around Russell square gardens) the Russell can become a second home in town.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the square are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you found our location so convenient as we are within walking distance to many of London’s major attractions and transport links.

We do apologies that occasionally the service standards were not very high. Please be assured that your comments have been highlighted to our teams as we endeavour to provide an exceptional service to all of our guests. We welcome all feedback as we strive to create and maintain our high standards.

We are glad that the information provided by our Concierge was helpful.

Due to the age and size of our building each room has its own unique shape and style. We have a variety of different rooms, each furnished to enhance the charm of the particular room. We always endeavour to meet our guest preferences and will show our guests the different room types available. We are also pleased that you appreciated the more spacious upgraded rooms.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell and that we will become your second home whilst in London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hotel is beautiful from outside and in. Lovely marble staircase, comfortable bar and dining area. Rooms are nice size and again comfortable, good spec, huge bed, ensuite with shower over bath. Nice furniture etc. Staff generally pleasant.

Location is fantastic: next to the tube, but in fact just walk to covent garden/leicester square/soho, oxford street, theatre land, and really not far to trafalgar square and the Houses of Parliament etc. if you are doing the tourist thing.

Gripes: Wifi needs to be paid for as extra (at these prices why not just include it for everyone?). Breakfast is pre-cooked buffet style, generally rather tepid, and very very over-priced. If not included just go to a pret a manger or other cafes just around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolasjsnelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the rich heritage of our Hotel as well as the high standards of your room. We take pride in every aspect of our Hotel as we want each guest to have a relaxing and comfortable stay with us.

Our room rates are extremely competitive and hence do not include any incrementals such as wifi charges. This gives guests the option to use this facility only if required. Please be assured that our internet charges are in line with other leading hotels in the area.

Breakfast is freshly prepared each morning by our team of highly experienced Chefs. They ensure that a wide variety of dishes is created to suite any palate. We normally receive many compliments regarding this.

We are a stone’s throw from many of London’s major attractions and we are glad that you found our location to convenient.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#64 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#335 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#293 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#421 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#478 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing