We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel. Quiet location but central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #439 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel. Quiet location but central”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently and hotel was lovely. Nice breakfast, polite staff and rooms were clean. Ate a meal in the bar which again was nice. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Lots of restaurants nearby and tube just around the corner. Quiet location and lovely location in Russell Square but central.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank readie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased to learn that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Hotel Russell and our facilities impressed you. I am glad your room was to your liking and you enjoyed the breakfast and dining experience in the Tempus Restaurant and Bar. Thank you for commending our team, I agree they are an asset to the establishment. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again when you next visit London.


Kindest regards,

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    1,433
    859
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,404
334
961
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

My 3rd stay in as many years. Check-in experience was extremely disappointing. My colleague checking in at the same time received a far superior service than myself. I was made to feel my arrival at the hotel was a little inconvenient for the lady checking me in. Although relatively quick, I was not asked for a card to secure additional items during the stay. Consequently, I had to come down after midnight to settle my bar bill, because there was no credit in the room. Complained and was told duty manager would contact me in the morning. No contact and worse still, duty manager unaware if any issue. Although apologetic and offered a bottle of red, disappointed to have returned to my room to receive a 1/4 bottle instead. I honestly would have preferred nothing! The building is magnificent; use the stairs instead of the lift- it's simply wonderful. Bits of the room falling off - in need of considerable renovation. The breakfast was good. All in all, unfortunately the hotel represents poor value for money and I am unable to recommend. If my work was not so close to the Hotel, I would not stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank HHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We value your custom and I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay, in particular check in experience. There are a few new starters in the team and though our team receives numerous compliments for their professionalism, I am sorry this was not the case on this occasion. Nevertheless I assure you the feedback has been reiterated to the team to ensure procedures are followed to avoid any such inconvenience to any of our guests. I apologise that you felt your concerns could have been handled in a better manner, this shall be addressed with relevant Managers. On a positive note I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast experience in our Tempus Restaurant and benefited from the central location of Hotel Russell. I hope this one off experience will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.


Kindest regards,

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at The Russell for a weekend. My single room was not big,but well designed with dark wooden furnitures and a Flat Screen TV. Also an iron for clothes was there....
Bathroom was nice and had a bath tub...
The room was situated to a back yard were engines for the air condition made a permanent noise. The view was therefor not stunning.
The Breakfast room was a nicely decorated old lobby with statues. I liked the variety of Breakfast which was very tasteful. The Staff at reception desk and in the restaurant was professionally and friendly and worked efficient and quick.
2 only complains I have. I think 15 Pounds for 24 hours internet is not very reasonable. Many Hotels offer this for free.
There was staff knocking at my door several times. Once in the afternoon as I just returned home to ask if the cleaning service was okay and at my departure day I was woken up at 8 p.m. by permanent knocking and somebody asking to enter the room. For me this is a bit early for cleaning service as the official checking out time was 11.
But in summary I liked the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Russell in a well appointed room and enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast selection in our Tempus Restaurant. I am so glad that you found our team members helpful and efficient. I have shared your comments with the Executive Housekeeper with regards to the knock on the door by the maid. We encourage guests to use the ‘Quiet time please’ sign should they wish not to be disturbed. I am sorry that the maid knocked on the door in absence of any such sign. However it is unacceptable and I am extremely apologetic for this. The layout of the building left us with the only option of placing the air conditioning unit in the courtyard area. I hope you will have the opportunity to experience a room with a view over Russell Park on your next visit. I assure you our Internet prices are competitive and inline with other similar Hotels in the area. I hope we will get a chance to welcome you back again to Hotel Russell in the near future.


Kindest regards,

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Well situated, but does about it. Expensive, doesn't have free-wifi, small rooms and very poorly isolated, extremely noisy. I ordered room service one night and waited one hour and half.... They took my room number wrong, and didn't even offered my a discount. Very disappointed, i don't think i'll ever come back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Pal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Good location and the building itself is very beautiful.
The staff is friendly. I arrived a bit early, but the room was already prepared. Great breakfast - and even when there were a lot of people, no problems with free spots.

Clean small room, no minibar though and the street is pretty noisy (it was the 2nd floor). Was very surprised that there was tea/coffee, but no water to make it and the staff couldn't even say anything concrete (though wouldn't drink tap water anyway).
The bathroom was one of the largest I've seen.

Wifi costed about £15 for 24 hours, I'm ok with paying for it if it works. The first password wasn't accepted, so better check it right at reception in case you'd need to get another one.
The 'working' wifi was terribly slow! The phone 3g is much faster, so ended up using it.

Room Tip: Pick the back rooms and stay as far from the lift as possible, it's really disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extemporizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The location is good, the rooms are clean but I was a bit surprised that the supposed four star hotel didn't offer any free wi-fi and were a bit stingy with the amenities. The hotel's (PH) website says there is a free 30 minutes wi-fi option available...but, no, not at this location.

Bathroom supplies were a bit sparse and the hallways seemed to be noisy all day and night, but, at least the staff (other than one person at reception who was rather clueless about several things - guessing -hoping, she was new) were very nice, knowledgeable and friendly.

I was there for two nights, for a birthday get-away and they were nice enough to leave a "birthday surprise" in my room...which was very kind and thoughtful.

They seem to be trying very hard to please..but, .I think they have a little way to go.

Overall, not a bad experience, but, I was hoping for a bit more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpbasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from a one night stay at the Russell and found it to meet my needs perfectly. We arrived around 1pm and as checkin isn't till 3 we were able to leave our bags in a locked room which allowed us to go and explore the Capitol without lugging our baggage around.
We were in a twin room on the fifth floor; yes it was small (you could barely turn round in the bathroom) but it was clean & comfortable. The bedding and pillows were soft and luxurious.

All the staff were polite, friendly and ready to assist. We had dinner in the hotel which reasonably priced and served promptly (we were heading out to a show so needed something quick). The food was delicious I can recommend the slow cooked beef. The breakfast was plentiful, and served till midday! We were up and out early so didn't require an extended time for breakfast but had we of been staying another night we may have taken advantage of this.

The nearest tube station is literally just round the corner which we found really handy. I would definitely recommend the Russell and I hope to stay here again for longer in the future.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Denica_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#86 of 1,067 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#344 of 1,067 in London
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#291 of 1,067 in London
790 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#562 of 1,067 in London
1,988 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#418 of 1,067 in London
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing