We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, terrible sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #447 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on a weekday for a course I had in London the following day. Reception was efficient enough. My room was a generous size and had all the comfort I needed. I was disappointed that the hotel did not offer any free wifi in the rooms, I think this is a basic that almost everyone has on their home therefore a hotel of such quality would do itself a favour my investing in this for guests.
The window being very old did not close properly which meant I was woken up on several occasions throughout the night by traffic outside and by a cold breeze coming in through the gap in the window frame.
Bathroom was nice with a good shower. I found the room a little dark for doing make up etc maybe a better positioned mirror or lighting would help.
Breakfast was good with a big selection.
Lovely hotel just a shame about the lack of sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChaDeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Russell in a well appointed, comfortable bedroom and enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast selection offered in our Tempus Restaurant.

I have noted your comments with regards to the bedroom lighting and apologise you did not have a good night’s sleep due to outside London traffic noise. Our team would have done their utmost to rectify the situation with the windows or offer an alternative room if the concern was brought to their attention however I understand it might not have been a suitable option for you at the time.

We have recently upgraded our Internet facilities with a new supplier to high speed wireless in all areas of the Hotel with improved bandwidth. Currently we offer similar pricing should we compare ourselves to the local competition in the area. Free 30 minute access was previously available however in light of comments regarding slow connectivity and limited access, this has been replaced with voucher access that guarantees high speed and reliability.

I look forward to welcome you again to Hotel Russell in the near future.


Kindest regards,

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 3,868 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed one night on business and paid £79 for this hotel - I guess special weekend rate. Stunning building in a great location. My room was a good size, clean and a nice view to the street to the front - a little noisy if you are a light sleeper. Receptionist was OK - a little brusque but efficient. I did not use the restaurant or have breakfast so cant comment - however if you want to avoid the vast cost for a breakfast in the hotel there is a lovely cafe in the park opposite.
All in all, a good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are not double glazed and can become noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to learn that your recent stay at Hotel Russell was enjoyable and the location was perfect as per your requirements.

I am pleased that the team served you efficiently in a professional manner and the bedroom allocated met your expectations. In future we shall make sure you are allocated a room more to your preference as you were concerned on this occasion by outside London Traffic noise. I look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Russell on your next visit to London.


Kindest regards,

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We visit Hotel Russell several times a year. We find it exceptional value for money. Over the years we have stayed at many London hotels but regard the Russell Hotel as being one of the very best we have experienced, if not the best, for comfort, cleanliness, food and above all the friendly and efficient nature of the staff. The receptionists always have a ready smile and spend some time in introducing the hotel to those guests on their first visit. Difficult situations are handled politely and efficiently. The rooms are clean, comfortable and maintained to a high standard during our visit. The breakfasts are very good with a wide variety of food and plenty of it to suit all tastes. The breakfast room staff are very friendly and are able to operate very efficiently during peak times. From time to time we have dined at the hotel when the food is excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haigh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is a delight to learn that you choose Hotel Russell during all your trips to London and we continue to meet all your expectations in terms of standards and facilities offered. We value your custom and hope we will continue to offer the exceptional service that we pride ourselves at to all our guests and will be your preferred choice of Hotels in London for many more years to come.

I look forward to your next stay.

Kindest regards,

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have just arrived at the hotel, here on business until Friday. Vital for that business is access to the internet from the hotel and on reading the confirmation slip indeed it lists internet amongst on offer within the rooms - along with sky TV, tea and coffee making facilities, iron etc. I have arrived at the hotel to be informed 12hrs access is chargeable at £10 which seems very unusual for a hotel that describes itself as luxury - charging for something that is included in the price of much cheaper hotels and on public transport! What is more frustrating is that the confirmation I received is entirely misleading in that it lists internet amongst other inclusive of price services. On approaching reception to flag this - next to a board with 'talkback' scrawled on it and encouraging feedback from guests - I am told it is listed because it is an 'option'. when I politely point out that there are many options such as breakfast in bed, room service etc that come potentially with a charge (as one would likely expect) but these are not listed, but Internet is explicitly listed in a misleading way, I am told there is. Itching that can be done.

There is of course something that can be done - I could pay the £40 required to have a half day access from the comfort of my 'luxury' room to internet that can be found free on public trains, taking total bill for 4days to £602 or I could stand by principles and advise other travellers to find a cheaper hotel that is aligned with modern expectations and provides wifi included in room rate, confirms room descriptions in confirmations clearly and does something about it when a guest advises that something fundamental to the purposes of their visit has been misrepresented.

Before closing, if just like to make it clear I have never posted on this site before or left negative reviews of places in a public forum but felt compelled to write this as I believe firstly, the service here was misrepresented and secondly, because I want the hotel to act on this feedback and provide wifi to guests as other establishments do!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cmack1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you chose to stay at Hotel Russell during your business trip to London. However I am sorry to learn that you are dissatisfied with certain aspects of your stay, in particular Internet charges. I am dismayed that you felt you were misled by the Hotel in room amenity information. I assure you we do not advertise free Internet access either on Principal-Hayley or any other 3rd party booking websites. Internet is listed as a facility available in the bedrooms which the guests can opt to use as per their individual requirements.

The pricing is inline with other Hotels in the area and to keep our room rates competitive, we do not incorporate wi fi prices in our room rates which is a common practice in many other hotels. Free 30 minute access was previously available however in light of comments regarding slow connectivity and limited access, this has been replaced with voucher access that guarantees high speed and reliability.

I am sorry you felt this matter could have been handled more efficiently by our team. Please be assured this has been reiterated to the team and our Senior management team is always available to speak to should you wish to discuss the matter further with them on your departure.



Kindest regards,

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Fast check in / out.
Massive room.
Friendly staff.
Great breakfast selection.
Nice bar area.
Restaurant good value for money...not sure about chips with my starter though?!
Location is superb.
Got this on late rooms.com so only paid £68 for the night. So really can't argue with the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigsy116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to learn that you had a fantastic stay at Hotel Russell and everything was to your satisfaction. I am pleased that the services and facilities offered in all areas of the Hotel met your expectations and you will consider Hotel Russell for your future visits to London.

I look forward to welcome you back again.




Kindest regards,

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lovely hotel, excellent location - very near Russell Square Tube. Don't use the map on their own website though as its totally wrong!
Soho, Oxford Street etc is all walkable. We walked from Kings Cross and it was fine.

Room Tip: Dont get a room looking out over the generators (we were room 146) as they're noisy so earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Russell and its central location was ideal as per your travel requirements. I assure you the map details on Principal-Hayley website are absolutely correct, I am sorry if you felt it was unclear in anyway. However I agree with you, we are a short walking distance to Covent Garden and Euston and King’s Cross stations and a stone’s throw away from major London attractions. I hope you will choose to stay at Hotel Russell on all your future visits to London.


Kindest regards,

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently and hotel was lovely. Nice breakfast, polite staff and rooms were clean. Ate a meal in the bar which again was nice. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Lots of restaurants nearby and tube just around the corner. Quiet location and lovely location in Russell Square but central.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank readie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased to learn that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Hotel Russell and our facilities impressed you. I am glad your room was to your liking and you enjoyed the breakfast and dining experience in the Tempus Restaurant and Bar. Thank you for commending our team, I agree they are an asset to the establishment. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again when you next visit London.


Kindest regards,

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#52 of 1,077 in London
382 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#355 of 1,077 in London
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#389 of 1,077 in London
2,168 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#591 of 1,077 in London
663 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#284 Family Hotel in London
#302 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £228 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Principal London will open in stages throughout the course of this winter, and will fully launch in March 2018. Whilst the final touches are made to some areas, be one of the first guests to experience a sneak preview of the newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Bloomsbury, London’s most literary neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing