We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another lovely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #443 of 1,064 Hotels in London
liverpool
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently for london palladium sho w, Dame Edna ,room 218 rear of hotel was just fine,staff lovely,breakfast great choice,altogether a nice place to stay. My wife and I have visited this hotel three times in the last few years an each time we have been delighted with our stay. Thankyou to all of you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cards091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted that you had a lovely stay with us.

We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that we have achieved this on many occasions for you.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    1,433
    859
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,404
334
961
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We have just had a weekend at the hotel. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The concierge from Kenya is a lovely man. The rooms are good, the Tempus bar is good but not quite enough seats on the Saturday night when we returned to the hotel as it was very busy. The breakfast is excellent. Good choice of cereals, cooked food, cheeses, meats and fruit and yogurts. Again staff are very approachable and helpful. If you are fit and healthy the hotel is in very easy walking distance of most attractions and especially the theatre area. If not there is an underground station nearby.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you and your daughter had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that this was the case for you and your daughter.

Please be assured that your very kind comments have been shared with our team as we strive to create and maintain high standards at our Hotel.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My daughter and I won a night's stay in this hotel. We had a super time. The interior of the hotel is fascinating as the designer also designed the Titanic. The restaurant is nearly identical to that on the ship. We had a really good meal there, for no more than any London restaurant. Our room, a superior twin, was large, clean and with a lovely view over Russell Square.

The hotel is within a 3 minute walk of the British Museum, and in a very good position to get to most places in London, with the Russell Square underground only a minute away.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Thanks to all the staff that made our stay so good. What a beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pianist52549055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you and your daughter had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that this was the case for you and your daughter.

Please be assured that your very kind comments have been shared with our team as we strive to create and maintain high standards at our Hotel.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I stayed stayed here over christmas and had a great stay.the room s we're very clean and spacious.the location is very good only 2 min walk to russell square tube station, Covent garden is only a 10 min walk away.breakfast was very good with a good selection. Will def stay again. The xmas decorations were lovely to!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stubuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted that you had a wonderful Christmas stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and I am so pleased that we had an enjoyable visit as we strive to create and maintain high standards at our Hotel.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Having stayed at this hotel five years ago and enjoyed my stay, I decided to book it again over New Year for my honeymoon. I have to say that the hotel seems to have been neglected over this time and was not up to the standard I was expecting for the money paid. The main problem was the room which was very small and somewhat shabby. This room (number 559) also overlooked the ventilation system of the hotel and was incredibly noisy for 24 hours a day and stopped either of us having any proper sleep. My advice is to check what room you are booking into as some are clearly unacceptable for the money charged. That said, I have marked this 2 out of 5 rather than 1 due to the good standard of service provided by the staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get an inner room that is joined onto the ventilation system or, if you do, tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am so disappointed to read your comments.

I only wish we had known that this was your Honeymoon as we would have made your stay extra special. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to us by family & now we would recommend it ourselves! Great location, lovely breakfast - new year's day it was very busy but we were brought drinks whilst we queued (which wasn't too long). All our requirements were taken care of. The room was very warm & the air con control didn't seem to change this but opening the window cooled it down, but it wasn't too warm for sleeping otherwise it would have been too noisy to sleep with the window open. The room was a good size, all the staff were very friendly & helpful. We look forward to staying here again next time we visit London.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kmj153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We strive to create and maintain high standards and will certainly take your comments on board.

We appreciate you recommendation and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Beautiful hotel and very central. Booked for one night for £89 and was well worth it.
The view from the hotel was amazing - Was over looking a park and i could see the London eye too.
two down falls were the shower was awkward to use and the single glazed windows (could hear the traffic and was on the 7th floor).
I will definitely be staying in this hotel when i return to London

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4kings12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hotel Russell.

I am sorry to learn that you found the London traffic noise a concern. This is usually not a problem at such a high level, however we are glad you enjoyed the amazing view from the 7th floor.

We have a variety of different shower types available for our guests with instructions just below this. I do apologise that you found the shower awkward and will certainly bear this in mind.

I am glad that you enjoyed our beautiful Hotel which is ideally located within walking distance of all transport links and many of London’s major attractions.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#336 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#294 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#424 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#490 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#299 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing