We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misunderstandings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #438 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Misunderstandings”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Impressive building and great location round the corner from Russell Square tube station. Room was nice enough (258), with large bathroom, but room window was frosted glass and wouldn't open which was a problem as the air conditioning didn't seem to be able to cope with the heat in the room.
Finally got to sleep one night when there was a knock on the door about 11.30. It was a member of staff offering me the use of a pair of scissors!!!!
Can't comment on breakfast as we didn't partake but still tried to charge us £39 on departure for two breakfasts we didn't have.
Obviously minor misunderstandings which can happen, but I would probably try another hotel in the same area next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I do apologise for the misunderstanding experienced.

The windows on higher level floors do not open for health and safety reasons. The air conditioner in each room has a setting of 19 degrees and I am sorry if you found this too warm. I only wish you had informed us of this as we would have done our utmost to assist you.

I do also apologise that a member of our team had thought you required a pair of scissors, this was a genuine mistake as they were trying to assist another guest.

We do hope that we may have the opportunity to turn around your experience for you at Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    1,433
    859
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,405
334
961
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a friend and I as we were going to see a show at the Adelphi theatre. Found a brilliant deal for a twin room especially for Central London. The hotel is literally next door to the tube station and there are many restaurants nearby to enjoy. Beds were comfy and room was clean. My only two complaints would be that the room was like sleeping in a sauna!we turned the heating right down but had to open the windows all night. Secondly was a little horrified to have the housekeeping knocking on the door and trying to get in at 08:30 in the morning when check out is not till 11, surely they have a system where they can see who has checked out early?I am glad I locked our door as we were still asleep!would recommend the hotel if you can get it on a deal due to excellent location!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mrsharris14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the comfy beds and our ideal location as we are a stone’s throw away from many of London’s major attractions.

I am sorry to learn that you found the room too warm and only wish you had informed us as we would have done our utmost to assist you.

I do also apologise that you were disturbed in the morning, we do advise guests to use the range of signs behind the door including the ‘Do Not Disturb’, however will certainly take your comments on board.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The exterior of this hotel is very impressive as is the entrance and ground floor, reception good with helpful staff. In places the hotel is a little tired, e.g. ground floor toilets with toilet roll holders hanging off the walls, some furnishing in the room rather warn and very disappointed with the lack of free WiFi that one tends to get in most hotels now. A charge of £14 a day for internet connection seemed rather excessive.

Breakfast good but nothing special, great bar and location are its key features and staff all friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kedwar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are extremely proud of rich heritage and have ensured that this has been well maintained over the years.

We strive to create and maintain high standards at our Hotel and I am sorry that you encountered a loose holder in the bathroom.

We have a mixture of traditional and modern rooms and I am also sorry that you found the traditional furniture not to your liking.

Please be assured that our wifi charges are in line with other leading establishments and we have ensured that this is accessible throughout the hotel for your convenience.

We are glad that you enjoyed the ambiance of our Tempus bar and ideal location.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Booked this hotel for one night on the internet as our party needed a place to stay overnight en route from Heathrow back up to Yorkshire. I was expecting some sort of faded grandeur, so was well impressed by the warm welcome, gorgeous interior, pleasant rooms, sparkling bathrooms, lovely bar, terrific breakfast and obviously cheerful and upbeat clientele.

The interior of the hotel has a beautiful staircase and marbled pillars, which are worth seeing.

The Tempus Bar is a pleasant place to sit and enjoy a beer or snack.

The breakfast is a brilliant buffet breakfast with porridge, cooked breakfast, continental breakfast choices, fruit, juices, and pots of coffee and tea, all served in a stunning Victorian room, with really helpful staff. It makes a good value brunch that will fill you up for most of the day at £12 a head.

We are now thinking of having a long weekend in London and staying at the Hotel Russell, especially as it is relatively close to Covent Garden.

Room Tip: We stayed in 240: nice comfy double room. Slightly small, but that's par for the course in Londo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted that you had a lovely stay with us.

We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently for london palladium sho w, Dame Edna ,room 218 rear of hotel was just fine,staff lovely,breakfast great choice,altogether a nice place to stay. My wife and I have visited this hotel three times in the last few years an each time we have been delighted with our stay. Thankyou to all of you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cards091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted that you had a lovely stay with us.

We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that we have achieved this on many occasions for you.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We have just had a weekend at the hotel. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The concierge from Kenya is a lovely man. The rooms are good, the Tempus bar is good but not quite enough seats on the Saturday night when we returned to the hotel as it was very busy. The breakfast is excellent. Good choice of cereals, cooked food, cheeses, meats and fruit and yogurts. Again staff are very approachable and helpful. If you are fit and healthy the hotel is in very easy walking distance of most attractions and especially the theatre area. If not there is an underground station nearby.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you and your daughter had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that this was the case for you and your daughter.

Please be assured that your very kind comments have been shared with our team as we strive to create and maintain high standards at our Hotel.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My daughter and I won a night's stay in this hotel. We had a super time. The interior of the hotel is fascinating as the designer also designed the Titanic. The restaurant is nearly identical to that on the ship. We had a really good meal there, for no more than any London restaurant. Our room, a superior twin, was large, clean and with a lovely view over Russell Square.

The hotel is within a 3 minute walk of the British Museum, and in a very good position to get to most places in London, with the Russell Square underground only a minute away.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Thanks to all the staff that made our stay so good. What a beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pianist52549055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you and your daughter had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that this was the case for you and your daughter.

Please be assured that your very kind comments have been shared with our team as we strive to create and maintain high standards at our Hotel.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#73 of 1,088 in London
339 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#337 of 1,088 in London
2,012 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#286 of 1,088 in London
776 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#409 of 1,088 in London
977 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#462 of 1,088 in London
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#300 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing