We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and stunning building but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #434 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location and stunning building but not perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is really well located for theatre district, British Museum and lots to do in walking distance. The tube station is just round the corner. The hotel is enormous and the public areas are incredible. Staff are warm and welcoming so any stay is comfortable. The negative is that the building is a shadow of its glorious past and rooms and amenities are compromised as a result. The rooms as portrayed on the website are as luxurious but in reality they can be a bit more spartan than one might be expecting. That being said it is a great location and good value too.

Room Tip: An external view beats the light well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgowboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your location as we are a stone’s throw away from many of London’s major attractions and transport links.

Our team endeavour to make each guest feel as welcome and comfortable as possible. We also pride ourselves on our high standards and ensure that our Hotel is exceptionally clean.

I am sorry to learn that you feel that your room was not as luxurious as you had envisioned. We have a variety of rooms available, each with has been individually decorated to enhance the charm and style of the room.

Each room has amenities which we believe will ensure our guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay. I only wish you had informed us of any requests that you may have had as we would have done our utmost to accommodate you.

I am delighted that you found our Hotel to be of good value and in an ideal location. I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    1,433
    859
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,405
334
961
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

this is a lovely hotel ,the best looking one in the area .plenty of things to do within walking distance .loads of pubs ( which we found ) .rooms very nice-well our one was ,the breakfast would have been great for someone without a hangover , but i somehow had one .the only problem we found was that the whole place was so hot ,even with the window in the room open.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are ideally located as we are within walking distance of many of London’s major attractions and transport links. I am pleased that you found this beneficial during your stay.

Breakfast is extremely popular and our team of Chefs prepare this freshly each morning for our guests.

Each room is equipped with an air conditioner to allow guest to set this to their own optimum temperature. The coolest temperature is 19 degrees and I am sorry that this was too warm for you. I only wish you had informed us as we would have done our utmost to assist you.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We chose this hotel for its location and were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. It's really easy to get to by tube or bus, and a large chunk of the capital is within easy walking distance. We booked a standard room which was perfectly good for us, and quiet enough (even given its location) to ensure a decent night's sleep. Breakfast was really good, with plenty of choice and impressive quality. Will certainly consider booking there again; at under £90 a night it was very good value for central London.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

We do appreciate your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We are extremely well located as we are within walking distance of many of London’s major attractions as well as transport links. I am pleased that you found our location ideal during your stay with is.

I am glad that you had a good night’s sleep and enjoyable breakfast as we endeavour to ensure that each guests is as comfortable and relaxed as possible during their visit.
We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in Feb and it was fine - we had booked well in advance thru their website so we got a discount on the booking, free breakfast and free wifi (hint - look on their site before you book as you may get a better deal). The room itself was fine, spacious & had decent amenities. The negative was the wifi - the signal in our room was super spotty and we had to sign in each day. All that being said - super central, pretty close to many diff tube stops and the British Museum.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you had booked via our website and received a great promotional offer as we endeavour to provide a competitive rate for our guests.

I am glad that you enjoyed both the spaciousness of your room and the amenities as we endeavour to ensure each of our guests is as comfortable and relaxed as possible during their stay with us.

I am sorry to read that you encountered some difficulty with the wifi in your room. Each area of the hotel has a wifi point which is regular checked to ensure a strong signal and I will certainly take your comments on board. Wifi is refreshed each day and hence your username and password would need to used to login on a daily basis.

I am happy that you enjoyed both our location and rooms at Hotel Russell. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I booked the hotel as any London hotels at a reasonable rate where at a premium due to the Six Nations being on. I was very impressed with the location as Russell Square is very peaceful and very well located for Soho/Bloomsbury.

The hotel communal areas are very impressible as is the entire building. The bar area is very comfortable, so this would be ideal if a group was staying.

We had breakfast included in the rate and I must say it was very good indeed in a very pleasant setting.

Overall I good quality hotel at a very reasonable price or central London and a real pleasure to stay in such a historical building.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We pride ourselves on our high standards and endeavour to ensure each guest has a memorable stay with us.

We understand that guests want to relax whilst staying with us and hence have an impressive lobby area and comfortable Tempus Bar and Lounge. I am glad that you enjoyed this.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Check in was efficient and staff pleasant. I managed to check in an hour earlier than the stated check in which was a bonus. Location is excellent, tube station 3 mins walk away on Piccadilly line and british museum a 5 min walk. At £130 room only for a single it's not cheap but then again, it's central London!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank NeoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us.

We understand that guests may arrive earlier than anticipated and our team do their utmost to ensure that your room is ready as soon as possible for you.

We are ideally located as we are a stone’s throw from many of London’s major attractions and transport links and I am glad that you found our location so beneficial.

Please be assured that our rates are extremely competitive and we endeavour to ensure that each room is extremely comfortable and relaxing for our guests.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I agree with many of the reviews on this site, the staff and location were excellent but the rooms were very average. My room was really noisy, both from traffic outside and from the corridor. It was really due to the fact that the room was old. The bed was fairly comfortable, but not as the same standard as you might get from the westin. Unfortunately the room didn’t have a fridge which I always find helpful. However the rooms were a very good size. It’s a shame that the hotel doesn’t have any fitness facilities and couldn’t recommend a pool. I found a local one myself. The hotel is very conveniently located round the corner from Russell square tube station, tesco and pret.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your review on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased to read that you found the service provided by our team excellent as we strive to create a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere for all of our guests.

I am sorry that you found your room noisy due to the central London traffic and the corridor. Usually our guest are extremely quiet, however I am sorry for any disturbance caused and I will certainly bear your comments in mind.

We have a lovely mixture of both traditional and modern rooms for our guests and I am also sorry that your room was not your preference. I only wish you had informed us as we would have gladly shown you a section of modern rooms.

Our team can provide you with the location of the nearest fitness facilities and day passes can be purchased from our Reception. I am pleased that you were able to locate a pool within the area.

We are ideally located and I am glad that you found our location so beneficial during your stay with us.

I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#89 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#341 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#295 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#412 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#467 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#294 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing