We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel on Piccadilly line one block from British Museum. We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #439 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Sandy Hook, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel on Piccadilly line one block from British Museum. We'll be back!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I chose the Hotel Russell because I love opulent old hotels, but there are three other reasons to recommend the Russell. A tube station for the Piccadilly line (has all the most famous attractions) is right around the corner, it is a block from the British Museum, and leafy Russell Square Park is across the street.

After reading through the many varied reviews on this site, and looking at the somewhat confusing hotel website, I decided to communicate directly with the hotel to make sure I would get a room I would like. We stayed in a second floor "Victorian" junior suite, room 136, The Queen Mary, with large windows looking out over pretty Russell Square park. I'm not sure why our room was a "suite" (it didn't have a separate living room) but it was nicely decorated and roomy, with high ceilings, king bed, desk, two comfortable overstuffed chairs facing a marble fireplace and a large flat screen TV. The bathroom was updated with a great tub/shower and marble tiled floor, although the glass surround allowed water to spray and leak onto the floor. (I didn't complain because it wasn't that big a deal to us). There are 2 decorating schemes for the rooms: Modern vs "Victorian". The second floor has Victorian suites like ours. It was a great room, and we looked forward to coming back to it at the end of each day.

Because I booked directly with the hotel we had free internet, which worked without problems. We appreciated the complimentary breakfast buffet. From the reviews, there do appear to be some rooms that are shabbier than others, but we had no complaints about ours. We paid 1300 pounds for 7 days. The staff was great, and bent over backward to meet our needs. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and speak to the property manager. There do appear to be rooms to avoid. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highrock53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We are ideally located as we are a stone’s throw away from many of London’s major attractions and transport links. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our ideal location.

I am sorry that you found our website slightly confusing as we have endeavoured to make our site as user friendly as possible. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

The Queen Mary Suite has been named after the Queen Mary statue which is situated just outside your room. It is an extremely spacious room which has captured the style and grandeur of our Hotel.

We do also have a modern selection of rooms available for our guests should they wish to experience this style of room.

All of our direct bookings include complimentary wifi and I am glad that this was beneficial to you during your stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your full English breakfast buffet and the exceptional standards provided with our team as we endeavour to create a memorable relaxing stay for each of our guests.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    1,433
    859
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,404
334
961
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I am the type of traveller who normally books into a Premier Inn or a Travel Lodge, so maybe my review is a little biased!

I stayed in this hotel at a discount after finding a knockdown price on the internet (same price or even less than a Premier Inn).

I was completely bowled over. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous - a massive, imposing building with a marble-clad lobby, chandeliers, sweeping staircase, everything. The staff are courteous and polite, and although I didn't use anything beyond the room, there was a lot of extra stuff (currency exchange, concierge, wake up calls etc).

Corridors are wide and spacious and tastefully traditionally decorated, as was the room I stayed in. Of course, because I got it cheap the view wasn't anything special (internal courtyard!) but the room itself was really lovely - mahogany finished, everything so pristine and well done. The bathroom was immaculate right down the last detail.

The location of the hotel is brilliant. Russell Square is literally a 2 min walk from the British Museum, the square itself is very pleasant with a large, square public garden in the middle and Georgian architecture all around and an Underground station just round the corner (even the exterior for this was architecturally pleasing!) on the Piccadilly line just 2 or 3 stops away from Piccadilly Circus.
The neighbourhood it's in is very plush and is a pleasure to walk through. I walked back from a evening at the theatre in Covent Garden and entering the neighbourhood it felt like I was walking the streets of Sherlock Holmes's London or some other period novel. The area is so tranquil and clean and with some really lovely architecture.

I fear at normal prices I wouldn't normally be able to stay there, but if there are discounts available I wouldn't hesitate to stay there in the future. It was an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmytraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for review. We are absolutely delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We pride ourselves on our high standards and ensure that each of our guests has a relaxing and comfortable stay.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Both check in & check out was efficient and friendly.
Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. Facilities included TV, Coffee & Tea making facilities, ironing board & iron and hair dryer. Bathroom not large but the shower cubicle was a double and the shower was powerful. No noise was heard from inside the hotel only from the road outside.
We went to breakfast at 7.30am both days and there were no queues. Good choice of food and the service was good.
Food in the Tempus Bar was very good but expensive for the size of portions. Drinks also expensive we paid £30 for 2 double brandies.
Hotel location is good as there were lots of restaurants nearby. The tube station is just around the corner so it was easy to get to all the sights of London. There was also a Tesco express opposite the tube station which was handy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hotel Russell.

Our team endeavour to create a memorable experience for all of our guests and ensure that you have a relaxing visit with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your room, especially the powerful shower and quietness of your room as we do want our guests to be comfortable throughout their stay.

Breakfast is freshly prepared by our team of Chefs who create a variety of dishes to suit any palate, I am pleased that you enjoyed this also.

All of our Tempus Bar dishes are also freshly made to order and please be assured that beverage prices are in line with other leading establishments. I am glad that you enjoyed your food.

We are ideally located and I am so pleased that you found this beneficial during your stay with us. I do hoe that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Originally, booked for 2 nights, 12th and 13th April 2014 for the London marathon, change of plans required an extra night for the Friday for which I received a discount. Hotel reception was very efficient, single room was on the sixth floor and had been refurbished and more than adequate. Hotel seemed to be busy but it was marathon week end and there was a wait of about 10 minutes for breakfast on Saturday morning which I believe in the circumstances is acceptable.
Sunday morning the restaurant opened at 6.15am for runners, and they probably served the best porridge I've ever had in a hotel, I think in general there could be a little more variety in fresh food-fruit, cheeses, bread etc. but on the whole the level of food on offer was good. The hotel is situated opposite Russell Gardens which is a nice place to relax, it's about 2 minutes walk from the underground, approx. 15 minutes walk from Euston/Kings Cross etc. and centrally located for many of the sites in London, there's also a wide range of eateries nearby and a Tesco round the corner, yes I would definitely stay there again. Btw, there's an excellent Italian restaurant about 300 metres away-the Verdi, turn left out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, the higher the better (7 floors).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We receive many compliments regarding our porridge and I have to agree it is the best porridge I have ever tasted. I am also pleased that you had the opportunity to experience this. We opened earlier than normal to ensure that all of our marathon runners were energised and ready for the race.

We have a wide variety of dishes available for our guests each morning, however we will certainly take your comments on board.

I am glad that you enjoyed your ideal location as we are a stone’s throw from many of London’s major attractions and transport links.

I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It is my second time at this hotel in the last 4 years and I can confirm that this hotel keeps all qualities I found 4 years ago. Professional staff, nice rooms, very well located with a fair daily rate.
I will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are so delighted that you had lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell yet again.

We genuinely pride ourselves on our high standards and ensure that all of our guests have a memorable, relaxing stay with us.

I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell for your third in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Thankfully just a one night stay because our 7th floor 'executive' room sprang a leak in the heavy weather and the hotel were prompt and courteous in kind offering to move us but either a room with bed too small for my 6'5" partner or one that backed onto an industrial vent. I reluctantly went for the latter and was offered a complimentary breakfast but I just want to leave as I can't even get a nap before going out later tonight. Concierge was patronising telling us these issues are to be expected with grand London hotels. Looking around it's more accurate to say they're to be expected when backlog maintenance isn't addressed. Really unhappy and this is a group I've previously given a lot of business to in organising work events.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank charlieksays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your stay with us.

Please be assured that we strive to create and maintain high standards at Hotel Russell.
I can personally assure you that our Maintenance team ensure that all maintenance concerns are addressed as soon as possible.

I do apologise for the disappointment experienced with your new room nevertheless, please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

Our Concierge team are well known for their friendliness and helpfulness. I am sorry that you felt that the information provided was patronising and I can genuinely assure you that his intention was to provide you with assistance.

I understand that you have now made us aware of your concerns upon your departure. I do hope that you accept our offer provided to you in the goodwill spirit that it is intended.

I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here one night with friends, found the deal whilst booking theatre ticket package.
A marvelous old style building, with similar decor in the grand reception, staircase and Tempus bar.
Room rather basic, and an old fashioned bathroom, but an incredibly comfortable bed and pretty quiet considering it is on Russell Square.
The tube is literally around the corner, and it was an easy 10 minute walk home from the West End, and very safe area too. A nightcap in the Tempus bar with its opulent decor and leather settees was also a bonus.
A bit busy for breakfast, queuing to get in, and a nice spread of continental and cooked (but perplexed by the tiny plates!).
I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for you review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell.

We are extremely proud of our rich heritage and I am so pleased that your enjoyed our marvelous establishment.

We have a variety of rooms for our guests, and each room has been individually decorated to enhance the charm of the room. I am glad that you enjoyed the incredibly comfortable bed and quietness of your room. We endeavour to create a memorable and relaxing stay for each of our guests.

We are ideally located as we are within walking distance to many of London’s major attractions and transport links. It is a very well known and safe area and I am also pleased that you found our location so convenient.

Our Tempus Bar has captured the richness and grandeur of our Hotel and I am happy that you had the opportunity to experience this.

Our breakfast is extremely popular as our team of Chefs create a variety of fresh dishes each morning to tantalise your palate. The large plates are used for usually used for the hot items, whilst the smaller plates are for normally used for breads, pastries and fruits. We also have bowls if preferred.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you to Hotel Russell in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Bart Luijk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#86 of 1,067 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#344 of 1,067 in London
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#291 of 1,067 in London
790 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#562 of 1,067 in London
1,988 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#418 of 1,067 in London
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing