We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #447 of 1,069 Hotels in London
England
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After booking I did read a few negative reviews on TP.But I'd already paid(special offer).

But on arriving our worries vanished immediately.We were booked in by a pleasant young man,and it only took 3 minutes and we were off to our room(7th floor-701)what a really nice room(suite)good size,large bathroom.no bath but large walk in shower(shelves please for toileteries?)We overlooked the central area/courtyard,windows open but with secondary glazing.

Noise of air con/ventilation units could be obtrusive,but glazing kept out 80% of the noise.

Tea and coffee making bits and bobs,room safe,plenty of towels,large screen tv.Comfortable bed.We were just surprised what value we had stumbled across,almost to good to be true.

Never dined in apart from breakfast which was also included in offer.And breakfast was really good everything you could wish for a good hearty English or quick continental breakfast.

Very well mannered staff,very helpful and polite nothing too much trouble a delight really.

Had drinks every night in the bar,again staff very polite and anxious to serve.

Location of hotel is 10 minutes walk from Euston station.About 20/25 mins from Covent Garden and 30 minutes from the Thames(Embankment,H of P,Westminster Abbey)

Nice relaxing gardens and cafe just across the road from hotel.

From our visit and opinion we would glady recommend this hotel for your stay in london.

Room Tip: Book a suite as they are large and not overly expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shroppiefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.


Hosting a multitude of people from all over the world from different cultures, environments and all with unique requirements, we try our utmost to ensure that each and every guest enjoys their stay at Hotel Russell. I am so pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and not only you will visit us again but also recommend us to family and friends. Thank you !

I am glad that you did found our team members helpful and breakfast selection delicious. I will be sure to also mention to our Housekeepers that you found your room facilities well appointed, clean and up to the high standards that we pride ourselves at Hotel Russell.

We have received so much glowing feedback regarding our beautiful building and it is a delight to learn that you were also impressed by the magnificent architecture.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we always look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Russell

Kind regards,

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    1,433
    859
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,404
334
961
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We (wife and I) stayed here for two nights in June 2014. Although I knew we had booked a superior room, we were both pleasantly surprised at the large size of the room when we first walked in. Plenty of room to open all 3 of our suitcases, pull everything out and re-organise our stuff before flying home to Australia. Even with everything strewn about the place, there was still plenty of room to walk around. The bathroom was modern and clean, and the shower was just awesome.

The lobby and staircase were beautiful, and the outside of the hotel was just stunning. The tube being just around the corner was very handy since we only had to walk about 50m then could relax all the way to Heathrow. If you are a walker then you will comfortably reach anything from Russell Square, if not then the tube is right behind the hotel. There are also plenty of good pubs, cafes and restaurants close by.

The breakfast was good, though if it is not included in your room rate I would definitely recommend going somewhere else close by, as 20 quid per person is waaay too much for a breakfast! Also, one hour of free wifi at a time is a little stingy in this day and age, but it enables you to get any online banking etc done.They would be my only complaints - otherwise, we were very happy here and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,



Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us. It is pleasing to note that our location was ideal for you and you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Russell.



We have received so much glowing feedback regarding the rich decorative style and architecture of our building and I am sure you will agree this is a statement piece of Victorian grandeur which was on an epic scale for both its time and even to this day.



We are happy to read that our rooms are spacious, pleasant and welcoming . It is very refreshing to read that the core components of your stay were excellent!



Thank you for commending the team and the standards offered as we are indeed passionate about our service and quality at Hotel Russell.



Please be assured that our pricing is inline with other leading hotels in the area, however I am sorry if you felt it was expensive.



We are constantly seeking feedback from our guests, and therefore, the comments and feedback that you kindly shared in your review, are indeed appreciated and will be used to review for future improvements.

We always look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Russell.

Kind regards,

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The fantastic stair gives a feeling of royality - it´s a honor to have breakfast in the beatiful restaurang. The breafast is very rich and fresh including the most typical english dishes as bacon, eggs, beans, sausages served with juice and high classic sorts of tea.
Don´t forget to enjoy the Afternoon tea in the magnific bar!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay . I will be sure to mention to our teams that you found our Hotel facilities well appointed, clean and up to the high standards that we pride ourselves at Hotel Russell.

We have received so much glowing feedback regarding our beautiful building and it is a delight to learn that you were also impressed by the magnificent architecture.

It will be a highlight for me to share your comments with our Breakfast teams as they all work very hard to carefully prepare the dishes using the freshest of produce, to suite every palate.

I thank you again for your comments and I hope you will consider visiting us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A beautiful, classy hotel, with marble and chandeliers aplenty. Our room was excellent, with a large, very comfortable bed. The staff were very attentive at all times? We only had breakfast, which was buffet style, but there was a wide choice and the food was good. Service from the staff was very efficient and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAUREEN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us.

It is with great pleasure I learn that your stay was overall enjoyable. Thank you for your very kind comments as we are very proud of the rich heritage of our hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed it.


Thank you for commending the team and the standards offered as we are indeed passionate about our service and quality at Hotel Russell.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again on your next trip to London.

Kind regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After the website making a mistake they would not change a wrongly booked date, and were very awkward. However I needed this hotel so I booked again and was very disappointed. Room was too dark and barely cleaned, I found pubic hair in my bed! I arrived at 2:30pm to check in and they said I wasn't allowed in my room until 4pm (despite the website saying 2pm) and was stuck waiting around that area. I was in a rush the next morning and the breakfast cost a lot for what it was, and was almost cold. The building is very beautiful but everything else was a complete let down.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Elliott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to learn of your disappointment.
As per the terms and conditions of your booking we regrettably could not change your dates on such short notice. If we had the availability we would have certainly done our utmost to assist you.

I am dismayed to read your comments and can personally assure that you that this is not the high standards which we pride ourselves in. I only wish you had informed us of your concerns at the time as we would have done our utmost to rectify this for you. Nevertheless please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

Please do contact our Guest Relations Executive, Bebita Dhaya at bebita.dhaya@principal-hayley.com as we would like the opportunity to turn around your experience for you and provide you with the exceptional standards which we are so well known for at Hotel Russell.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel Russell is located at a very convenient and safe location. Metro station is just a stone throw away. The building is very nice but the room is quite old and dark. But my husband and I had a very nice stay. Price is a little bit high but I think it is normal for a London hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaiy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Iconic building and the location of a Hotel Russell is ideal if you want to walk easily to Covent Garden, Oxford Street and all central London locations, the staff were very friendly, breakfast was ok but I was disappointed with my room for a 4 star, the bathroom was great but the bedroom although has good standard of cleanliness it felt a little dated. I'd definitely stay again for work because of location, but manage expectations on the room decor.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loubeeloubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#62 of 1,069 in London
364 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#573 of 1,069 in London
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#298 of 1,069 in London
809 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#438 of 1,069 in London
1,045 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#362 of 1,069 in London
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#301 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing