We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Principal London
Ranked #433 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs Updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, fantastic marble staircase. The room was definitely smaller than expected, but looked clean. Very long walk from lift to room. Unfortunately the bed was awful - old, creaky, uncomfortable. Really needs an update. Not sure I'd bother staying here again as Bloomsbury has lots of hotels with better rooms than this at similar prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    1,433
    859
    390
    233
See reviews for
475
1,405
334
961
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Firstly, if you seek a hotel provides continuous WIFI, this is not your choice. You can only use internet for 1 hr in every 4 hrs. Not to mention the terrible bandwidth of 80 kbps. I think this ruined my stay.
The location is really good. Right by Russell Square tube station, this hotel locates in the middle of stores and restaurants. You only need to spend 5 mins' walking from here to the British Museum. The park of Russell Square is right outside your front door. You can enjoy an after-dinner walk with friends or family.
All in all, great location, terrible wifi!

Room Tip: All rooms here are really nice! Book in advance if you don't want to pay 400 pounds for a room p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Russell from the 19th to the 21st of July and on arrival we were hit with the "OMG" factor. This very old hotel is beautiful. From the ornate grand staircase to the bar/ loung area this place exudes old time elegance. The room was a comfortable size not too snall, tea and coffee facilities supplied were a huge bonus after a long day being a tourist. The room also included iron, iron board 40inch lcd and safe and a Bath...Bonus!! (After travelling from Paris)

The water pressure for showering was excellent with a modern-day system.

All in all we had a brilliant short stay in London made all the nicer by coming "home" to this hotel and its friendly staff each day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jashanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Myself and my boyfriend went to this hotel 20/07/14 to the 21/07/14. After upgrading our room to a suite we then went up to our room, which completely took our breath away. We stayed in the queen Elizabeth suite and it was stunning. the queen size four poster bed was so so comfortable it was easily the best hotel i have ever stayed in in London by far! All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and the location was brilliant, just a quick walk across russell square and you're practically on Oxford street and literally round the corner from Euston station. We didn't eat at the hotel due to us having reservations at other restaurants however if we were to stay here again we definitely would have a meal, the restaurant looked and smelt lovely. This trip to London was a present from my boyfriend for my Birthday, and after we had checked into our room and gone up to drop off our bags we had a knock on the door off room service with a small selection of cakes and 'happy birthday' written on the plate in a sauce, which was absolutely lovely and very kind of the staff. We will definitely be staying here again, and I am also sending my parents for a night here in August, thank you Hotel Russell.

Room Tip: The suites are so worth the price, they all face the outside of the hotel rather than the inside giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-Upon-Avon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed jn this hotel for the weekend to catch up with friends in London and to go to the theatre. It's conveniently located near a beautiful park and although it doesn't provide parking, , there's a NCP carpark next door which is quite reasonable if you're staying long.
The room I had was a double room which was an upgrade with a good discount. It had the view of the park . The room was spacious, very clean and the bathroom was spotless. It was great to have air conditioning since the temperature was 26 C.
Travelling around is easy with the underground just around the corner of the hotel. Check in and check out was efficient , thorough, and friendly.
I will definitely go back to this hotel. The architecture of th the building is fabulous. I only
regret that I missed out on the bronze dragon, called Lucky George on the second floor . It's the twin of the same dragon that sunk with the Titanic in the Atlantic .Maybe I'll be seeing it next time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marichu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our ideal location and we have also created a discounted rate for our guests with the car park.
We genuinely endeavour to meet all of our guest requirements and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the rich heritage of our building.

I do hope upon your next visit to Hotel Russell you may have the opportunity to meet George our lucky dragon he does certainly provide us with luck.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmullet Co Mayo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed in the Hotel Russell and had a really great stay. The reception staff were friendly, professional and efficient. The room itself was quite large. It would be unkind to say that the room was tired because the hotel has a certain old world charm that means a slightly worn carpet and peeling wallpaper only add to the experience. The room was clean and well appointed. The public areas are very elegant and feel welcoming and luxurious. I did not dine here so I cannot comment on that. WiFi is available but at a cost. The location is excellent. Russel Square tube is just around the corner and for the fitter guest many attraction can be reached on foot with a little walking. Plenty of buses around too. Stay here sometime. I don't think you will regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat Caff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you had a great stay with us. We genuinely want all of our guest to have a memorable and relaxing visit.
I am glad that you enjoyed our ideal location as we are a stone’s throw from many of London’s major attractions and transport links.

We are currently planning our refurbishment programme and will certainly take your comments on board.

We appreciate your recommendation and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have spent my last business trip in London in this hotel and I cannot complain. It is situated in a great area, the staff is very professional and nice. The room was fine, clean (not so quite, there was a kind of noise all the time but I was able to sleep, so I did not care in the end) and big enough for a business traveler who use the room just for sleeping. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a enjoyable stay with us at Hotel Russell.
We are ideally located as we are within walking distance of many great attractions and transport links.
I am sorry for the noise you encountered, however pleased that this was not a disturbance to you.

We appreciate your recommendation and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell upon your next visit to London.

Kindest regards

Julie Hammond
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#336 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#287 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#413 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#466 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Principal London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Principal London

Property: The Principal London
Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing