We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second stay ... still impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mandeville Hotel
Ranked #160 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is my second stay and i chose to stay here although i have a similar rate in other 5 star brands .... i asked upon check in to get my previous room and boom i got it in less than 10 minutes.

The room size , color , bathroom and view of the room was very good and convenient . Location is fantastic steps from middle of Bond street.

Still my favorite hotel on a weekend in London ... well done!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amr a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The place has got a very nice bar and lounge for cocktails and afternoon tea served in a nice bone china set. They also have gentlemen tea wich is more meaty;) downstairs the red room is available for private parties. Very central, not crowded and not so much expencive!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank sciopina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Prior to booking I read all the reviews here and so when I booked I crossed my fingers that I would not have the negative experience that several of the posters had. I also booked through a site that provided me with a free upgrade, continental breakfast, early check-in, late check-out, so I was incredibly pleased when the hotel honored all of these extras that came along with my booking. All of the hotel staff was friendly and pleasant to interact with - from the front desk to the bellman to the restaurant staff. I asked for a room on a higher floor away from the busy street and was pleased with both my room and its placement in the hotel. No issues with noise from the street. Room was a good size (especially for central London), bed and pillows very comfortable, and I was impressed with how clean the room was overall. Nice powerful air conditioning, TV with somewhat limited but enough channels, wifi was not fast but not as slow as some of the other reviewers made it sound. Perhaps my room placement had something to do with my not having issues with wifi speed. Really enjoyed having a Nespresso maker in-room - as an American I was not bothered by the lack of in-room tea. Continental breakfast was nicely done with all of your standard items, though in all honesty I would not have paid for it if it did not come as part of my rate. Hotel location is absolutely wonderful!!!! Bond Street tube is a few minutes walk away, so many delightful restaurants, coffee shops, shops nearby. I will definitely consider staying here again upon my next trip to London!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was staying for two nights for a business trip and it is all about location location location. The hotel is clean, staff is competent and helpful and the place hits all the basic marks for a 4 star location. Breakfast was above mediocre but nothing great. Good service though.

Staying on the second floor there was a lot of noice from the hall way. Better sound insulation to the door would be much apperciated.

The beds could be better, I was staying in a single room, and the mattress was crushed or otherwise poor. when you turn to the side, the bed does not give proper support. Also there is no Iron or board in the room, I had to ask for those. What I got was a 19th century clunker but it did the job.

The free wireless was on occation unbelievably slow and for some reason the wired connection cost 20 pounds a day. I would have apperciated also better tv channel coverage.

I would not choose this place with my own money, but for business it does the job.

Room Tip: take a room in a higher floor away from the elevators to avoid noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hughman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

"Room very small and Front of House staff grumpy and unfriendly. Good service in the Restaurant and Bar, even if I did not have any cocktail. Breakfast can be really busy but staff is attentive and courteous. I had Egg Royale and the Hollandsise sauce was delicate and the egg was almost perfect although a bit runny. However, the manager was always around making sure everyone was looked after. Definitely a central location, good quality food and excellent service.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank siymonad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stay here when in town on business. International clientele well-served by attentive staff in lounge, restaurant, and front desk. Rooms can be tight depending on where you are in the hotel. The location is great. Many things within easy walking distance. About a 9 GBP cab fare from Paddington.

Room Tip: Rooms that front on Mandeville place are roomy, but lower floors are noisy - traffic all night. Bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoIberostarFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights on a summer sale rate, continental breakfast and free Wifi included. Bread, croissants, various pastries, toast on demand, fruit, cerials, juice, tea and coffee. We had a fairly large twin room facing inwards which offered quiet nights. Otherwise you don't go to London to enjoy a large hotelroom! Sockets for both UK users and for the rest of Europe. Safe, hairdryer, minibar, toiletries like schampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion. Wonderful staff and perfect cleaning. What more can one ask for?

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sommarcatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#70 of 1,077 in London
3,663 reviews
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,077 in London
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#633 of 1,077 in London
1,187 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#95 of 1,077 in London
1,872 reviews
Marylebone
Durrants Hotel
Durrants Hotel
#546 of 1,077 in London
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandeville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandeville Hotel

Address: Mandeville Place, London W1U 2BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
#235 Family Hotel in London
#264 Business Hotel in London
#319 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £156 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mandeville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Marylebone, The Mandeville Hotel provides the perfect venue for every occasion. The luxurious bedrooms offer style and comfort whilst bar and restaurant at Reform Social & Grill make The Mandeville Hotel London's premier address for food, drink and luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mandeville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandeville Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing