We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value, especially the location.”
Review of Blandford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blandford Hotel
Ranked #427 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 12 July 2011

You've got to keep things in perspective in places like London.

The hotel scene is very problematic. It's expensive to stay in the centre and standards are below par (kind of like Paris).

We've had several disappointing stays in London recently and this was the first good experience in a while. We will definitely return.

The room (#20) was small but superb, very quiet.

The staff was very attentive, and as you can tell from the way they respond to criticisms on this website, they really care about getting it right.

The location is AMAZING, the best part of the hotel.

We were unlucky with weather and got caught in the rain well after checking out, and returned and worked in the lobby, which is very comfortable with free tea and coffee.

The one bad thing: the person on the phone gave me wrong walking directions from Baker Street so that was frustrating, but otherwise it was a great stay.

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room #20 is excellent, quiet and in a corner. Try to ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IvanCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, General Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear valued guest – we are pleased to read of your positive experience at The Blandford, and are glad that our staff and location have once again combined well to make your stay an enjoyable experience. We also would like to say sorry for the wrong directions given to you by our staff and have taken steps to ensure that all our future customers are given the correct directions to the hotel. Unfortunately we do not have any control over your next point – the weather! However our location affords a number of lovely restaurants and shopping areas to keep you busy indoors in case it’s raining. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in June 2011. The desk staff was one of the most gracious I've ever experienced. The room was quiet and comfortable and had recently been redecorated, and it was very pleasant. It was exactly what I was looking for when I made the reservations. It was a short walk to locations like Regents Park and Oxford street, and even locations like the London Zoo and the British Museum were in a reasonable walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicago_traveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, General Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Dear valued guest – thank you very much for your positive review on The Blandford. Our staff and location have once again combined very well to ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay whilst with us. The Blandford rooms were fully redecorated in April 2011 and so are very fresh and “new”.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here in June. Overall the staff were great, rooms were nice and breakfast was good too. The only thing that is negative is when I went to make myself a cup of tea, the saucer and spoon were covered in what looked like yoghurt. They obvoiusly hadn't checked that the cutlery was clean and assumed because the tea cups were still in their original position that they hadn't been used by the people staying there before us. Which then made me check everything. Its a shame cause its a great hotel , but that let it down for me.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, General Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Dear valued guest – thank you very much for your review on The Blandford. We are very sorry to learn about the cutlery in your room and have already taken steps to ensure this will not be repeated. We are otherwise happy to note that you were happy with all the others aspects of The Blandford during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We (two adults and a 3 year old child) stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. It was a great trip with a friendly staff and a great hotel room.
Both the bathroom and the bedroom had a good size, and we really liked the near distances to most of the sights in London.
We will for sure come back to the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjank42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, General Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear valued guest

Firstly we thank you for posting a review on The Byron. We at The Blandford are so thrilled that your had a wonderful stay with us. Our location and interior designed rooms are very popular with our guests, and along with our staff form part of our greatest assets.

We look forward to receiving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Great hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Had a room facing the street but was very quiet. The location is excellent: tube station at the top of the street & a short stroll to Oxford Street. I would definitely return to the Blandford!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klompen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, General Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear valued guest

Firstly we thank you for posting a review on The Byron. Once again our staff and location have ensured that our customers have a very enjoyable stay. Your favourable comments have been passed onto our staff at The Blandford and they look forward to receiving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Had an enjoyable two-night stay at this fairly small hotel. Conveniently located near the Baker Street tube station. Hotel staff was top-notch in terms of welcoming us, patiently answering questions, etc. The breakfast (both hot and cold food) was outstanding. Not a lot of restaurants in the area, but we found a couple good places to eat dinner near the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlephdpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, General Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear valued guest

Firstly we thank you for posting a review on The Byron. Once again our staff and location have ensured that our customers have a very enjoyable stay. Your favourable comments have been passed onto our staff at The Blandford. The Baker Street area is blessed with some of the best restaurants in the country and we are sorry to read that you were unable to take advantage of these.

We look forward to serving you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The impression you get from the web-site is much better, than the one you get when you arrive. On the web it looks like it's close to being luxurious, however it's very small - the rooms and the dining hall as well (tho the breakfast was nice). Besides (and it made me furious) they claim they have WiFi in every room, well they do, they just don't tell you that you have to pay extra for it.

We had a twin en-suite and the room was very small, tiny I would say, totally unsuitable for two people.

The rooms, though small, were tidy, but the sheets were not changed during our four-night stay. And as for double glassing - it doesn't help, we had our windows to the street and whenever a car passed by, it seemed as though we had a window open.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnaBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#768 of 1,081 in London
129 reviews
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel
Nottingham Place Hotel
#566 of 1,081 in London
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,081 in London
571 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#221 of 1,081 in London
258 reviews
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#569 of 1,081 in London
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blandford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blandford Hotel

Address: 80 Chiltern Street, London W1U 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#238 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £106 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blandford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blandford is a newly refurbished, high quality hotel, located in the heart of London, yet it is situated in a quiet suburban setting. A fabulous location next door to Regent's Park makes the Blandford the ideal place to explore London and its riches. Within walking distance on one side are the world famous shopping districts of Oxford Street and Bond Street, worldwide landmarks such as Madame Tussauds and Baker St, whilst on the other you have the quiet open spaces of Regents Park.For the business traveller, the major trading districts are all within easy reach. Public transport links to all the major airports and railway stations are just round the corner. All this complemented by good sized and fully-equipped rooms, along with our highly rated customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blandford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blandford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing