We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay at Blandford Hotel, Childtern St., London”
Review of Blandford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blandford Hotel
Ranked #454 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Recent stay at Blandford Hotel, Childtern St., London”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I are really impressed with the Blandford Hotel where we stayed last night. The whole hotel and particularly our double room was spotlessly clean. We were given a room at the back away from the main road which made for a quiet environment. The room itself is well decorated, comfortable, well equipped, down to an ironing board! An easy-to-use safe really puts a finishing touch to it. We were treated to a delicious, excellent choice, cooked breakfast. All this for £119 is excellent value for money and to think we were in the middle of London.
All the staff was polite and professional but we would like to single out a young man, Kashif, who was especially helpful. We got to London just after 11am and knowing that check-in time was not until 2pm, I phoned the hotel. Kashif was at the Reception and he reassured us that he would try to get the room ready for us as soon as possible. When we arrived just before 12MD we were invited to wait in the little comfortable sitting area where a variety of drinks and newspapers were provided. Within 10 minutes we were in our room. A further bonus point is that, as Christians and Gideons, We were delighted to find a copy of Gideon Hotel Bible in our room. We would certainly stay at the Blandford Hotel again whenever we are in London and would strongly recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives.
Dr & Mrs Hoe

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Front Office Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Dr & Mrs. Hoe,

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, even more so reading that you would like to come back to stay with us. I’m especially pleased with the hospitality you experienced from our passionate team who always go an extra mile to make our guests happy. I have passed on your very kind words to the great team I have here and I look forward to welcome you back at the Blandford hotel soon.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    298
    86
    41
    15
See reviews for
153
183
79
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

No hot water in our room our last day in London. When I called the service staff I was told " someone would be right up". When I said I had to dress and it would take a few minutes I then waited and waited. When I called back I was told "the plumber was on his way up" After the plumber arrived and he tried to adjust the water and then realized he needed his tools. Again I called the desk and I expressed my dismay I was told: "you had hot water on Friday??" When I replied I like to shower everyday I then was told to shower in another room. Too bad it was two floors away.
Yes the location is great, very near the Baker St. tube station. The area is safe, and there are inexpensive food areas two blocks away.
The room is very small, and we were disappointed that there wasn't a top sheet on the bed but rather an old blanket with a duvet sheet enveloped within it. Another sheet was brought up once we requested it.
Breakfast is plentiful, but there isn't any fresh fruit. The breakfast room to me was depressing. The staff looks melancholy, and you are cramped and in a basement. Would I stay here again, I don't think so. I'd like to try somewhere else.
In regards to the internet: I inquired about the internet and received 48hours free then 1 hour free daily. That convenience should be customary and not charged, especially with international travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nor7859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Front Office Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Blandford hotel, we value your feedback as it allows us to improve our guest experience.

Whilst I am happy to read that you enjoyed our convenient location, I am most concerned to read of your disappointment with our service and facilities. We work hard to deliver a warm and friendly service and make our guests stay as comfortable as possible which reflects in all other reviews. Although I am sure your experience was a "one off" we will take this on the chin and review how we are perceived as we realise the importance of "first impressions". Please be assured that your comments have already been followed up.

It is disappointing for any stay to end on a low note, and even more so to learn that you would not consider returning to Blandford Hotel. I am very sorry that your stay with us was not as positive as that of others on this site.

Yours Sincerely,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Rooms are a bit small but we werent at the hotel all day so it didnt matter but very clean! Near mme tussaud museum !!! Very happy with my stay! I stayedduring the last week of august 2012! Would definetly stay there again if i go !!!! Breakfast was also very good

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Front Office Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear JeffreyB5,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us at the Blandford hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and liked our breakfast. Our tradition English breakfast with bacon, sausages, mushrooms, eggs etc. gives a taste of local culture and is very popular with our guests. I am delighted that we have won you over as future guests and hope who will regard us as your "home from home" in London.

Your warm validation is hugely appreciated and most encouraging. Please rest assured that we will keep working hard for you and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had a great trip to london, we stayed at the blandfordhotel and found it clean, the staff friendly and it was very quiet. The bathroom was large but the rooms were tiny(although not a big problem as we spent our days touring london!). Thebeds were also quite small by our standards at home...The location is fantastic, a beautiful street and close to both the subway and oxford st for shopping. Great base for a trip to london

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katenbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Front Office Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Katenbrad

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at the Blandford hotel.

I was really pleased that you enjoyed our great location and our service. You’re right, we are ideally situated for your visit to London, be it business or Leisure.
I do hope that you will return to us soon in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sam Yousf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Going shopping in London once a year not wanting to use to much money on the hotel and being able to walk home from oxford street with all your bags! Great breakfast to start the day and two nice pubs 50 meter down the street,some nice cheap restaurants just around the corner, clean crisp beds and nice staff.I recommend this hotel if you are going to enjoy London and like a basic clean comfortable hotel. The hop on off buss stops 200 meters from the hotel and there is a busline going to campden 50 meters from it.

Room Tip: If possible room on the third floor!there is street noise but I like that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Had one night at this small family run hotel which is conveniently located near to baker st tube. Regents park, Madame tussards and Sherlock Holmes museum all close. We were given lovely welcome, bags carried to room and invited to use lobby with tea and coffee even after we had checked out. Room clean with good air con. No view but nice and quiet. Good nights sleep and breakfast reasonable choice. All for £99.00

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leicesterhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#234 of 1,067 in London
178 reviews
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#617 of 1,067 in London
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#51 of 1,067 in London
496 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#268 of 1,067 in London
235 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#146 of 1,067 in London
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blandford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blandford Hotel

Property: Blandford Hotel
Address: 80 Chiltern Street, London W1U 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#239 Business Hotel in London
#371 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blandford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blandford is a newly refurbished, high quality hotel, located in the heart of London, yet it is situated in a quiet suburban setting. A fabulous location next door to Regent's Park makes the Blandford the ideal place to explore London and its riches. Within walking distance on one side are the world famous shopping districts of Oxford Street and Bond Street, worldwide landmarks such as Madame Tussauds and Baker St, whilst on the other you have the quiet open spaces of Regents Park.For the business traveller, the major trading districts are all within easy reach. Public transport links to all the major airports and railway stations are just round the corner. All this complemented by good sized and fully-equipped rooms, along with our highly rated customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blandford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blandford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing