We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”
Review of Blandford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blandford Hotel
Ranked #427 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights in August 2013. The hotel is very well located, just next to Baker Street. The staff was friendly. The rooms were very, very small. The breakfast was alright, there wasn't much served. I was missing some fresh stuff, fruits and veggies and such.

The wi-fi was very poor. The staff at the reception said that the wi-fi hotspot was just outside my room and therefore it should work perfectly. However I had to sit on the floor right next to the door for it to even remotely work.

The street outside the hotel wasn't noisy, instead I could hear everyone talking in the corridors outside the room. I could also hear people walking in the room above.
The shower was like a spaceship, couldn't quite figure out how it worked.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumiloun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your feedback review after your stay at The Blandford Hotel.

We are more than happy, that you enjoyed our convenient location and highly rated customer service and that extra mile we always go four our guests.
Our building is a converted building, therefore we have different sizes in each room category. We certainly have bigger rooms as well, but in London the independent hotels are pretty much offer the same.
In our room rate the continental breakfast is automatically included - but you also have a choice of the bigger English breakfast for extra charge.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed here mid September 2013 for 2 nights in a single room. It is well located, however the hotel needs updating with the hallways, stairs and breakfast room looking tired and shabby with peeling wallpaper and unattractive paintwork. The Wi-Fi is not free. I booked thinking it was after reading the information on the hotel site and was told I would have to pay! The room was so small I felt claustrophobic. The breakfast was passable with warm yoghurt and tinned fruit salad. Please just serve bananas not tinned fruit and keep the yoghurt in an iced bowl.
The amenities were fine with a heated towel rail and good shower. The staff were friendly. I wouldn't stay here again as I know I can get better value at other establishments.

Room Tip: Single rooms are way too small for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for the feedback after your recent stay in the Blandford Hotel.

Whilst I am delighted, that you were happy with the performance of our staff and the nice bathroom facilities, I am very disappointed to hear that you have been charged for using the Wi-Fi.
Rest assure, the case will be investigated and please drop me a line with your stay's details to: marketing@capricornhotels.co.uk as we have FREE Wi-Fi in all the rooms.
I'd like to refund you for the extra charge, which shouldn't appear on your invoice.

Best Regards,
Eva
Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

In general I was very satisfied with the entire stay. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit smaller but thats quite typical for London´s hotels. The breakfast was also good, typical English breakfast included. The hotel is very close to tube.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ales M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review after your recent stay in the Blandford Hotel.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, as well as our famous customer service, I am very proud of our reception team's consistent high performance.

Hopefully we can welcome you in the Blandford Hotel again.


Warm regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The staff was friendly. The rooms are very small, which is often the case in London. Looking at the prices for a half decent room and the square meters you get for that price it must be a very attractive business. I stayed here one night for a business meeting. I got in in the evening, slept, had breakfast and was out again. For such a visit it was OK, but not more than that. For people who intend to stay longer I would certainly suggest to find a more convenient place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for your review after your stay at The Blandford Hotel.

I am happy, that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, our convenient location and highly rated customer service.
That's true, our hotel is perfect for corporate travellers: being very centrally located, providing free WI-FI, free breakfast and comfortable rooms on a very competitive rate.
However, as many of our customers stayed longer then one night only - I can safely say we are well equipped to cater longer stays as well.
Our hotel is a converted building we have smaller and bigger rooms, and we differentiate them by single and double room category.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at the Blandford Hotel to celebrate my birthday. Unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations of a 4 star central London hotel. The sheet on the bed had blood on it, and the cleanliness of the room in general was very poor. The room was very dusty which meant that my asthma was was made worse so I had a very bad night's sleep. Noisy building works next to the hotel were so loud the building actually shook with the noise.
Over the course of the day after checking out I realised I had been bitten by a bug in the room. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soomorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Blandford Hotel.

I’m glad to read you enjoyed the our hotel's central location in the heart of London.

However, I am very disappointed by the lack of cleanliness you experienced. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, as I suspect you saw through out the rest of the property. Your experience falls way below our standards. Please reach out to me personally at marketing@capricornhotels.co.uk with your check in date and confirmation number. With this information I can investigate what fell through in the cleaning process of your room and ensure it won’t happen again. Also, before booking your next stay, contact me personally so we can go above and beyond your expectations!

Best regards,
Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Being our first trip to London, not knowing which area to stay in...The Blandford was perfect for us. Our room was clean, quiet and well appointed. The included English breakfast was very adequate and varied enough although by day 5 we were ready for something different. All staff were helpful and very nice. Plus..location is 4 min from Baker Street tube stop and many bus routes, ethnic restaurants and pubs. Negative...the temp in the room was difficult to regulate. We would consider staying here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MonsieurChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear MonsieurChef,

I was truly happy reading your positive review after your stay at The Blandford Hotel.

We are more than happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us, our convenient location and highly rated customer service and that extra mile we always go four our guests.
I am also very glad that you noted the dome important important details: nice breakfast and our ideal location.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I selected this Hotel because of it's location which is closed to underground station. I am not happy because it was quite old and extremely noisy due to construction nearby. Breakfast was low to Average.
The Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cigdem113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review after your recent stay in the Blandford Hotel.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, as well as our famous customer service, I am very proud of our reception team's consistent high performance.
Our maintenance team works constantly on keeping up to our standards. There are construction works being carried out in our street at the moment at one of the neighbouring buildings, which is unfortunately beyond us, and they will finish soon. Please accept our apologies for the experienced noise, however, they not allowed to take up work too early and they also have to finish early evening - which is happening.

Warm regards,
Sam Yousf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#768 of 1,081 in London
129 reviews
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel
Nottingham Place Hotel
#566 of 1,081 in London
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,081 in London
571 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#221 of 1,081 in London
258 reviews
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#569 of 1,081 in London
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blandford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blandford Hotel

Address: 80 Chiltern Street, London W1U 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#238 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £106 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blandford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blandford is a newly refurbished, high quality hotel, located in the heart of London, yet it is situated in a quiet suburban setting. A fabulous location next door to Regent's Park makes the Blandford the ideal place to explore London and its riches. Within walking distance on one side are the world famous shopping districts of Oxford Street and Bond Street, worldwide landmarks such as Madame Tussauds and Baker St, whilst on the other you have the quiet open spaces of Regents Park.For the business traveller, the major trading districts are all within easy reach. Public transport links to all the major airports and railway stations are just round the corner. All this complemented by good sized and fully-equipped rooms, along with our highly rated customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blandford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blandford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing