We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option for a London stay”
Review of Blandford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blandford Hotel
Ranked #437 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I was very pleased with the Blandford and would happily stay there again. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Impeccably clean building and I loved feel of the wood panelling throughout. The room itself was perfectly adequate in size and again, very clean. Breakfasts are good although not outstanding but there is a nice range of options. My wifi was fantastic although a colleague staying at the same time had some difficulties with his. There was some construction noise on weekday mornings, which is not the fault of the hotel. Apart from that, though, it was very quiet. The location is fantastic. Being close to Baker Street underground station is great because that station is served by so many different lines that it is easy to get to from many different places in the city. You are also close to many shops and places to get food, and not far at all from Oxford and Regent Streets if you want to go shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyageur613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review after your recent stay in the Blandford Hotel.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, as well as our famous customer service. Great to hear that you have found the cleanness of the hotel outstanding.

Hopefully, we can welcome you in the Blandford Hotel again.

Warm regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Don't get me wrong, this is an ok place to stay, but it won't set your life on fire. Tucked away behind Baker St this is an ideally placed hotel if you want to explore Fitzrovia and indulge in some upper-echelon shopping.

The hotel is a short walk from Baker St Tube so getting there is no problem if you're a rail traveller. The entrance is narrow and this really defines the rest of the place.There is a small TV room by reception but 5 people would fill it. Checking in was painless and easy. Very old fashioned 'proper' keys on a huge plastic fob also holds your electricity activator. The corridor to the lift is narrow and the lift is a squeeze.

The bedroom was adequate with enough space but the end of the bed leaves you just enough room to navigate to the clothes storage. Lots of storage space though. The usual telly, coffee, iron, hair-dryer facilities were present. The room reminded me of the kind of hotels I used to stay in 25 years ago; dark wood and traditional soft furnishings. Good shower space and enough hot water, although this didn't apply after 11-ish in the pm, so don't come in late grubby!

There is aircon in the room but even on the highest temp (28) it still couldn't heat the room quickly, take jammies.

All in all an ok place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't whine because it's not perfect, nothing ever is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjz1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review after your stay at The Blandford Hotel.

We are happy that you have found our location convenient - it is indeed, no matter if you're in town for leisure or business. Also good to hear that you were happy with the services and you didn't miss anything during your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

For over 8 years the blandford hotel has been my retreat in London.it is clean,comfortable and welcoming. I always feel very safe, the staff remember me and endeavour to make everyone welcome and fulfill all reasonable requests. The small grocery shops on the corner are useful and there are many reasonable priced restaurants within the vicinity. Close to Baker Street tube. I highly recommend bland ford hotel but I am loath to do so as if may mean they get fully booked and so unable to meet my requirements.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank jempsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

I was truly happy reading your positive review after your stay at The Blandford Hotel.

We are more than happy, that you repeatedly enjoyed your stay with us, our convenient location and highly rated customer service and that extra mile we always go for our guests.
Your feedback means a lot to us and we will do our best to keep up to your standards as always.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights in August 2013. The hotel is very well located, just next to Baker Street. The staff was friendly. The rooms were very, very small. The breakfast was alright, there wasn't much served. I was missing some fresh stuff, fruits and veggies and such.

The wi-fi was very poor. The staff at the reception said that the wi-fi hotspot was just outside my room and therefore it should work perfectly. However I had to sit on the floor right next to the door for it to even remotely work.

The street outside the hotel wasn't noisy, instead I could hear everyone talking in the corridors outside the room. I could also hear people walking in the room above.
The shower was like a spaceship, couldn't quite figure out how it worked.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumiloun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your feedback review after your stay at The Blandford Hotel.

We are more than happy, that you enjoyed our convenient location and highly rated customer service and that extra mile we always go four our guests.
Our building is a converted building, therefore we have different sizes in each room category. We certainly have bigger rooms as well, but in London the independent hotels are pretty much offer the same.
In our room rate the continental breakfast is automatically included - but you also have a choice of the bigger English breakfast for extra charge.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed here mid September 2013 for 2 nights in a single room. It is well located, however the hotel needs updating with the hallways, stairs and breakfast room looking tired and shabby with peeling wallpaper and unattractive paintwork. The Wi-Fi is not free. I booked thinking it was after reading the information on the hotel site and was told I would have to pay! The room was so small I felt claustrophobic. The breakfast was passable with warm yoghurt and tinned fruit salad. Please just serve bananas not tinned fruit and keep the yoghurt in an iced bowl.
The amenities were fine with a heated towel rail and good shower. The staff were friendly. I wouldn't stay here again as I know I can get better value at other establishments.

Room Tip: Single rooms are way too small for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for the feedback after your recent stay in the Blandford Hotel.

Whilst I am delighted, that you were happy with the performance of our staff and the nice bathroom facilities, I am very disappointed to hear that you have been charged for using the Wi-Fi.
Rest assure, the case will be investigated and please drop me a line with your stay's details to: marketing@capricornhotels.co.uk as we have FREE Wi-Fi in all the rooms.
I'd like to refund you for the extra charge, which shouldn't appear on your invoice.

Best Regards,
Eva
Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

In general I was very satisfied with the entire stay. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit smaller but thats quite typical for London´s hotels. The breakfast was also good, typical English breakfast included. The hotel is very close to tube.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ales M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review after your recent stay in the Blandford Hotel.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, as well as our famous customer service, I am very proud of our reception team's consistent high performance.

Hopefully we can welcome you in the Blandford Hotel again.


Warm regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The staff was friendly. The rooms are very small, which is often the case in London. Looking at the prices for a half decent room and the square meters you get for that price it must be a very attractive business. I stayed here one night for a business meeting. I got in in the evening, slept, had breakfast and was out again. For such a visit it was OK, but not more than that. For people who intend to stay longer I would certainly suggest to find a more convenient place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Blandford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for your review after your stay at The Blandford Hotel.

I am happy, that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, our convenient location and highly rated customer service.
That's true, our hotel is perfect for corporate travellers: being very centrally located, providing free WI-FI, free breakfast and comfortable rooms on a very competitive rate.
However, as many of our customers stayed longer then one night only - I can safely say we are well equipped to cater longer stays as well.
Our hotel is a converted building we have smaller and bigger rooms, and we differentiate them by single and double room category.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sam Yousf
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#169 of 1,076 in London
1,420 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#164 of 1,076 in London
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#576 of 1,076 in London
246 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,076 in London
536 reviews
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#575 of 1,076 in London
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blandford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blandford Hotel

Address: 80 Chiltern Street, London W1U 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#239 Business Hotel in London
#371 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £102 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blandford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blandford is a newly refurbished, high quality hotel, located in the heart of London, yet it is situated in a quiet suburban setting. A fabulous location next door to Regent's Park makes the Blandford the ideal place to explore London and its riches. Within walking distance on one side are the world famous shopping districts of Oxford Street and Bond Street, worldwide landmarks such as Madame Tussauds and Baker St, whilst on the other you have the quiet open spaces of Regents Park.For the business traveller, the major trading districts are all within easy reach. Public transport links to all the major airports and railway stations are just round the corner. All this complemented by good sized and fully-equipped rooms, along with our highly rated customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blandford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blandford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing