We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #707 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here as the usual venues were full and there is a limited budget for expenses. Rather tired and shabby room but clean and comfortable bed and en suite. Breakfast fine and for central London a bargain. Staff were also very friendly

Room Tip: Had a room at the back on the ground floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here with my sister for a three day trip to Lindon. The staff were very helpful and although the hotel was sdmall by usual standards it was clean and tidy. Great location close to baker street and very resonabnly priced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justliketetris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Due to train problems my wife and I were stranded in london overnight. Cabbie sent us to this hotel. Despite the late hour,0030 reception was manned and we were made very welcome. We had a basement room, small but adequate,and a very fine ensuite, and we could not fault it .The bed clean white bedding and very comfortable . At breakfast ,continental,. but plentiful food. Tea, coffee and chocolate were available all day plus some pastries. The staff were extremely helpful.The gentleman on reception,the owner i believe, was particularly helpful, and assisted my wife to make an international phone call at about 1am in the morning. Altogether we had a pleasant short stay and would not hesitate to stay there again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tortola15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I'm a cancer patient who had to fly from Ireland to save my life by having an operation in morning the hotel is one off the dirtiest hotel I have ever seen in my life ,the room rotten and smelled bad the carpets stinking I had pay for the week because everything was done in a rush new I couldn't stay there I would get infection from the dirt rang manger and asked for a little refund and he manners where a disgrace I pleaded to him to show humanity on such a sick person ,not a chance made of pay for the whole week we had to leave and go to another hotel what a sick manager do not go to this hotel it's a complete dump not fit for a dog

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina123891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Completely shocked at the state of my room and nonchalant attitude from the proprietor when I pointed out some areas he could improve on before unpacking my bags (not an exhaustive list as there was more!). Once I got to the room as lift was broken, carpets were deeply stained and threadbare however the cockroaches seemed at home on them which the owner kindly offered to hoover them up for me....bless him. Sheets were stained in a concoction not known to the periodic table, bathroom (or small cubicle) had veneer looking to escape the attack from the mould with the toilet....well gag reflex would describe it better! For my own safety I had to decline the stay and at 20:30 on a Thursday night wandered the streets of London looking for a bed for the night. Luckily found a Travel Lodge by Euston which was not only cheaper it was the Ritz in comparison. Don't be fooled by it's reasonably looking entrance, I was fortunate to escape.......

Room Tip: As you approach the front entrance swiftly turn right and carry on walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at the Americana Hotel during the heatwave. It does not have air conditioning in the accommodation area, so the nights were pretty uncomfortable. The carpets in this hotel are stained to an incredible degree and need replacing; the rooms are very small, and the bathroom had a lot of broken fixtures. The toilet seat was broken. The door of the shower was broken, The tap handle had been broken but glued as a repair. The blind and the windows needed work done on them. cleanliness was only average.
I suffer from Sleep Apnoea and sleep with a CPAP machine. As there were no power points at the bed head, and my lead didn't reach the power points at the opposite wall, I sought an extension lead, but all they had at reception was a broken powere board (Why were they keeping it??). My wife and I remade the bed so that we slept with our heads at the tail, so that I could use my CPAP machine.
Breakfast was more than adequate, and the area where it was served was kept very clean, and I must say that considering other parts of the hotel, was a pleasant change. I assure I looked very carefully at everythng.
With some work done on it I am sure that this hotel could be a much better place to stay, but in its present state, I was glad to move on after three nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 840Graeme47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

great location in london to the tubes etc. walking distance if you are up for a good walk but tubes are obviously way quicker! nice receptionist. free wifi. nice rooms, quite small but you dont need them any bigger really, its just somewhere nice to sleep. nice bathroom and lovely shower.the breakfast is lovely, lots of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sasa51188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#426 of 1,077 in London
686 reviews
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#573 of 1,077 in London
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Regency Hotel - Nottingham Place
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#800 of 1,077 in London
76 reviews
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 172 Gloucester Place | Regents Park, London NW1 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #707 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £84 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Americana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located and thanks to our close proximity to Baker Street Underground Station guests staying at the Americana have easy access to London's business district as well as its many tourist attractions, shops and theatres. The Americana Hotel has a friendly welcoming atmosphere and our staff is available 24 hours per day to take care of your detailed requirements and maintain a safe environment during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing