We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in London for this price!”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #698 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in London for this price!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This Hotel is the best I have stayed in, in London for this price and location. First off, The location is excellent being only a 5 min walk away from the very central Marylebone Road, Baker Street Tube Station and Marylebone Station. Marylebone Road is also home to the world famous Madame Tussauds, the University of Westminster, many restaurants, bars, cafes etc and is only 1 mile away from Euston Station, which is very easily walked, as I did this during a tube strike.

Rooms. The rooms are quite small however they are clean and modern, well fitted out with wardrobe, bed,bed side cabinets, desk and chair, wall mounted TV and very importantly a large mirror. I am going to make a point of saying there is a large window - double glazed that provides lots of natural light and ventilation. Bed is comfortable. There is also a safe and hairdryer. Bathrooms consist of the basics - shower, toilet , wash hand basin and are nicely finished.There is also a large wall mounted mirror in the bathroom if the large one in the bedroom isnt quite enough, :-p . Most importantly there is free WIFI throughout the whole hotel.

Hotel. The hotel public spaces are warm, inviting, modern and nicely finished. There is an open plan dining and lounge area. Lounge area has communal seating and a large wall mounted television which can be nice to wind down in after a busy day site seeing. The dining area has mostly two-seater tables. Free tea, coffee, hot chocolate and pastries are available all day from the dining area. How very generous I thought! There is also a desk top computer with access to the internet for any non smart phone or tablet users. Some people may find the corridors in need of a paint job but to be honest how long are you spending in the corridors, every where else in the hotel is well finished and clean. One important and very useful service is the ability to leave luggage at reception after check out if you have a long wait until your journey and want to fit in more of London before leaving

Food. The hotel only serves Breakfast. There is plenty of choice here but it does not serve cooked meats such as sausage or bacon. It is more like a continental breakfast of breads, pastries, cold meat, cheese, spreads, fruit, yoghurts, juice etc. Great variety of herb teas and green teas. As I said it does not do lunch or dinner. However there are many many restaurants nearby- one to check out is the Allsop Arms, just two minutes walk away which has excellent breaded halloumi and cocktails.

Staff: The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful ALL of the time, not just when it suits them.

I stayed in this hotel on a part business, part relaxation trip with my girlfriend and found it to be a valuable haven.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    154
    126
    46
    36
See reviews for
57
198
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Dirty walls and carpets in rooms and corridors. When I asked for an iron I was told there was one shared iron by reception. Tiny rooms. Have to say the staff were friendly though and the bed itself was comfortable. Spend less on gimmicks like red and blue LEDs on the shower head and more on a luck of paint, new carpets and guest irons.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Ric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Good points: Convenient location, room was clean and the bed was OK.
Negatives: Tired decor, noisy from the busy road (we had a basement room and could hear the tube train!!), very basic breakfast, small room + expensive for the facilities provided.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Now that I have moved out of London I needed a base for the occasions when I have to stay over in London. I think the Americana is going to be the perfectly placed for me as I will be able to walk to Lords for the cricket or take a short cab ride to a theatre, galley or any of the museums that I want to visit.

The beds are comfortable and although my room was on the small side it was prefect for my needs. There was no tray in the room but this was amply compensated for by the free coffee service in the lounge and the fresh ground espresso was a step up on the instant that hotels leave in their bedrooms. The rooms were clean and tidy and I much appreciated the huge bath sheets that are provided instead of the normal bath towel. It was a pity that it was let down by the staining on the carpet that smelt as though it had been recently cleaned and the poor state of the laminate on the bedroom door.

The breakfast buffet had a good selection and the lady who takes charge there made me feel most welcome. The staff at the reception were most helpful and nothing was too much for them. They were able to give me good directions and even checked the rail time table to help me on my way home. I found all the staff there to be service minded and from my experience that is a rare thing these days.

I will certainly be staying again and can recommend this small gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusterGray30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a bit of travel fiasco on the morning of our trip, so the Americana Hotel was booked last-minute. Yes, we had a roof over our heads, but it was definitely less than our expectations. I'm not sure the carpet throughout the hotel has ever been cleaned. The laminate is peeling off every door I saw. "Making the bed" consisted of pulling the duvet cover up toward the head of the bed; we know this because we found my boyfriend's t-shirt folded up in the bed when we got home that night. The bathroom seemed clean when we arrived, but given the otherwise little attention paid to the rest of the room, we're not sure it was actually cleaned while we were there. I understand "it's London" and rooms are going to be small, but we didn't even have the room to put our suitcases and open cabinet doors and navigate around the bed - it was one or the other. The safe in the room was broken, and instead of trying to fix it, the manager at the desk preferred to just change our room. In fact, the desk staff was less than helpful throughout our stay. Only one of them is a native English speaker (in the home of the English language), and communication is definitely not their forte. The hotel does offer a nice breakfast, but that is pretty much the only positive thing I have to say about this place. Do yourself a favor - pay a little more and stay at a more acceptable hotel with better standards of cleanliness and better attitudes by the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Red2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here as the usual venues were full and there is a limited budget for expenses. Rather tired and shabby room but clean and comfortable bed and en suite. Breakfast fine and for central London a bargain. Staff were also very friendly

Room Tip: Had a room at the back on the ground floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here with my sister for a three day trip to Lindon. The staff were very helpful and although the hotel was sdmall by usual standards it was clean and tidy. Great location close to baker street and very resonabnly priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justliketetris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#436 of 1,067 in London
662 reviews
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#289 of 1,067 in London
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#616 of 1,067 in London
278 reviews
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#592 of 1,067 in London
230 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#253 of 1,067 in London
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 172 Gloucester Place | Regents Park, London NW1 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #698 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Americana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located and thanks to our close proximity to Baker Street Underground Station guests staying at the Americana have easy access to London's business district as well as its many tourist attractions, shops and theatres. The Americana Hotel has a friendly welcoming atmosphere and our staff is available 24 hours per day to take care of your detailed requirements and maintain a safe environment during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing