We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much for your bucks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Ranked #415 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Travelodge's cost model seems to be similar to low cost airlines. When the demand is high the cost goes up, but you still end up with a no frills product despite what you pay. The stay was pleasant and comfortable, but having paid £160+ for the pleasure I was frustrated that the wifi voucher didn't work, there was no telephone in the room to contact reception (to complain about the wifi) and no complimentary shower gel in the bathroom. Small things, but irritating given how much I'd paid.

Maybe that's what you pay in central London a few weeks before Christmas, but surely these smaller issues don't need to be issues at all at those prices?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your review David L. It’s regrettable to learn you were disappointed with the facilities we offer, we want our customers to have a comfortable stay with us and we feel we provide all that’s needed for a great night’s sleep, this includes a clean room and bathroom, a television and tea/coffee facilities. Unfortunately we do not provide toiletries in our rooms as a brand standard however should our guests forget any items there is a vending machine at reception to purchase anything extra, we also do not provide phones in the room however we do expect our staff to be available guests at all times should you need their assistance. Our Wi-Fi service is offered through one of our partners called Arqiva who do have a dedicated customer care team and you can contact them directly during your stay to resolve any issues, we will be sure to contact them to advise of the problems you have had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,521 - 6,527 of 7,337 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for one night on official business. Was bit perturbed about staying in a travel lodge in a city centre due to past experiences at other budget hotels. The location was excellent, right on Drury lane. A large number of restaurants on your door step, minutes from Holborn tube. The hotel itself was immaculate and modern. My room appeared to be newly decorated and again was immaculate. good bed, bedding and tea and coffee, fluffy towels and plenty of them. As stated before no shower gel...no big deal. My rate included a buffet breakfast which whilst not great was fine, sausage,bacon,eggs, beans, cereals and tea/coffee. I wouldnt hesitate in staying here again, its a good hotel in a good location. Well done travel lodge.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the back of the hotel, really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covent Garden T, Manager at Travelodge London Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear anthony5859,
Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Mark Crockett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, comfy bed, decent sized room for London and very quiet. Only drawbacks were no toiletries and no bath mat. Can't complain due to the decent price. One of the nights we stayed was less than £40. Book early and you get a good price.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lindyloo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covent Garden T, Manager at Travelodge London Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear lindyloo31,
Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Mark Crockett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We recently chose the Travelodge in Drury lane, as we were planning on going to see War Horse. We didn't realise how close we were to the theatre. This location was excellent for our 4 days in London. We walked everywhere, and took in so much so easily. From Oxford St up to Hyde Park, from Covent Garden to the Southbank and back via Westminster and Leicester Square. A no frills hotel, but perfectly adequate, comfortable, reasonable prices by London standards, and we would go there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank DissAloosioned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covent Garden T, Manager at Travelodge London Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear DissAloosioned,
Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Mark Crockett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We always stay here when coming to London for our bi-annual show. The rooms are clean and comfortable (ish) compared to most other travel lodges around the country. Staff were friendly and helpful. we did have a (false) fire alarm go off at 12:30am which was a bit of scare but turned out to be nothing. The staff at the time could have been a bit more pro active in relaying the all Ok message to the guests who were meeting each other going to and from the assembly point!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covent Garden T, Manager at Travelodge London Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear Leigh W,
Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Mark Crockett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel was excellently located for the west end theaters. If you won't be spending time in the hotel itself, it is an excellent choice. Rooms are clean, comfortable, quiet, and again... very close to the theaters. Hotel itself is good value for money and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Ayse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covent Garden T, Manager at Travelodge London Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear Ayse P,
Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Mark Crockett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Welcome to Ryan Air on the ground. Comfortable bed yes but freezing room. No toiletries, plug for the sink and no floor mat in bathroom. TV older than my son - aged 11. Lighting not working in half the room. Plastic cups for OJ at breakfast and tasteless scrambled eggs and bacon. At least there was no annoying 'another successful nights sleep' over the tannoy. One star for the bed - although sleep was difficult as I froze and 1 for the location. I hope to forget soon.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank RichardMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge London Covent Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

We do expect our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible. All of the heater should be working and we do have a number of spare blankets and duvets available from reception on a first come first served basis RichardMoira. We are very sorry that you were unable to get a good night sleep due to the temperature in the room on this occasion. We do not provide toiletries or bath mats as standard. Toiletries are available for guests to purchase from vending machines in reception and the floor and bath surface will have enhanced slip resistance along with handrails. We would like to take the opportunity to investigate your concerns in more detail so we would very much appreciate if you would visit our website and use the Contact Us button to provide us with more details. All customer feedback is provided to the hotel directly which helps improve the service they offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#452 of 1,076 in London
9,758 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#62 of 1,076 in London
1,647 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#245 of 1,076 in London
3,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Covent Garden

Address: 10 Drury Lane, London WC2B 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#338 Romantic Hotel in London
#357 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £54 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Covent Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 657
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge London Covent Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Covent Garden Hotel London
Travelodge Covent Garden
Travel Lodge Covent Garden
Drury Lane Hotel
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travel Inn Covent Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing