We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dull Rooms but great location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Covent Garden

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Ranked #401 of 1,089 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dull Rooms but great location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel was in a great location, only a few minutes walk from Leicester Square. However, the rooms were quite dull and plain. When I arrived at the hotel I was a little disappointed in the look from the outside as it looked worn down.

But the location made up for this. There are many restaurants and bars close by. I would definitely recommend using this hotel as a base to explore Leicester Square and covent gardens but don't expect any glamour.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSenorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,891
    2,368
    1,084
    392
    333
See reviews for
1,510
2,335
189
784
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (857)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Travelodge's cost model seems to be similar to low cost airlines. When the demand is high the cost goes up, but you still end up with a no frills product despite what you pay. The stay was pleasant and comfortable, but having paid £160+ for the pleasure I was frustrated that the wifi voucher didn't work, there was no telephone in the room to contact reception (to complain about the wifi) and no complimentary shower gel in the bathroom. Small things, but irritating given how much I'd paid.

Maybe that's what you pay in central London a few weeks before Christmas, but surely these smaller issues don't need to be issues at all at those prices?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Covent Garden, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review David L. It’s regrettable to learn you were disappointed with the facilities we offer, we want our customers to have a comfortable stay with us and we feel we provide all that’s needed for a great night’s sleep, this includes a clean room and bathroom, a television and tea/coffee facilities. Unfortunately we do not provide toiletries in our rooms as a brand standard however should our guests forget any items there is a vending machine at reception to purchase anything extra, we also do not provide phones in the room however we do expect our staff to be available guests at all times should you need their assistance. Our Wi-Fi service is offered through one of our partners called Arqiva who do have a dedicated customer care team and you can contact them directly during your stay to resolve any issues, we will be sure to contact them to advise of the problems you have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for one night on official business. Was bit perturbed about staying in a travel lodge in a city centre due to past experiences at other budget hotels. The location was excellent, right on Drury lane. A large number of restaurants on your door step, minutes from Holborn tube. The hotel itself was immaculate and modern. My room appeared to be newly decorated and again was immaculate. good bed, bedding and tea and coffee, fluffy towels and plenty of them. As stated before no shower gel...no big deal. My rate included a buffet breakfast which whilst not great was fine, sausage,bacon,eggs, beans, cereals and tea/coffee. I wouldnt hesitate in staying here again, its a good hotel in a good location. Well done travel lodge.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the back of the hotel, really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, comfy bed, decent sized room for London and very quiet. Only drawbacks were no toiletries and no bath mat. Can't complain due to the decent price. One of the nights we stayed was less than £40. Book early and you get a good price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lindyloo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton In Furness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We recently chose the Travelodge in Drury lane, as we were planning on going to see War Horse. We didn't realise how close we were to the theatre. This location was excellent for our 4 days in London. We walked everywhere, and took in so much so easily. From Oxford St up to Hyde Park, from Covent Garden to the Southbank and back via Westminster and Leicester Square. A no frills hotel, but perfectly adequate, comfortable, reasonable prices by London standards, and we would go there again in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank DissAloosioned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We always stay here when coming to London for our bi-annual show. The rooms are clean and comfortable (ish) compared to most other travel lodges around the country. Staff were friendly and helpful. we did have a (false) fire alarm go off at 12:30am which was a bit of scare but turned out to be nothing. The staff at the time could have been a bit more pro active in relaying the all Ok message to the guests who were meeting each other going to and from the assembly point!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel was excellently located for the west end theaters. If you won't be spending time in the hotel itself, it is an excellent choice. Rooms are clean, comfortable, quiet, and again... very close to the theaters. Hotel itself is good value for money and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Ayse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#230 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#243 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,008 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#388 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,865 reviews
Covent Garden
The Fielding Hotel
The Fielding Hotel
#164 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Covent Garden

Property: Travelodge London Covent Garden
Address: 10 Drury Lane, London WC2B 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#283 Luxury Hotel in London
#338 Romantic Hotel in London
#357 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge London Covent Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Covent Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Covent Garden Hotel London
Travelodge Covent Garden
Travel Lodge Covent Garden
Drury Lane Hotel
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travel Inn Covent Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing