We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travelodge budget, at London prices” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Covent Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Ranked #401 of 1,089 Hotels in London
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Travelodge budget, at London prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

You know what you're getting with Travelodge, a very basic functional room, no charm or frills, but no nasty shocks either. The problem comes when that budget room comes at a non budget price, as is the case here. At £100+ per room it's hard to overlook how plain and economical everything is, from the hospital style lighting to the clinically basic bathroom. It's not bad as such, it's just not good, and at that cost there are better alternatives available in a similar price range. Finally as others have said the location is good, but to call it Covent Garden is perhaps a stretch, as it's about a 10 minute walk away

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikey123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,884
    2,360
    1,077
    391
    333
See reviews for
1,505
2,324
188
781
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

You pay on arrival at this travelodge split over two drury lane locations. Basic room but you get a bar of soap and 5, yes 5 TV channels. The bed is big and comfortable though and the location is great for enjoying covent garden in the run up to Christmas.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Timtee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I stay here when down in London visiting clients situated on the Strand. The hotel is a standard Travelodge and does exactly as it says on the tin. However it does this very well. The rooms of a good size and very clean. Beds are very comfortable. The cooked breakfast is more than decent.... Especially the sausages! Staff are always pleasant and helpful. However, there is often a queue at reception desk and guests can be stood there for long periods of time. There are self service machines for self check in which are very easy to use. The bar, is open til very late. We were still being served at 4am. Not sure if it closes to be honest! There is also a wonderful pub just around the corner called The white Heart. The hotel is very central to lots of London's highlights. Covent garden with all its bars and restaurants, is a 10 minute walk. I've also walked from kings cross a couple of times and takes roughly 25 minutes. All in all I like staying here. It's clean, central and has everything I need in walking distance.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

It's a travelodge so you know what expect. No surprises but no shocks either. The location of this accommodation is excellent, so central and easy to get to many of the sights, really couldn't have been better. I will definitely stay here again.



  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel was in a great location, only a few minutes walk from Leicester Square. However, the rooms were quite dull and plain. When I arrived at the hotel I was a little disappointed in the look from the outside as it looked worn down.

But the location made up for this. There are many restaurants and bars close by. I would definitely recommend using this hotel as a base to explore Leicester Square and covent gardens but don't expect any glamour.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSenorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Travelodge's cost model seems to be similar to low cost airlines. When the demand is high the cost goes up, but you still end up with a no frills product despite what you pay. The stay was pleasant and comfortable, but having paid £160+ for the pleasure I was frustrated that the wifi voucher didn't work, there was no telephone in the room to contact reception (to complain about the wifi) and no complimentary shower gel in the bathroom. Small things, but irritating given how much I'd paid.

Maybe that's what you pay in central London a few weeks before Christmas, but surely these smaller issues don't need to be issues at all at those prices?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Covent Garden, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review David L. It’s regrettable to learn you were disappointed with the facilities we offer, we want our customers to have a comfortable stay with us and we feel we provide all that’s needed for a great night’s sleep, this includes a clean room and bathroom, a television and tea/coffee facilities. Unfortunately we do not provide toiletries in our rooms as a brand standard however should our guests forget any items there is a vending machine at reception to purchase anything extra, we also do not provide phones in the room however we do expect our staff to be available guests at all times should you need their assistance. Our Wi-Fi service is offered through one of our partners called Arqiva who do have a dedicated customer care team and you can contact them directly during your stay to resolve any issues, we will be sure to contact them to advise of the problems you have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for one night on official business. Was bit perturbed about staying in a travel lodge in a city centre due to past experiences at other budget hotels. The location was excellent, right on Drury lane. A large number of restaurants on your door step, minutes from Holborn tube. The hotel itself was immaculate and modern. My room appeared to be newly decorated and again was immaculate. good bed, bedding and tea and coffee, fluffy towels and plenty of them. As stated before no shower gel...no big deal. My rate included a buffet breakfast which whilst not great was fine, sausage,bacon,eggs, beans, cereals and tea/coffee. I wouldnt hesitate in staying here again, its a good hotel in a good location. Well done travel lodge.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the back of the hotel, really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
The Fielding Hotel
The Fielding Hotel
#163 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#241 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,004 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#385 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,854 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#15 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Covent Garden

Property: Travelodge London Covent Garden
Address: 10 Drury Lane, London WC2B 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#284 Luxury Hotel in London
#338 Romantic Hotel in London
#357 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge London Covent Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Covent Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Covent Garden Hotel London
Travelodge Covent Garden
Travel Lodge Covent Garden
Drury Lane Hotel
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travel Inn Covent Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing