We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Ranked #405 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my sister stayed here for two nights and our room was fine, clean and modern.
I would say the lack of air conditioning made for an uncomfortable couple nights and the windows didn't open far, there was no cool air out there anyway!
There was a fan but it didn't help much. Also the cleaner came to our room at 5pm the second night but we just asked for fresh towels our room was fine.
I think considering what we paid and the location this hotel is fine, it was basically a place to sleep for us, we were out all day and a lot of night so it suited us fine.
Staff were friendly and helpful :)
The only reason I wouldn't go back is the lack of a left luggage area which was a pain in the neck. We had to go to Victoria train station to leave our bags on the last day as our flight was late at night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorripie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,101
    2,601
    1,211
    434
    353
See reviews for
1,663
2,593
213
867
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

On a previous visit to London we stayed in a hotel in Holborn but spent most of our time in the evenings around the Covent Garden area, therefore this time we wanted to stay a little bit closer to the Piazza. Someone had suggested the Travelodge to us and I was very pleasantly surprised not only at the location but also how much cheaper it was compared to other hotels in the area (other hotels were more than double this). Yes, the rooms are basic but they are spotlessly clean and were bigger than I was expecting. I have to agree with other reviewers who said that it could get very warm in the hotel, however we did visit over a very hot weekend. There was a fan supplied in the room which was a help. A few things that the hotel could benefit from are more wardrobe space and a safety deposit box to keep any valuables. I'm not saying we had any problems at all but I haven't styed in a hotel where this wasn't even an chargeable extra. Also, it would have been a help if there was a luggage room although I can appreciate how many guests could be stopping here at any one time and how busy this could get. We did have a slight issue in that during our first night the lights stopped working, luckily there was a desk lamp which was working OK, otherwise it could have been quite tricky!! We reported the problem the following morning and were told that a maintenance worker would come to have a look within 10 -15 minutes. 25 minutes later we were still waiting and so because the were no phones in the room we had to go back down to reception (from the 8th floor) to ask again. This time we spoke to a different member of staff who advised that there were no maintenance workers available on a Sunday! As she was unable to fix the problem straight away, she arranged for us to swap rooms once we returned back later in the afternoon which meant we were able to move with as little inconvenience as possible. Overall, this is a very good hotel and I will definitely look to stay here again on my next visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Right in Covent Garden, easily accessible to pretty much everywhere. Rooms are of a high standard for Travelodge and they do have soap and shower gel. Usual gripe, as with all Travelodge's, not enough hairdryers to go round all the rooms. Reasonable room rate for central London

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank JenniferJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked with friends at this hotel and on arrival knew thinks had gone wrong! We where informed that they did not have rooms for us and we had been moved to there sister hotel just of Shaftsbury Ave. although they seem to class it as the same hotel? It took an age to get sorted out as the staff seemed to lack good English skills. Arrived at the other location and checked in, so they had sorted it out. Entrance to the lift area is shocking, like a prison corridor. Rooms are very basic. Only had skylight type windows. Roof top views! Cafe type area downstairs not worth a look in. Is it cheap? Well by London standards, yes! But you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This travelodge has been beautifully renovated. The rooms are clean, modern, plenty of space, quiet. So close to everything that you can walk to Oxford Street, Covent garden etc even across the river in 20 mins. I would go back again and again. Staff were so friendly. Thanks for a great stay Travelodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank LIndainuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

excellent value stay in central London, great location with added bonus of bar and breakfast facilities. Staff in the café were really helpful and friendly. The downside was it was hot weather and there was no air conditioning in the room so we had the window open which was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsten, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

the hotel is in walking distance to subway, bars and restaurants.
our room was clean with a window to open. the service is very friendly.
regarding london it is a not too expensive hotel, we would do it again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 4Girlson2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#427 of 1,068 in London
9,239 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Covent Garden

Property: Travelodge London Covent Garden
Address: 10 Drury Lane, London WC2B 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#338 Romantic Hotel in London
#357 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge London Covent Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 657
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge London Covent Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Covent Garden Hotel London
Travelodge Covent Garden
Travel Lodge Covent Garden
Drury Lane Hotel
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travel Inn Covent Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing