We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel at a great location”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #885 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good hotel at a great location”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The location near Hyde Park near Paddington Station is hard to beat. The hotel is itself is kept very clean. The rooms are comfortable but quite small, but it is London, after all. The lobby has character. One thing to keep in mind in these older buildings: floorboards! The floor in the room creaked and squeaked with every step. This became an issue later at night when the family in the room above mine returned to the hotel and I could hear every step of theirs, with almost surprising clarity. I would stay here again, but this is a place where earplugs are a must if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCO_SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qurious, Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate all customer feed back as this is an excellent tool in improving the services we provide. We have already re-done the floors over a section of the hotel. Hoping to welcome you back next time you visit London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    333
    245
    120
    142
See reviews for
172
360
51
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The hotel is great value for money.
Location: Excellent located steps away from a bus station which has buses from city back to the hotel also late at night. A bit further away (5 min. walk) a tube station too. Very neat and secure area and hotel looks out on charming church.
Breakfast: in the basement but very nice room, cosy decoration, you have to pay extra for the full English breakfast buit their continental breakfast is just fine I think (some rolls, some croissants, cheese and meet, fresh fruits, yoghurt, boiled eggs.. the usual).
Rooms: A bit old and worn off, but clean and has what you need (including travel adapting plugs). The beds were not too comfy but It is OK for the weekend and was quiet at night.
Service: Excellent, you often hear about unfriendly staff in London but this was certainly not the case at Commodore. It was snowing and the public transport was down and the reception was really helpful in calling in the airline and keeping luggage.
This is value for the little money you pay.

Room Tip: I booked on their own website and can recommend that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelijn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qurious, Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for the nice review and for recommending making a reservation through our website! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
165 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel is a small jewel. Yes the rooms are a bit small but they are comfortable, the breakfast is included, warm breakfast costs extra but for a full english breakie 10 £ is ok as the food is good.
The room is clean and the bath room ok. You have a bus stop very close by that brings you right down to Oxford street or in the direction of Victoria station. Lancaster Gate is only 5 min walk away too, connecting you to the central line. The interior is nicly done as one can hope for in that area, english style with a fireplace in the entrance seating area. Nice bar and friendly personal. Price could be seen a bit high

Room Tip: If you want to ensure you have enough room space, take a delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qurious, Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for the nice review and for recommending our Deluxe rooms. We like to point out that such room must be reserved with us directly, as there are only a few in the hotel. We are hoping to welcome you back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel sits behind the main Bayswater Road, within easy reach of Lancaster Gate Tube Station and Oxford Street, it is a Gem of a hotel. A good sized room, with a nice sized bathroom. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Well priced, this is my second stay and I can guarantee it wont be my last. Try the afternoon tea - yummy!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Friends28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qurious, Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted that you like the hotel and are looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

second time staying here.A lovely hotel , close to underground and opposite hyde park. Staff very friendly and great for the price. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talulaglue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qurious, Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Traveller
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Overall the hotel was good, nice location in central London and helpful staff. The rooms are deceptive compared to the web site, so take care when you get your room allocation.
I complained and got re-allocate a much better room, which met my expectations.

The carpets are marked (as they are cream) and bring down the overall look & feel.

The hotel sent me a nice letter when I complained explaining that the initial room that I was allocated was the corrrect 'executive' grade and that the new room allocated was a higher grade room (and not one of those shown on the website!) Weird!

So overall a nice friendly, central London hotel, friendly helpful staff, nice reception, careful of the room allocation & I still feel that the pictures on the websites of the rooms are misleading,

Internet £2.00/Hr - come on guys its 2012 on 1987!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qurious, Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you, once again, for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Just checked out after 3 nights at the Commodore Hotel.
What a lovely place.
Great location, wonderful friendly staff and efficient service.
The only thing they could improve is the carpets. Our room carpet was quite stained, but I come from a family with 'shoes off at the door' rule.
Will definitely stay there again.
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsNelson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qurious, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are
constantly striving to improve our hotel and the services we offer.
We are in the process of replacing some room carpets.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.


Kind regards,

Sean Harte MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Henry VIII Hotel
#853 of 1,067 in London
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#346 of 1,067 in London
1,452 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#363 of 1,067 in London
884 reviews
Hotel The Caesar
#285 of 1,067 in London
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#399 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing