We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and Conveneince”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #895 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Value and Conveneince”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We Stayed for 1 week towards end of December and It was lovely, We arrived so early for check in and our rooms were not ready, Front office staff offered to Safe keep our bags till check in time which was so conveneint for us to start exploring around till check in time .When we checked in to our room we found out that it is full of cigarettes smell covered by air fresheners despite that we requested for a non-smoking room, We were moved to another room immediately after complaining. The new room was clean, practical and average in size compared to London and Europe standards, bathroom was clean, Heating was ok and room view was on the back yard . Breakfast is served in the basement level and it was fine but not abundant just adequate with fresh components. Reception and Tea Salon are fabulous and the Victorian style is well preserved. Hotel does not serve alcoholic drink and this is well displayed in reception as well as on website, No reason for this However, this could be a plus for conservative Arab and Moslem guests. In-room WIFI is provided at a fee 12 pound a week and could be used for one device only. There are two operating tiny Elevators. Location of the Hotel is quite and perfect for exploring , it is near Lancaster Gate and Paddington tube stations and within walking distance from Queensway and Bayswater stations. Lots of restaurants exchanges, souvenirs shops and supermarkets on Queensway street many of them are serving halal food. Overall the hotel is offering a good value for money and convenient location.

Room Tip: If you are not smoker , Insisit on non smoking room and higher floor rooms are better than basement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ossama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    333
    249
    124
    146
See reviews for
174
364
51
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at Commodore Hotel for two nights in a single room.

On the first night I started the airconditioning which worked well, but sprayed large pieces of dust/dirt from the blower on the bed and on the floor.
Prior to this the room was piping hot.

I cleared the blanket of dust and went to bed. About 40 minutes later a number of bedbugs were crawling all over the bed.
Immediately I went to the reception to report, it was now half past one in the morning.

A new room was given in the other section of the hotel.
The bathroom was cramped and I had trouble finding back from the room to reception.

Breakfast in the morning was continental. I asked for English breakfast at an additional price of £ 9.95.
After waiting for the eggs and bacon for thirty minutes I got tired of waiting and left the breakfast room.

Wifi had poor coverage (I got to try both sections of the hotel) and was an extra cost of £ 6.

On checkout I asked for some kind of compensation for the inconvenience of crawling bedbugs and change of room.
The receptionist said this was not possible.

The hotel tries to look good on their homepage and in the reception area, but you really should stear clear of this hotel. Location is good though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ofHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I cannot fault the hotel. the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean, with good décor and very comfortable. The area was quiet which meant we had a good nights sleep. We had a lovely stay and will be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We found that we could not plug our phones in to recharge as the plugs in the rooms had round pins a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DigiTalia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel as it was close to hyde park. Was looking forward to it giving as its 4*! Well the room we got given was more of a b&b style. With paint touch ups visible and in some areas it needed a touch up. Hair left in the bath from previous guests. And just a few other minor issues which doesn't make this a 4* hotel. Oh and we got charged twice for the pleasure. Still waiting to receive my refund and apology. Emailed the general manager but no response as of yet. No apology, no compensation no NOTHING!!? Shame. As myself and my son had a fantastic time in London.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeofstone_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Reading some of the latest reviews I feel that my family don't stay at the same hotel!!! We go to London twice (sometimes three or four) a year and always stay at the Commodore. We have always been delighted with our overnight stays. We've never had one complaint with either the rooms, staff etcetera. O.K. the buffet breakfast might be pretty basic but it is adequate! For what you pay it is damned good value. The rooms we get (usually the same ones, or at least on the same floor) have been more than sufficient. The Receptionists have always been helpful and the last time we went were allowed to book in at 11.00 a.m. Not many hotels would allow you to do that! No, I feel that some of these reviews are unfair! See you in May, Commodore !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We booked this hotel 4pm for that same evening through expedia, Fairly good deal, £139.00 for a family room with 'buffet' breakfast.
We were travelling to London from Lincolnshire with our 5yo son and would be arriving late 'ish' - not normally a problem in normal hotels.
When we arrived at 9pm the guy on the front desk was shocked that someone was checking in at that time of day and was borderline rude even. He said there was no such booking and wanted to see proof. I showed him our booking confirmation and he jotted down a few numbers and told me to take a seat.
After a few minutes I went back up to the desk to see if everything was ok and he said that he was just booking us in now, because 'he' hadn't checked the emails since earlier on that day. He made me feel as if it was my fault a room wasn' ready because of booking late afternoon and not turning up until late.
Eventually he gave us a room card and directed us to the lifts.
On arrival to the room we were greeted with a tired small cold room with one double bed and a very tired sofa bed. Not the kind of rooms the internet portray!!
After about 15 minutes we managed to get the sofa bed out. It was awful!!
There was no sheets or spare quilt only a tired musty smelling blanket in the wardrobe.
I was livid but we were all so tired from travelling for hours and then getting across London all we wanted to do was sleep.
The breakfast was a very POOR Continental. You had the choice of white or brown bread for toast, some jams, apples, bananas, 4 basic cereals, 1 ham, 1 cheese and a roll. - oh and fruit juice!
WOW!
After sitting for about 10 minutes I managed to get the attention of a 'waitress' (wearing jeans, pink socks and a grey/white creased shirt - lovely!!) we managed to get some tea, which was that weak when the milk was in it, it was grey!

After no tea, a slice of toast and a banana we left.
Certain never to return!

Room Tip: My tip : Dont book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights last week. (Dec 10th and 11th 2013)

We paid £200 for the two nights for two of us.

Continental breakfast included.

For the price the hotel was ok...basic but clean.

We were in a basement room which am guessing reflected the price.

However when we booked we did think we had grabbed an offer as the room was advertised as having been reduced from £800 to £200 and the pictures showed the big four poster bed.

I would not have paid £800 for the room we got.

It was a small room - creaky buy comfy clean bed.

The bathroom was tiny but again clean.

For what we paid and in the heart of London it was fine and I'd stay there again but wouldn't pay any more than we did.

The breakfast was ok - usual buffet style - toast cereal yogurt juice and tea or coffee.

There was the option to buy cooked breakfast as an extra.

Overall 6/10

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LPLawJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Henry VIII Hotel
#864 of 1,069 in London
1,054 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#359 of 1,069 in London
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Elizabeth Hotel
#799 of 1,069 in London
1,481 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#595 of 1,069 in London
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#401 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing