We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #896 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I normally stay at this hotel for business. When I booked in there was no hot water. We were told by management that it would be fixed next day unfortunately it was not fixed during my stay. I was staying for 4 nights and on the Tuesday of my stay they transferred me to their apartments. The service was not good and I would not stay again in this hotel. Many other guests had appeared to have the same problems.

Room Tip: Forget it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Customer Care at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback and it has been taken on board. We had major issue with our boilers and due to this, there was no hot water in the main building.

Please, accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. I can assure you that all points have been shared with respective departments.

Warm Regards,
Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    327
    238
    117
    135
See reviews for
164
354
50
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The commodore is a great location booked as a Christmas present and found it ideal for theatre and tourist attractions,but the rooms are a bit tired looking but comfortable enough bed, the breakfast was bland. Upon arrival people where checking out and asking for the hotel to pay for a taxi to another hotel which should have been a warning.
When we tried to have a shower we found no hot water when I returned to reception I was informed there was a problem with the boiler, I asked why we where not told on arrival the receptionist shrugged and said it may be fixed the next day and he could do nothing (at this point another guest cancelled her check-in and left). We had a meal booked that evening so I suggested maybe we could use another room, I returned to our room and5minutes later received a call to say a shower was available 2 floors above our room. The problem remained the next day so we again had to use the spare room before going the theatre. I know the boiler situation cannot be helped but surely we should have been informed.
On checking out we raised the fact that we had been inconvenienced 2out of 3 nights and was offered 20%of our first night only! not really good enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppins_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Customer Care at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and we value your feedback, We have noted the points mentioned below and will definitely look into it. We had issues with the boiler on the day and it take us a while to replace it into a complete new set of boilers.

On behalf of my team, I apologise for the inconvenience caused and look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I spent 3 days of my life in this very bad hotel (19-22 Jan 3014). No hot water, only very cold, bad WC, poor breakfast (in the first day, the bread was as a rock), very bad and noisy room (6th floor). It is an engine somewhere (down) and was working all the nights (stop & run-crazy). We couldn't sleep. All the furniture bad and uncleaned, dust in the corners, bad carpets. At the second looking you will see what I mean. Warning! Don't pay up front, only after, so, you have a chance to claim something. I didn't know this and they took all the money, without even some excuses for this super Bad (minus)4 stars hotel. I will never return here and I will warn on several sites about this unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Take another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We Stayed for 1 week towards end of December and It was lovely, We arrived so early for check in and our rooms were not ready, Front office staff offered to Safe keep our bags till check in time which was so conveneint for us to start exploring around till check in time .When we checked in to our room we found out that it is full of cigarettes smell covered by air fresheners despite that we requested for a non-smoking room, We were moved to another room immediately after complaining. The new room was clean, practical and average in size compared to London and Europe standards, bathroom was clean, Heating was ok and room view was on the back yard . Breakfast is served in the basement level and it was fine but not abundant just adequate with fresh components. Reception and Tea Salon are fabulous and the Victorian style is well preserved. Hotel does not serve alcoholic drink and this is well displayed in reception as well as on website, No reason for this However, this could be a plus for conservative Arab and Moslem guests. In-room WIFI is provided at a fee 12 pound a week and could be used for one device only. There are two operating tiny Elevators. Location of the Hotel is quite and perfect for exploring , it is near Lancaster Gate and Paddington tube stations and within walking distance from Queensway and Bayswater stations. Lots of restaurants exchanges, souvenirs shops and supermarkets on Queensway street many of them are serving halal food. Overall the hotel is offering a good value for money and convenient location.

Room Tip: If you are not smoker , Insisit on non smoking room and higher floor rooms are better than basement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ossama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at Commodore Hotel for two nights in a single room.

On the first night I started the airconditioning which worked well, but sprayed large pieces of dust/dirt from the blower on the bed and on the floor.
Prior to this the room was piping hot.

I cleared the blanket of dust and went to bed. About 40 minutes later a number of bedbugs were crawling all over the bed.
Immediately I went to the reception to report, it was now half past one in the morning.

A new room was given in the other section of the hotel.
The bathroom was cramped and I had trouble finding back from the room to reception.

Breakfast in the morning was continental. I asked for English breakfast at an additional price of £ 9.95.
After waiting for the eggs and bacon for thirty minutes I got tired of waiting and left the breakfast room.

Wifi had poor coverage (I got to try both sections of the hotel) and was an extra cost of £ 6.

On checkout I asked for some kind of compensation for the inconvenience of crawling bedbugs and change of room.
The receptionist said this was not possible.

The hotel tries to look good on their homepage and in the reception area, but you really should stear clear of this hotel. Location is good though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ofHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I cannot fault the hotel. the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean, with good décor and very comfortable. The area was quiet which meant we had a good nights sleep. We had a lovely stay and will be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We found that we could not plug our phones in to recharge as the plugs in the rooms had round pins a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DigiTalia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel as it was close to hyde park. Was looking forward to it giving as its 4*! Well the room we got given was more of a b&b style. With paint touch ups visible and in some areas it needed a touch up. Hair left in the bath from previous guests. And just a few other minor issues which doesn't make this a 4* hotel. Oh and we got charged twice for the pleasure. Still waiting to receive my refund and apology. Emailed the general manager but no response as of yet. No apology, no compensation no NOTHING!!? Shame. As myself and my son had a fantastic time in London.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeofstone_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Elysee Hotel
#577 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Henry VIII Hotel
#798 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#367 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Notting Hill
Princes Square Hotel
Princes Square Hotel
#703 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#432 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#396 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing