We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in convenient distance to central London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Mornington Hotel
Ranked #423 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and did enjoy the stay very much. We will definitely come here again next time visiting London.
As a general travel advise get yourself an Oystercard, they worked great. Expect to use between 8-10 pounds a day.

I did not try the breakfast so I cannot review it.

Pros:
- Smiling receptionists, warm and welcoming
- Clean rooms, and good cleaning service
- Very close to central london (oxford street, piccadilly) with the tube. Its also possible to walk to and from Oxford street, about 25 min walk, either on the sidewalk or through Hyde park.
- Only 10 min walk to Paddington station with Heahtrow express.
- Close to Hydepark
- Close to attractions such as Buckingham palace, westminster abbey and big ben. Just a 20-30 minute walk through the park

Cons:
- A few of the employees working there spoke poor English, and was at times difficult to understand
- The beds, in my personal opinion was a little hard
- The breakfast was way to expensive, 12.95 (or 10 preordered the day before). You can easily get a very decent breakfast other places for half the price.
- Small rooms, but hey we only sleep here, and spend our days in London, so no concern at all really.

How can you get even better? (only my personal suggestions)
- I was missing a small refrigerator or at least an ice bucket (since there were ice machine available) to keep bottled water or soda cold.
- Have a map in the rooms on how to walk to Paddington station.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evenfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Evenfell
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone a great experience.
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service that you received. The team are always pleased to hear that they are getting it right.
I have noted your comments about the beds. Whilst are beds are all brand new we are looking at ways to further enhance the sleeping experience. To this extent we have just purchased feather pillows for all of our beds.
We have also included a London map in the Guest directory and will continue to have copies at reception.
Once again thank you for your feedback. It is very useful. I look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in London.
Kind Regards

Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Mornington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed here through work. As a best western rewards card holder I was upgraded to a lovely room on the first floor. This is my first stay at this hotel and I will be back. I wasn't crazy about the breakfast - overcooked eggs don't do it for me! Otherwise, no complaints

Room Tip: First floor is great
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ledothoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Ledothoil
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone a great experience.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am pleased that you appreciated your upgrade. Where possible we will always ensure that all of our loyal Best Western guests will be upgraded.

I have also noted your comments about the eggs being over cooked. I have discussed this with our Restaurant Manager Edyta and also our chefs and we will be paying closer attention to the eggs to ensure that they are well presented.
I hope to welcome you the next time that you are in London
Kind Regards

Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron.wilson@mornington.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mllara_mendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
173dovile, Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank astoria74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
173dovile, Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helle_Boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
173dovile, Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank PaveseN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank pironi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
173dovile, Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#113 of 1,072 in London
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#404 of 1,072 in London
899 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#219 of 1,072 in London
631 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#211 of 1,072 in London
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mornington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mornington Hotel

Address: 12 Lancaster Gate | Westminster, London W2 3LG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#291 Luxury Hotel in London
#312 Family Hotel in London
#326 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Mornington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite Hyde Park and moments away from Paddington, The Best Western Mornington Hotel is an oasis of peace yet only minutes from London’s West End and Oxford Street.Completely refurbished to combine its Victorian Splendour with a modern contemporary finish, the BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel the perfect hotel for your visit to London. With 70 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, Complimentary High Speed WIFI throughout the Hotel, a professional meeting room, and stylish bar our London Hotel is perfect for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mornington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing