We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet, but single room is too small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Mornington Hotel
Ranked #410 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet, but single room is too small”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed there for business. Location is great, right next to Hyde Park. Hotel is clean and fully renovated. Great staff. I had a single room, it was spotless but small. If you staying more than 1 night, you might want to get a bigger room and bigger bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Vasily K
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would agree with you the Single rooms are a better fit for short stays. We do have Double rooms with Queen sized beds and Twins which can be Super King Sized for those that wish to have a larger bed.
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate all the feedback that we get as it is the most useful tool we have to improve the stays of future guests.
I hope to welcome you back when you are next in London.
Yours sincerely
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    336
    138
    40
    19
See reviews for
137
261
90
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I had booked 2 nights in this hotel for my Mums 70th birthday and we were not disappointed. Our room was not ready when we checked in but we were able to leave our luggage in a locked room. When we returned later on in the day our luggage had been left in our room for us which was nice and also was a bottle of wine and a letter to wish my Mum a happy birthday. I had requested about a month before our stay if we could have a good room as it was a special occasion and Bryon the manager made sure we had a lovely twin room and a good size.
Everything in the hotel was spotlessly clean and modern and the breakfasts were excellent. I also found all the staff to be polite and friendly.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSEMARY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Rosie Fitz,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased that both you and your mum enjoyed your visit with us. I am very pleased that you found the team to be friendly and polite. I am very lucky to have a great team who want to make every guest happy.
I hope to see you again for the 71st birthday
Yours sincerely
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

And I mean little - to start with we checked in the smallest room I have ever seen - there was no place to open a suite case never mind two. The bed was closed in by 3 walls so you had to climb over my husband to get out. We asked to be moved to a larger room and they did the next day, and the room was a little larger but the bathroom was smaller and the elevator was right outside our door. the window looked out to all the air vents - was the noisiest room ever as well. We were booked & paid for 6 days so we couldn't even cancel and move to another hotel - and it was very expensive for so little. We are Diamond Elite members but that didn't help. The desk staff was trying to be helpful but not very friendly. The breakfasts were good but the same very day - the staff was great. Needless to say it was the first time we were disappointed by a Best Western.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear CarenK
Thank you very for taking the time to share your experience with us on tripadvisor. We appreciate all the feedback that we get as it is the most useful tool we have to improve the stays of future guests.
I am sorry that we were unable to allocate you a room to suit your needs. I have noted your comments and we are reviewing our room allocation for long staying guests so that they can have larger rooms.
We pride ourselves on consistency in both the service and the product at breakfast. We did consider having changing items but the feedback that we received indicated that guests would prefer having a good selection daily that stay the same.
Once again please accept my apologies for a disappointing stay. I hope that you will give us another chance and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me
Yours sincerely
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

For:perfectly located,partially renovated, quiet spot,the subway 3 minute walk, the breakfast tasty
Against: the rooms were small, no fridge, the breakfast room in the basement floor( no view),the concierge stuff seemed inexperienced yet friendly.
Verdict:the choice is yours

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArisWon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear ArisWon
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we did not give you a great stay on this occasion.
I have noted your comments about the partial renovation and wondered what you considered to be unfinished or could be improved.
I agree that in comparison to other cities in the world London Hotels have smaller rooms and will make use of all the available space which is why the lower ground floor is nearly always used for guests.
I do appreciate your feedback as it helps us understand what we need to improve. I hope that you will give us another chance and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me
Yours sincerely
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A two-double-room one-night booking made SIX WEEKS prior to arrival. Very disappointed. Lovely helpful staff, and one room was OK, albeit without either any bathroom glasses or even a plastic shower cap. The other room was so miniscule that the double-bed had to be positioned under the window and ACROSS the 2 metre width of the room, thus with walls right up against THREE sides of it. Lord alone knows how the maid coped with changing the bed-linen. Obviously a mere part of a former larger original room, and then again subsequently changed from a single-bed to double-bed occupancy. Absolutely ridiculous. Avoid tiny room 113 at all costs. At £157.50 room only for one night Outrageous ! For an extra £15 per person (£12.50 per person if pre-booked) buffet breakfast was actually quite good. However, we would not risk getting another room like that.
Read less
Genuine Hotels.com guest review

Room Tip: Even booking six weeks in advance is clearly no guarantee of an acceptable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AviationSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear AviationSpirit
Thank you very for taking the time to share your experience with us on tripadvisor. We appreciate all the feedback that we get as it is the most useful tool we have to improve the stays of future guests.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. I understand your feelings about room 113. We try where possible to allocate the rooms to meet the needs of each guest but this is not always possible. I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly.
Once again thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me
Yours sincerely
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I spent 28 nights here and the only thing that I would change is that I would carpet the room floors as they are noisy. The room was updated as advertised with a very new and clean looking bathroom. The staff is friendly and since I stayed so long, I spoke with many of them. I did not try the breakfast as it was too pricey for me. The lobby and bar areas are clean and comfortable. The best selling point for me was the location to the nearest tube (Lancaster Gate is about 1.5 blocks) and Paddington train/tube station which has a direct route from Heathrow Airport was about 6 short blocks away. The fountains in Hyde park are very closeby. There are a number of ethnic restaurants and services in the immediate area and more are located about a 15 minute walk away near the Queensway tube station. I would choose this hotel again as it was in a fairly peaceful road just off the main road.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room away from the elevators and I got one which was so appreciated since I was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiki63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Tiki63
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on tripadvisor. I appreciate all the feedback that we get and we will go through the feedback on a daily basis as it helps us to improve the experience for future guests.
It is very good to get positive feedback and know that we met your expectations and great to hear you loved the location.
Once again thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me
Yours sincerely
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Beautiful interior, modern decor. excellent location, across the road from Hyde Park, close to tube and buses, nice walk to Oxford Street. Stayed in a single room, good size with tea and coffee facilities. Nice bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron W, General Manager at Best Western Mornington Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Christina W
Thank you very for taking the time to share your experience with us on tripadvisor. We appreciate all the feedback that we get as it is the most useful tool we have to improve the stays of future guests.
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Once again thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me
Yours sincerely
Byron Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN MORNINGTON HOTEL
Email: byron@mornington.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#110 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#362 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#194 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mornington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mornington Hotel

Property: Best Western Mornington Hotel
Address: 12 Lancaster Gate | Westminster, London W2 3LG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#284 Luxury Hotel in London
#312 Family Hotel in London
#326 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Mornington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite Hyde Park and moments away from Paddington, The Best Western Mornington Hotel is an oasis of peace yet only minutes from London’s West End and Oxford Street.Completely refurbished to combine its Victorian Splendour with a modern contemporary finish, the BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel the perfect hotel for your visit to London. With 70 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, Complimentary High Speed WIFI throughout the Hotel, a professional meeting room, and stylish bar our London Hotel is perfect for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mornington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing