We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheating”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of So Paddington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
So Paddington
Ranked #972 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Ramallah
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheating”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

What you experience in this terrible hotel has nothing to do with the promotion of their website through booking.com. Rooms are very small, bath is so dirty, no internet services as they claim is free, no changing of sheets, no sweaping the floors. When we complained they offer us 10% off which we did not agree. The bottom line is a very terrible place to stay. We would sue them for the cheating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HK287701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    49
    83
    42
    146
See reviews for
31
133
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corsham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked a 1-night stay for 15 June 2013 and were about an hour away when we received an e-mail to say that there was a problem with the hotel and they were re-locating us to the So West Luxury Apartments in Shepherds Bush, 6 stops away on the Underground. They alleged that they had tried to call us but there were no records of missed calls on any of our phones.We went straight to the apartments to find that it was a multi-storey block of flats on Shepherds Bush Road with no reception area. We rang the hotel to be told that they would send someone along 'within 10 minutes'. About 5minutes (and a soaking) later someone appeared from inside the building and let us in. Having confirmed our names he let us in to what must be admitted was a very pleasant and fairly new apartment, although to describe it as 'luxury' could be stretching the truth a little. We had booked for bed and breakfast and asked if there were any arrangements for breakfast, but of course there weren't any. By this time we were late for our appointment near to Paddington Station and had to take a taxi, costing £16. We went back to the apartment but found it difficult to get to sleep due to the continuous traffic noise outside, which went on until the early hours. We were woken early by the sound of the morning traffic, including the sirens of emergency vehicles well before 7a.m.
Obviously we had to find somewhere to buy breakfast, which cost us a further £26.
We contacted the So Paddington Hotel on our return home and after some discussions they have given us a refund of £10 to cover the cost of breakfast. Basically they couldn't care less about the additional costs and inconvenience that we incurred and so far as customer care is concerned they get a minus score.
Incidentally if you decide to stay at the 'Luxury Apartments' we suggest you take your own cooking utensils, as they were limited to 2 saucepans and nothing else!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CrustyTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Thanks for the email dated 02.06.2013. We couldn't reply to earlier since after London we went to Zurich and Switzerland and we just came back on 09.06.2013. Our stay at Padington Hotel,was truly memorable and we thoroughly enjoyed the same. The location was superb and hospitality of all the staff, at reception in the breakfast room etc. was very good. We will definitely visit and stay at the hotel during our next visit PL do give us priority.I have already recommended the hotel to a friend of mine who is likely to visit London in September.

R.G.Sheth

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank shethrajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed in this house of horror in march 2013 for 4 days , and it was the worst days of my life.
The room was tiny with a very cheap bed mattress , the windows do not close properly and the central heating not working and it was freezing in london in the end of march . The room had a tv with wrong remote , I asked the reception and every day I get the wrong remote so I spend 4 days without a tv. The breakfast room's door is under the stairs so it is a real challenge to find it . The reception manager was the most polite and inefficient man in the world all he knows is (I am terribly sorry sir) and then he does nothing to fix the probleme. Stay clear of this hotel , u will regret it

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lysemadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Bathroom was TINY but apart from that very comfortable and friendly. Was expecting the worst after reading the reviews but it was completely adequate. Close to Paddington tube, restaurants everywhere, and a simple but nice breakfast :) I don't know what people expect for £80 p/n in central London!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alivaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

A low class hotel with some failures, yes, but considering the location and the price I do not think you should expect more in London.
I have been to London about 10 times, and it is hard to find a cheep, central hotel without sharing toilet/bathroom, and also breakfast is not always included.
Falures was things as: Tiny space, old furniture, old bed, not so thorough cleaning, bad coffee, cold eggs for breakfast, and not always happy staff. So if you think you can live with those minor failures, I definitely will recommend this hotel.
Wifi was easily accesible everywhere at the hotel.
So, all together very high value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Abolutely shocking hotel with terrible customer service! The rooms are grim and the bathrooms are terrible. We paid for an en-suite bathroom only to find in the morning that our shower didn't even work! I know from overhearing other guests outside our room that they also had the same problem. We reported it to reception and asked for a refund as clearly we had for an en-suite room so we could have a shower in the morning, clearly this is not a normal activity! The receptionist advised that he was 'new' and couldn't authorise a refund. I then spent 10 days trying to get hold of the manager who eventually refunded us a measly £20! Unbelievable given that I had spent 10 days trying to get hold of her and was told every time I called up she would call me. AVOID

Room Tip: Avoid, you would be better off camping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Littlefi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#777 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Ashley London
#895 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#661 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#622 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Dolphin Hotel
#608 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to So Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about So Paddington

Property: So Paddington
Address: 6-8 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England (Formerly Warwick Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #972 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — So Paddington 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel housed in a listed building dating from the 1920s; situated in a tree lined square; 200 mts from Paddington station; walking distance to Hyde Park and Edware Road; Newly refurbished and reopened in Oct 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your So Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
So Paddington Hotel London
Warwick Hotel London
London Warwick Hotel
Warwick London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing