We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good just for a ‘Crash’.”
Review of Henley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Henley House Hotel
Ranked #299 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good just for a ‘Crash’.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The reception is a deception. Old furniture, way worn carpets boxes, suitcases whatever all around. I almost turned around and ran, but the girl on the front desk was so polite I couldn’t. I was alone and my room was very very very compact but 100% refurbished with many modern appliances, free high speed internet. BUT I don’t know if every room has been refurbished, it seems they are in the process. Windows are sound resistant, but walls and floor are NOT and you hear other guests sneezing. For instance it was a calm Saturday night and no one disturbed my dreams, but I would not rely on that. The continental breakfast does not accommodate the many guests and becomes a bit clumsy. Around the corner there are plenty great breakfasts. Elevator does not reach all rooms, I was on the 4th floor and had to carry up luggage 20 steps up, but later I realized that was good for silence (I had asked on Booking.com for a quiet room). The good point is to be 50 yards from Earls Court metro station and lots of restaurants / pubs.

Room Tip: Get as top floor as possible to avoid anyone walking on your head. Take ear-plugs along because next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwideleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    267
    67
    26
    10
See reviews for
72
200
85
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic value for the money. Hallways are still bring renovated, but the rooms are up to the standards of far more expensive places. Well designed, attractive decor with thoughtful touches like USB charging docks and a small refrigerator.

Great location as well that is a very short walk from the Earl's Court tube station and surrounded by many great restaurants (from cheap to posh and almost any cuisine).

Good neighbourhood pubs, too.

Staff we're friendly and helpful, and the hotel is on a charming street.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Southfarthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jajbhay, Owner at Henley House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Really appreciate your very kind comments. The current refurbishment of the public areas will be completed by your next stay , so we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel must be the worst in the Earls Court area. I wanted a quiet night but I could hear other visitors in adjoining rooms.

Wouldnt stay here again, if you paid me. The most noisiest location ever and no double glazing. Broken window and dreadful curtains.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYBERGIRL5989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jajbhay, Owner at Henley House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Sorry to hear that you were clearly not pleased during your stay. We are however taken a little aback. The hotel has been completely refurbished over the past 12 months and probably you stayed in one of our unrefurbished rooms at the time (I believe you stayed last October). The 'old' rooms were nevertheless of good quality we believe. We certainly have not received complaints about noise as you seem to have experienced. The hotel is also located on a very quiet side road so street noise is very low for central London standards. We do hope you will stay with us again and hopefully rave about the hotel next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here by myself and therefore booked a single room. The place is cosy and has a warm feeling as you arrive, however my room wasn't so great. Not particularly clean and it must have been one of the "old" rooms, as it really smelt of dust, besides the fact that it was tiny. I could see some photos of much more modern looking rooms however mine was nowhere as close to that. I think the room I was given needs maintenance, maybe starting from changing that horrible carpet that looked really old. The matress wasn't great either. Al in all though, considering I was only there for 2 nights and always stayed out during the day, plus the fact that I didn't pay that much makes the place OK I guess, for London. The breakfast room is really lovely and the breakfast itself was good too. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jajbhay, Owner at Henley House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Very taken aback by this review. All ours rooms have just been refurbished to a high standard and all the room carpets are completely new As are all the mattresses. The single rooms are small but are well designed we believe. The public areas are currently being refurbished but this has no impact upon the rooms. We do not have any 'old' rooms, hence our surprise at the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is well situated. Although it is very old outside, the room that stayed was very modern and confortable. The room wasn't very good cleaned .... She left the trash over the sofa, didn't wash my glass of wine, the floor of my bathrrom wasn't cleaned. The breakfast is very simple. There is a supermarket very close to the hotel só you can have some stuffs in yr room. The train station is also very close

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_rodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I honestly cannot fault this hotel! The location is right in the centre of Earls Court so very handy for the tube, bars, restaurants and shops. The staff were all lovely. The rooms have been refurbished to an excellent standard with all the modcons you could ever ask for. It is London so of course the rooms are on the small side but not uncomfortably so. The bed was very comfy, the TV was excellent with an excellent choice of channels and connectivity options. The wifi was the fastest I've ever experienced in a hotel, and for free! And to top it all off, I got an absolutely fantastic rate on Booking.com. I will definitely be staying here again when I next visit London.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna89379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

What a great little hotel! I stayed in a solo traveller's room, which was the size of about two office cubicles. Most would feel clasutraphobic in this small space, about the width of the bed itself, but they really did it well. The TV is right at the foot of the bed, for easy viewing of Come Dine with Me. There is a fridge right under the shelf/end table portion for easy storage of any goods you might buy at the nearby M&S Food Hall. The staff was friendly, and it had a working elevator, but some staris up to this top floor room. Breakfast was in a cute conservatory.

The bathroom is amazing and modern. The room itself feels luxurious, given its lighting and modern appointments. The bed was super comfortable, and even though it was a twin, I never felt short changed.

Overall, I would recommend Henley House single rooms to solo travellers, it was a great price in an amazing location by the Earl's Court tube.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#398 of 1,068 in London
164 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#170 of 1,068 in London
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,698 reviews
South Kensington
The Rockwell
The Rockwell
#280 of 1,068 in London
624 reviews
South Kensington
The Rembrandt
The Rembrandt
#222 of 1,068 in London
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henley House Hotel

Property: Henley House Hotel
Address: 30 Barkston Gardens | Earl's Court, London SW5 0EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
#274 Romantic Hotel in London
#302 Business Hotel in London
#325 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Henley House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a picturesque residential garden square, Henley House is a unique boutique hotel located in the vibrant Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea in the heart of London. This beautiful traditional townhouse has been given a fresh new look and concept, offering a rich blend of modern decor and classical features. Our contemporary styled air conditioned rooms have been designed with the utmost care and attention to detail. High quality fixtures and fittings ensure comfort and elegance, whilst LED and fibre optic lighting create a romantic and calming ambiance. Our vision of interior design is modern minimalist.We stand for luxurious accommodation at exceptional value and offer a level of personal comfort, friendly service and charm that only a small hotel can. All of our rates include a continental breakfast buffet, high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Our specially designed workstation, which includes a custom made desk with a built in audio and video connectivity panel, enables you to access the Internet and synchronise any portable device with the in-room Smart TV. The Samsung Smart High Definition TV comes with free facilities including a full web browsing option, perfect for if you are travelling without your personal laptop. And of course, all of our rooms are air conditioned/climate controlled and can be adjusted to your personal comfort level through the in-room control panel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Henley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Hotel London
Henley London
Henley House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing