We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, small room”
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ambassadors Hotel
Ranked #939 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Mannheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, small room”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The hotel is very close to the tube and to the bus station, from there its only a 10
min. ride to Oxford Street... The service is ok and the room i stayed in was clean but very small. If you wanne experience London and not the hotel room its a good place to stay .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly Grischenk... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    243
    396
    247
    347
See reviews for
261
404
90
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Room good value for its price, small but sufficient. Location is brilliant. Very bad customer service. When I asked at reception for a jug of water as I was thirsty I was told that the kitchen was closed and to drink from the tap in the bathroom of my room. The bathroom water in my room was boiling hot (even from the cold tap) and I tried to explain this to the receptionist but of no avail. There are no vending machines located in the hotel and I found this of great dissatisfaction. Also staff in the bar and working at reception seemed unhappy working at their posts and lacked vital communication skills. For somebody who is a well seasoned traveller I think that this experience was simply unacceptable and would strongly hope that this would not happen again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed for one night in this hotel, when we were going to The Royal Albert Hall and our room was clean and fresh and our bed was comfortable. Its in a good location, close to tube stations, shops, restaurants etc. I would definately stay again it was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Look, I know we all want a deal when it comes to staying in a hotel. But you also don't want to pay more than it was worth--as is the case with the Ambassadors Hotel. The hotel website offers one thing and what you get is completely different. I'm not sure how they managed to get a 3 Star rating when it's considerably lower in standards, quality and services rendered.

My husband and I stayed overnight on March 20th. We booked it for a cost of 50 GBP and thought that was going to be fine (the hotel website appeared to offer a clean and comfortable place to stay). We were not looking for luxury -- only clean and comfortable.
Sadly, it failed on both accounts.

The first problem was the fact that the radiator in the room was permanently "on" and there was no thermostat in the room to allow you to cool it down (the control knobs had been removed). The window only opened 3 inches and it felt like a sauna. Spoke to the The front desk and was told:"That's how it is in all the rooms." and that we'd have to cope or find someplace else to stay.

Did I mention that the hotel gave great customer service (oh, wait, they didn't!).

I managed to cool the room (a little) by placing soaking wet towels over the radiator every hour (they dried that quickly!). Woke with dry, scratchy throats and not well rested for the meetings we had to attend the next day. :(

The room itself was miniscule but who really cares about that?
It was just someplace to sleep...Just be certain you don't expect it to look, or be the size of the rooms shown on the website.

Ours was about 1/3 the size of any of the rooms shown. Cosmetically, the room had seen better days. Molding had been torn off the wall, the bathroom door was warped and damaged with water (see bathroom comment below) and the walls of the room were dirty and stained. Room contained 1 full size bed, 1 desk & desk chair, a wardrobe that held the tv, coffee/tea making apparatus and was attached to the desk.
After walking into the room and seeing the state of it I did a thorough inspection for signs of bedbugs. You can't be too careful and also it was a bad sign that when you step out of the elevator you are assaulted by the smell of bug spray/insecticide. If you are allergy sensitive to scents/chemicals like that you should find a different place to stay.

Was it worth the money? Eh.
I think the next trip to London we'll stay in a B&B where at least we can get someone who'll fix an issue if we have one (like the non-stop heat). It was nice that it was an easy walk to the V&A and Hyde Park, but where it really matters--the quality of sleep and being able to refresh yourself in the shower and relax it failed terribly.

Please note the website claims that you get the following:

"Shower/tub combination" --- No. It must depend on what room they put you in. You can see the photo of our shower/bathroom. If you're tall (my husband is 6ft) you're stuffed as he had to keep his head bent to keep from hitting the ceiling. The Shower "cubicle" allowed water all over the floor (and was a hassle) and there was mold and mildew in the bathroom.

"Extra towels/bedding" Towels were fine except no flannels/washcloths were provided, and the bed had 1 sheet and 1 really worn, ragged fleece throw as a blanket that really ought to have been put in the doghouse some time ago.

"Cable/satellite TV" ---No. Just freeview.

"In-room safe " --- None.

The hotel offers Wi-fi if you pay for it (fair enough) and a breakfast that is priced at a whopping 15 GBP per person. Do yourself a favor and hit one of the sidewalk cafes or pop across the way to Sainsburys and buy yourself the goods to make a breakfast! Much more economical that way.

Bottom line: You pay more than it's worth, you get crummy customer service, and I wouldn't stay there again--Or recommend it ---unless you have no where else to go.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel. This one is overpriced, seriously lacking in customer care and quality of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mallory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a budget hotel in a great location. Short walk to the underground tube stations Earls Court and Gloucester Road stations. Near those stations are good selections of resturants, Money exchange, post office, and laundry. The neighborhood the hotel is located in is very nice and is close to art museums, a hospital, and kensington palace. I would recommend this hotel for people who only want a hotel room to sleep,shower, and store bags. This is a very simple and small room. The shower was a tiny stall and the beds were cheap. The positives are the location, the helpful staff, the continental breakfast and the price for the room. I base my average review with the understanding that most European hotels are small. Overall I was happy with my vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakkeveen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed in many hotels in my life, but hardly saw any hotel like this one. The automatic door that you see on the picture, wasn't working. So you had to squeeze your hands in between these doors and push it open. Cables where hanging out of the ceiling. Rooms where terribly small and outdated. In bathroom, you couldn't even turn yourself, that small. You had to go in first, before you could turn yourself and close the door. Otherwise you couldn't even sit on the toilet, because the door hit the toilet when opening it. On day of arrival I had to pay 5 pound just to put my hand luggage there because I couldn't check in yet. Breakfast is overpriced. Better walk towards to the underground station and have breakfast there. It's cheaper and prepared fresh.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#726 of 1,069 in London
1,053 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#468 of 1,069 in London
2,068 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#789 of 1,069 in London
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#669 of 1,069 in London
295 reviews
Central Park Hotel
#865 of 1,069 in London
2,656 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#855 of 1,069 in London
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Hotel

Property: Ambassadors Hotel
Address: 16 Collingham Road | Earls Court, London SW5 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #939 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with multilingual staff, comfortable rooms; situated close to Gloucester Road. Ambassadors Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from Earl’s Court Underground Station, and Harrods is a 20-minute walk. Hyde Park and the Royal Albert Hall are just a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassadors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing