We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Travelled Couple Update”
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ambassadors Hotel
Ranked #939 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well Travelled Couple Update”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I booked a weekend package to london 15-19 May 2013 staying at this hotel. When we entered the hotel the reception it was clean and well presented allbeit slightly cramped. Checking in was easy, we were given a room on the 5th floor, ouch the room was tiny, I could touch all 4 walls by only stepping on medium stride each way from the centre of the room. The wardrobe space was woefull, 3 hangers 8 inches deep and an iron. We had to virtually live out of our suitcases for the whole weekend. The shower room was resonable, but the cleanliness was somewhat lacking. Continental breakfast was good as was the restaurant food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    243
    396
    247
    347
See reviews for
261
404
90
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Next time I will ask for prices from my travel agent and ask what sort of room. Stuck in the basement with no windows and no idea what time of the day or night it was. As for the continental breakfast, the only thing I would eat was the toast and the coffee was swill.

Room Tip: Check if you are in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandsend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The only good points about this hotel are its location in proximity to Olympia - it's still a mile away and it's relatively low price. My room (102) was inordinately noisy with what seemed like a plant room next door. A bottle of cheap red and moving the bed so I was in a node meant I had a reasonable night but it could have been quite intolerable. Watch out for the illegal notices about charging for smoking or hanging clothes on the TV - shades of basil faulty. Would avoid it on future occassions and I suggest you do.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DTPybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

A semi modern hotel ideal for short stays. Don't expect any frills and the rooms are small. However it is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast (continental) is good and it is a five minute walk from Glouster rd tube station connecting you with the whole of London.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeremiah_Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Not at all good value for money. They charge you a pound for an hour of internet and it can only be used in one device. The rooms look really cheap for 80 pound hotel room in south kensington. The bathrooms look quite run down as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durreh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Pretty much as the title says. Clean but basic. Cheap for Kensington during the Easter holidays, 83 for a double room. Service ok. Only one lift to upper floors. Get what you pay for. Close to Gloucester Rd tube. 5 mins walk.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank markfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurrajong Heights, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I've stayed in the Ambassadors Hotel a few times. It's a short walk to Gloucester Road tube station (on the Picadilly line) and close to Earl's Court and some good pubs. Okay, it's not five-star but cheap and secure. You're in London folks, you don't want to be hanging around in your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vernon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#726 of 1,069 in London
1,053 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#468 of 1,069 in London
2,068 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#789 of 1,069 in London
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#669 of 1,069 in London
295 reviews
Central Park Hotel
#865 of 1,069 in London
2,655 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#855 of 1,069 in London
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Hotel

Property: Ambassadors Hotel
Address: 16 Collingham Road | Earls Court, London SW5 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #939 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with multilingual staff, comfortable rooms; situated close to Gloucester Road. Ambassadors Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from Earl’s Court Underground Station, and Harrods is a 20-minute walk. Hyde Park and the Royal Albert Hall are just a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassadors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing