We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time I have stayed here.....and it wont be the last!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliver Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oliver Plaza Hotel
Ranked #651 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Second time I have stayed here.....and it wont be the last!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I initially found this hotel as a last minute booking for a business trip to London - and what a gem it is!

The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is more than sufficient with a variety of choice and the rooms on both occasions I have stayed have been very clean, warm, large enough for my needs and everything you need in a hotel room. It is in a quiet location yet ideally located for eating out in the evening and catching the tube in the morning.

This is now my hotel of choice for business trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Adam,

Thank you for posting a positive review about the Oliver Plaza hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you were overall happy with your stay and you have chosen our hotel for the second time. Our customer service combined with our great location works very well for our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    204
    140
    66
    36
See reviews for
119
187
48
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Elsoff, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hotel is really to be recommended. The situation is very central and, nevertheless, the hotel lies in a little quieter byroad. The next U railway station is removed only approx. 2 minutes. Moreover, the hotel was very clean and food was also very good. Just as the very friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Lieber Markus,

I was thrilled to read your positive feedback following your stay in Oliver Plaza.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our warm and friendly service. As always our location, facilities and service has combined well to make your stay with us an enjoyable experience.

Reading such a great review is always a real pleasure. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Kavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I made a reservation through the internet - got a confirmation on a family room. when we arrived there they did not have the reserved type of room, this is at 6pm Saturday evening with 2 kids, I felt stuck but did not want to squeeze into this tiny room - we finally left the same day. At home we found out that they still changed us on our credit card.

Room Tip: expect little
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ph528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapricornHotels, Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear ph528,

Thank you for contacting us, we have now investigated the case.

We are extremly disapponted about this review, because our team has done everything to satisfy your needs.
You have booked a family room for 3 nights and requested for 3 single beds. Upon arrival as you first wanted to see the room and you have asked for room with 1 king size bed and 2 other separate beds, we have offered a studio room as a free upgrade. Unfortunately, you decided not to stay at the hotel, so we charged you only for the first night, as per our booking terms and conditions.
We still hope, that you will return to Oliver Plaza and we can prove, that we have great customer service.

Kind Regards,
Kavin
We have clear description that family room is with 2 double beds and have given triple due to his special request , offered him complimentary upgrade to satisfy him. He had never contacted the hotel directly after that for any discussion .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed at the Oliver Plaza 6 nights, overall it was really good, service was great! We wanted to buy last minute tickets to see the Lion King and they booked it for us with no hassles.
The morning breakfast is great and the rooms were very clean.
Location is okay, bit out of the central part of London in Earls Court but has supermarkets near by and fast food and restaurants.
Also! it is a very close walk to the train station so getting around to places isn't hard.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s_goddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I was really happy to read your comments following your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to do this.

I'm delighted that you felt our location and neighbouring facilities delivered everything that you needed and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel. I have passed on your kind words to my team here.

We now look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in paid about 120 pounds per night for a twin room. The hotel is basic but clean and the rooms are quite spacious for hotels in this price range. The location is excellent just a couple of minutes walk to Earls Court Tube station. I found the staff quite helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear Bryce Y,

Thank you for posting a positive review about the Oliver Plaza hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you were overall happy with your stay and found our rooms spacious and clean. Your short but to the point review is very much what our staff likes to offer at The Oliver Plaza – great service without any fuss! This combined with our great location works very well for our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clapham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I booked this hotel because it looked nice online, How wrong I was. We arrived first thing in the morning and where rudely informed to come back later. Abit taken aback we left our bags and came back later. They couldn't find our booking, then when they did they claimed we had not paid anything, which we HAD. The we got our room keys, went to our room and NOT BEEN MADE. It was in the state the last occupant left it in. A guy checking in the same time got the room next door and he also had his room not made.

They moved us to another room. This room was so small that just by having a suitcase we had no room to move, no fridge, no storage, no room, 1 tiny pillow, the bathroom had no shelfs so we had to put our things on the toilet, the toilet that was so squished into the corner you had to use it sideways to fit. The rooms also had no double glazing so we spent the night lying awake listening to every person who walked past, or screamed or drove or had a fight ect ect.

We got up in the morning to rush down for breakfast, we got no choice in what we had, just what was given, and it was FOUL. Not that the waitress/cleaner cared, she was rude and spoke little english.

ANother point is the rooms heaters cannot be controlled from inside the room, as a result our room was boiling hot, we had to wait for them to turn off the whole building for it to cool down, which didn't happen till 2am.

I would never recommend anyone staying in this poorly run, understaffed, ruin of a hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book here, but if you must, get on the top floor, it MIGHT be a tad less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear Laura,

I am so sorry to read your review about Oliver Plaza. Clearly we have not come up to the mark on this occasion and apologise for your experience. We do not ever give the impression of being much bigger than we actually are, and am sorry to read if that is what has happened.

Our check in time is 2pm and we make it very clear on our reservation confirmation but we do have a luggage room were guest can store there luggage incase of an early arrival or late departure.

We are very sorry to hear about the heating problems you faced. Due to the cold weather in London during November we had switched the heating on but there is a regulator in every room to control temperature and I’m sure had you asked anyone at reception they would have helped you.

Once again I am sorry to read that we did not come to your expected standard but hope this was not due to any miscommunication on our part.

Kind Regards,
Suresh David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
172 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Based on their website, I thought this hotel would be nicer than it actually was, but they have too much working against them...small rooms that prohibit you from walking around the bed without turning sideways, no chair for the "desk", tiny bathrooms where your knees hit the wall when using the toilet and showers the size of a phone booth. The wi-fi system in absolutely archaic and not user-friendly - you have to get a code for a specific number of hours, and you can't use the same code on mulitple devices, and you can't log back on with the same code after you've logged off. And they have the nerve to charge you for that nonsense!! The elevator was the size of a phone booth, and painfully slow. They require you to leave your key when you leave the hotel for "safety" reasons, but it's only b/c they are too cheap to use normal keys or a keyless system. Several times I asked for no housekeeping, but my wishes were ignored. The volume on the tv didn't work, so I couldn't even enjoy that. No closet for clothes - there is a pole that sticks out of the wall over the microwave, so your clothes block that and then get in the way when you're walking around the bed. Walls are very thin - I heard my neighbor sneezing and moving his furniture around.
All in all, a poor choice. I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, but you still need to keep the window closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Oliver Plaza hotel, we value your feedback as it allows us to improve our guest experience.

Whilst I am happy to read that you enjoyed our convenient location, I am most concerned to read of your disappointment with our service and facilities. We work hard to deliver a warm and friendly service and make our guests stay as comfortable as possible which reflects in all other reviews. Although I am sure your experience was a "one off" we will take this on the chin and review how we are perceived as we realise the importance of "first impressions". Please be assured that your comments have already been followed up.

It is disappointing for any stay to end on a low note, and even more so to learn that you would not consider returning to Oliver Plaza. I am very sorry that your stay with us was not as positive as that of others on this site.

Yours Sincerely,
Suresh David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#842 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#409 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#562 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#659 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#732 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#529 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver Plaza Hotel

Property: Oliver Plaza Hotel
Address: 33 Trebovir Rd, London SW5 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#310 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oliver Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the cosmopolitan area of Earl's Court, the new look of the Oliver Plaza Hotel offers you now even more sumptuous surroundings. We've upgraded the entire hotel to superior 3* standard, with new contemporary furniture in all areas, state-of-the-art LCD satellite televisions in all rooms, messaging facilities and free Internet wi-fi throughout the hotel, to give you an unrivalled guest experience and unrivalled value. Convenient located in a beautiful Victorian neighbourhood, near the Oliver Plaza you will find the top worldwide museums such as Natural & History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museum, top London must-see landmarks like Harrods, Hyde Park and many more, also the city centre is just in a very short travelling distance with the Piccadilly line. With no less than 123 different locations within easy reach from the nearby Earl's Court underground station, The Oliver Plaza is the perfect location. If you are visiting London for business (the Olympia London is just 5 min with the tube) or leisure, a visit to the Oliver Plaza Hotel is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Oliver Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver Plaza London
Hotel Oliver Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing