We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLEAN AND CENTRAL, BUT SMALL AND IN NEED OF UPGRADING”
Review of Oliver Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oliver Plaza Hotel
Ranked #684 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in London for two days after a cruise, to see the sights and get a taste of London.
Everything in London is expensive, and rather than pay 200 pounds or more on a room, we took a chance on a less expensive room.
Only one block from Earl's Court, this hotel is very central and in a very good spot for walking to the tube, buses and really decent places to eat. The hotel is a very short bus ride or tube ride from Kensington, a great shopping area that includes Herrods. Once in Kensington, you can board the Big Bus Tour that takes you to all the tourist sights and shopping areas of London for 30 pounds per person, and you can get on and off the bus any time you want for a period of 24 hours. Very handy! If you'd rather take a cab from Kensington to the Oliver Plaza, it's about 12 pounds to do that and quite inexpensive, and not as stressful as the bus or tube.
The hotel staff are VERY FRIENDLY and ACCOMMODATING. Kevan, the hotel manager did everything he could to make our stay a good one. And the room cleaning staff was quick to respond to our requests for more towels or anything else.
The rooms are VERY SMALL....we had luggage from a 2 weeks cruise and honestly, there's hardly room to store your suitcases in the size of the room....picture 2 single beds against the walls, with a very narrow night table between and a desk almost immediately at the end of the bed..that's the space you get. WE had a nice window that opened, so that was a plus. Although the rooms were very small, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean, but the whole hotel is in an old house (as most of them are in that area) and so it sure could use some upgrading. The area was quiet for the mostpart, but you could hear the people next door quite easily. For the amount of time we spent in the room, I was glad we didn't spend any more pounds on something else.
If you are looking for clean, friendly, central , reasonably priced including breakfast, and don't mind small and a bit tired, this is a very good place to stay. Think Comfort Inn style only smaller....When in London, do NOT expect what we get here in Canada or the U.S .for a reasonably priced hotel....
We ate at an Italian restaurant on Earl's Court and a Thai restaurant on one of the side streets and they were both reasonably priced and tasty.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: lots of stairs, so opt for the ground floor. they do have bigger rooms if you request them but of c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saloun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear John,

Thank you for your recent review of Oliver Plaza Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our warm and friendly service. As always our location, facilities and service has combined well to make your stay with us an enjoyable experience.

The rooms may seem a bit small for our guests from the US and from Canada. Our hotel is in a converted building, therefore we have different room sizes, and no standard room size. Indeed, within the same category they could be different.

Warm regards,
Kavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent two nights at the Oliver Plaza on a holiday. We were greeted by a very friendly staff that set the mood for a very nice stay. As a Canadian I am used to large motel/hotel rooms. This room although adequate was small by North America standard. We were very happy with the breakfast that was provided and was in the price making this hotel even more reasonable. The location was convienent to both bus, subway as well as restaurants being within a short walk. We enjoyed our stay very much and woud highly recommend this property. There is no question you would not regret staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms are small ask for a large room if you require same, but not sure if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Dan,

Thank you very much for your positive review and we are most delighted that you have been happy with your recent stay at Oliver Plaza.

I am delighted to read that you were overall happy with your stay and found our rooms spacious and clean. This combined with our great location works very well for our customers.

We look forward to welcome you again.



Kind Regards,
Kavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel provided excellent service. It was ultra clean and very well positioned for buses and tube. The staff were pleasant and obliging. It was good value for money.
The room was small by North American standards but functional nonetheless. The beds were comfortable. There was an elevator, safe and hairdryer provided, with access to an iron. The breakfast was very generous.

Room Tip: We had room 108, which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Susan,

I was really happy to read your comments following your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to do this.

I'm delighted that you felt that our service, location, and hotel facilities delivered everything that you needed and that you enjoyed your stay at Oliver Plaza.

We now look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

I brought my mom to England on her dream trip. Oliver Plaza Hotel was extremely clean. The staff,especially Rashed, was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was tasty. Maria and her staff were fast and great servers. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piermar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear valued guest,

I was really happy to read your comments following your stay with us and that you have enjoyed the hospitality of Oliver Plaza.

Always very good to have a feedback, where my team gets lovely comments. I will pass your kind words on.

We would be more than happy to welcome you at our hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Kavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Spent three nights at Oliver Plaza on a business trip. We chose it for the location and the price. The room was small, but it was clean and perfectly alright for sleeping in. I wouldn't take my honeymoon here, but when all you need is a bed I think it's a very good value hotel.

The default breakfast is a fairly dull continental spread, but you can get a full English for £5 if you ask for it (they don't really advertise that).

The only real problem with the room was that I found it noisy - no air-con meant that the window had to be open in order to be cool enough to sleep, and despite being on a fairly small street there is noise from outdoors at all hours.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uddagarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Oliver Plaza for your stay in London.

I'm delighted that you felt our location and neighbouring facilities delivered everything that you needed and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel.

We have in the rates the continental breakfast included, because it's always nice to have a coffee and a croissant before you leave the hotel for the day. For your convenience we also have the option to upgrade to the buffet breakfast which contains traditional English hot meals as well.

We now look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Spent two nights at the Oliver Plaza and I will definitely stay there again. Staff were very friendly, room was very clean, breakfast was lovely and the location was very ideal as the train station is just a two minute walk away. Good value for money also. Only problem was the walls are very thin so you can hear literally everything! PS I didn't mean to rate the fitness centre and swimming pool as terrible accidentally tapped it on my iPad and won't come off!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Cally,

I was really happy to read your comments following your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to do this.

I'm delighted that you have found your stay at Oliver Plaza enjoyable and that you were happy with the cleanliness of the hotel and our customer service. I have passed on your kind words to my team here.

We now look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The Oliver Plaza Hotel is located in a pleasant little residential area of classic apartment blocks just five minutes away from Earl's Court underground and even closer to the Earl's Court Exhibition halls. Earl's Court underground station (District Line) is just four stops away from Paddington Station if you're coming in from Heathrow. It is extremely convenient.

The rooms are cosy, the beds very comfortable and the temperature, somehow always just right. There's TV, free wifi, but no bar fridge, though. The unit bathroom is tiny but adequate. Breakfast means rolls, pastries, slices of ham, cheese, yogurt, cereals - and pretty good coffee too. The service is excellent - staff are friendly and helpful.

Overall, Oliver Plaza is an excellent combination of price, quality and convenience. I chose it because of its proximity to the Exhibition centre and its price, but I'd stay there again if I were just on holiday and doing sightseeing.

Room Tip: The hotel stands on at the corner of Trebovir road and a side street. I had a room one floor above g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Colin,

Thank you very much for taking the time and reviewing Hotel Oliver Plaza.

I'm delighted that you felt our location and neighbouring facilities delivered everything that you needed and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel. Indeed, whether you visit London for leisure or business, Hotel Oliver Plaza is a perfect choice!

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Kavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Oliver Hotel
Oliver Hotel
#824 of 1,076 in London
292 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Byron Hotel
The Byron Hotel
#520 of 1,076 in London
929 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#435 of 1,076 in London
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#51 of 946 in London
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver Plaza Hotel

Address: 33 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#308 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £98 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oliver Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the cosmopolitan area of Earl's Court, the new look of the Oliver Plaza Hotel offers you now even more sumptuous surroundings. We've upgraded the entire hotel to superior 3* standard, with new contemporary furniture in all areas, state-of-the-art LCD satellite televisions in all rooms, messaging facilities and free Internet wi-fi throughout the hotel, to give you an unrivalled guest experience and unrivalled value. Convenient located in a beautiful Victorian neighbourhood, near the Oliver Plaza you will find the top worldwide museums such as Natural & History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museum, top London must-see landmarks like Harrods, Hyde Park and many more, also the city centre is just in a very short travelling distance with the Piccadilly line. With no less than 123 different locations within easy reach from the nearby Earl's Court underground station, The Oliver Plaza is the perfect location. If you are visiting London for business (the Olympia London is just 5 min with the tube) or leisure, a visit to the Oliver Plaza Hotel is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oliver Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver Plaza London
Hotel Oliver Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing