We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel staff rooms food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #119 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights feb 4-6 the hotel is perfect for exploring London ,rooms absolutely fab ,heated bathroom floor television in bathroom.Staff were brilliant ,we had problem with water in our room not hot enough ,had an upgrade on a upgrade with views over the Thames ,breakfast was excellent and also had a meal in room which was excellent ,a truly 5 star hotel,stayed in a few 5 star hotels in London and this was by far the best.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wrighty257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

What an absolutely wonderful review!! I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, especially that you found the service that you received to be excellent. The team is delighted to hear that you feel we are one of the best five star hotels in London.

Come back and see us again soon!

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,694 - 3,700 of 4,824 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here for one night with my husband when we came to London to see Legally Blonde at the Savoy Theatre (which was amazing, btw). We upgraded to an Executive room (I think) which was spacious and full of amenities. IPod dock and 4 different pre-set lighting effects were a favourite of mine. I didn't quite understand why we'd need two showers, especially since you could only use one of them at a time, and the TV in the shower was a gimmick that wasn't quite as good in practice as in theory. However, Elemis toiletries are always a treat, lovely quality tea and coffee and a very, very good breakfast were wonderful. The bar was expensive but the location is so good that there's really no need to drink in the hotel.

Concerning the location, it's a minute's walk from Embankment tube station and easy walking distance to the local theatres and Covent Garden. There are myriad bars and restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets within several hundred metres. Perfect.

Room Tip: We had no view to the outside and reading some other reviews there are clearly rooms with great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floopert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. We are very lucky indeed to have such an enviable location – one of the best in London – with excellent transport links and attractions right on our doorstep.

I am pleased that you found your room luxurious and full of useful amenities. We feel those little extras make all the difference.

I was sorry to read that you thought our cocktail bar prices were expensive. Each time the menu is reviewed, we do check our menu pricing against other five star properties in the area to ensure we are inline our immediate competition.

We hope you will consider coming back to us the next time you need to stay in London, and perhaps you can reserve a river view room.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We arranged a family trip to London at the last minute. British Airways had a great package which placed us at the Royal Horseguards in late December. The rate was terrific and as a result, we were surprised by th opulence of the hotel and our rooms.We had great views of the Thames, overlooking the London Eye. Breakfast was included. The Lobby, restaurant and bar were elegant, calm and sophisticated. The staff was enthusiastic and completely dedicated to our comfort. Make sure to partake in afternoon tea.
As for the location, it could not be surpassed. a block and a half from Trafalgar square, we were able to walk to so many attractions, restaurants and shows that we barely needed the tube or the cabs.
i would highly recommend this hotel at any rate. Look for the specials on British Airways or other sites though for an extraordianary deal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

I am happy to hear you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your comments about the afternoon tea, as one of the Great British past times, we are very pleased you enjoyed The Royal Horseguards twist on it.
I’m happy you took advantage of the location of the hotel. As you discovered, a lot of attractions are just a walk away and it is always great to discover parts of London you would not normally see.

Thank you for your recommendation, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed at the Royal Horseguards as part of a weekend away with my husband.

The service from checking in until we left was great.

The room was chock full of amenities including heated bathroom floor and a tv in the bathroom. They also stock the room with spare toothbrush, razor, sewing kit etc so great for the traveller who leaves the odd item behind!

Took a bit of hunting down to find the tea/coffee making stuff but you are well rewarded as you have filtered coffee and a decent selection to choose from.

Mini bar very pricey so consider stocking the mini bar with your own if you are price sensitive.

Location is fab and just a short stroll to Covent Garden, Charing Cross and even the London Eye. There are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby as well.

Obviously deserving of 5 stars which comes at a price, that said I would happily stay here again if I was going to the theatre/west end.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAD520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

I am delighted to read that you had a great stay! We do pride ourselves on the service we provide and I am pleased you experience it from the beginning to the end of your visit.

We have worked hard to make sure that we have thought of all the little details that a guest may need while staying with us and it is great when they are appreciated. It sounds like you had a well deserved cup of coffee when you managed to find the tea and coffee making facilities.

As you say our location is great, so convenient whether you are staying in London on either business or leisure. So we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Visited London 28th until 30th Jan 2012 - stayed 2 nights at the Royal Horseguards, celebrating hubby's b'day. The foyer was wow with a a welcoming open coal fire.

We were given a room on the fifth floor looking out to the Thames. Whilst the room was clean and staff could not be faulted; we have been spoilt by hotels of the same rating in Asia and did complain (to ourselves) that the room was on the small side. We were told that we were upgraded but not sure we were.

However, the location made up for the small room. We walked most places and only used the underground as we had prepaid Oyster cards. Would definitely stay again but admittedly it was pricey.

Room Tip: Make sure that the air conditioner/ heating system is not too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your review of The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I was pleased that you’re first impression of the hotel was a WOW, and that you found your room clean and the staff friendly.

But I was sorry to hear that you found your room on the small side. Due to the age of the building, our rooms do vary in size quiet a lot as the interior is also protected by English Heritage. However as you say, with our location not many of our guest’s spend too long in their rooms as they are out discovering the sights of London.

It’s great to read that you would defiantly come back and stay again and we hope you make it soon - and do feel free to get in touch if we can help with any of your future booking arrangements!

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I managed to get a good deal in this hotel and the only concern was that I found it hard to reconcile with a five star hotel. I needn't have worried - this was quite simply one of the best hotels I have been in and even our standard room was excellent. From the heated flloors and televison in the bathroom (which included bath and shower), to the iphone sound system and free wifi, it seemed that the designers had thought of everything. I was even impressed by the umbrella in the wardrobe alongside the conventional bathrobe and slippers!
I cannot praise this hotel enough, despite the extremely high bar prices. However, at the deal we got, we could not complain.
I noted one complaint re the noise of air conditioning, however we didnt experience any such problems. I should add we had a room with no view, but I didnt think that important for a hotel in London. All-in-all, perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your glowing comments regarding your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards. We could not have asked for a better review of the room and all the amenities in it! We do try to make every guest feel comfortable in every room, with a little touch of luxury for you whatever the room type.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nts over the 21/22 Jan weekend and had an a brilliant time. I'd agree with all the positive reviews already on here....location is superb and while it's really central and in easy walking distance of a lot of londons attractions, it seemed to be in a really quiet spot which was lovely after being in the hustle and bustle. Coventry Garden is an easy walk so great for anyone visiting theatre land. We were upgraded to an exec king room which overlooked the river and the london eye....fantastic! The room was large and luxurious and i also loved the tv in the wall in the bathroom and the elemis products! The staff were all superb and very helpful. We didnt eat in the hotel other than breakfast, but the breakfast was excellent too with a great range of hot and cold....excellent to get you started for a busy day! All in all totally loved the hotel and will definitely stay there again when were next in London. It was our
anniversary too and we had strawberries dipped in chocolate and a card....a lovely touch. I'd
say anyone thinking of staying here....do it, you won't be disappointed! :-) ps I almost forgot, the bed was just perfect...king size, gorgeous pillows and quilt...we slept like babies!!:-) Thankyou RHG and all staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuBaHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

We are delighted that you chose to spend such a special occasion with us and are so pleased that you had a fantastic weekend! Your kind comments about our rooms and their facilities are much appreciated. I am especially delighted to hear you both slept so well while staying with us, as being tired can ruin a weekend away.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed breakfast with us and appreciated the range of items on offer. Perhaps the next time you visit you could try our restaurant, 1212 for lunch or dinner. The food is superb and service is attentive, I highly recommend it.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,060 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,294 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,042 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#74 of 1,077 in London
4,336 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#103 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £162 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing