We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #116 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

we were fortunate enough to stumble across this hotel on laterooms.com and thank goodness we did ! the staff were lovely , the room was amazing and we were only in a standard double , love tv in bath ! attention to detail was exceptional

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrswilson-tompsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We pride ourselves on the level of service we provide to our guests, and as you have discovered all our rooms come with those little extra luxuries to ensure your stay is special,

We are delighted you “Stumbled Across” us and hope you will choose us the next time you decide to visit London.

Kind regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,582 - 3,588 of 4,741 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

I found the Horseguards on TripAdvisor as I wanted something special for my better half's birthday.
I booked it via Laterooms.com and managed to get a substantial discount compared to the other hotels which were available on the same weekend. I had also placed a special request for a room with a view - which was honoured at no extra charge.
We arrived at around 6pm and were greeted by a lovely team of customer service professionals.
You could tell that the staff took great pride in looking after their guests. They couldn't do more for you.
We were promptly checked in and within minutes sitting in the room, taking in the evening view across the River Thames. Our luggage had been brought up and our car parked for us. The valet car parking is complementary unlike other establishments which charge for this service. The only downside is that the Royal Horseguards does not have it's own car park - therefore a nearby NCP is used - it isn't cheap at £35 per 24 hour period but I wasn't complaining as the car was taken away and brought back.
We ordered a little room service before we left, which was prompt and courteous. The turndown service was also exceptionally good.
The bed itself was probably a little small for my stature (6ft1), however it was comfortable.
The in-room technology boasts an ipod dock (with auxiliary inputs for non-ipod owners), a tv in the shower and speakers in the bathroom which meant that getting ready in this room was lots of fun with our favourite music.
Overall, I would thoroughly recommend anyone looking for a nice romantic break in the City. The only downside is that the bar closes early.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BhavinP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

It's great to hear that you chose to bring your partner to The Royal Horseguards to celebrate such a special occasion for you both - thank you.

It is wonderful to hear that you felt all the staff provided exceptional customer service. Our service levels are something we do take pride in, and it is always fantastic to hear that we are getting it right. The team will be delighted to read your comments.

For many of our guests, part of the arrival experience is to relieve themselves of driving their car in London, which is why we offer complimentary valet parking service to our guests. As you say as we do not have our own car park, so unfortuantly we are tied to the price structure of the local car park company.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the unique view of The Thames and London Eye and all the "in-room technology" while you were getting ready for a bit night out. The next time you stay, can I suggest you request a room with a king size bed to help ensure a more comftable nights sleep with us.

Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for just one night for our anniversary and how we wish we could have stayed for longer. We'd saved up to have a truly special 2nd anniversary and it was worth every penny!
The room we stayed in was not only beautiful, but also private and comfortable. Little things like elemis products in the bathroom to original features in the room made it truly special. There was a tv in the shower and room to fit two people in there! And underfloor heating in the bathroom. We were missing one bath robe but this was amazingly quickly rectified and it was brought up straight away.
The location was really good. We travelled by tube and a 2 minute walk from embankment got us to our hotel. It's so very close to southbank, the london eye, the bridges, Big Ben and all the sights.
This was a 5* hotel from the minute you open the door and it truly lived up to all our expectations. Having saved up to stay here, we were not disappointed in any way. We will be coming back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loubee1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

It makes me happy to think you choose The Royal Horseguards to spend a special milestone in your relationship, and even happier that you had a fantastic time.

We take pride in the fact that we have successful mixed modern with the traditional, and that it has come out so well. But the refurbishment also gave us the opportunity to review all the little touches that we put into the room to ensure all the details have been taken of. However it is always great to have our efforts appreciated.

We do believe that our location is one of the best in London. As you say we are so close to many of the main attractions in London, it hard to believe it until you start walking and experiencing it.

We appreciate the 5 star rating you gave us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back next year for your 3rd wedding anniversary.

Kind regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel is so convenient for so many visitor attractions in London. The hotel is beautifully appointed and has fresh orchids everywhere. Our room was clean, comfortable and had everything in it we could have wanted: tea, coffee and water, loads of soaps, lotions, shampoo, toothbrush, razor, umbrella, bath robes, and much more. The bed was really comfortable and the aircon was easy to operate. The room was very quiet, not a sound from the corridor or other rooms and no street noise as the area is a very quiet and safe area, even the paparatzi across the road were quiet (Rhianna was staying at the Corinthia Hotel).

Breakfast was a help-yourself buffet, hot or cold whatever you wanted with extra dishes on the menu cooked to order. We were given discount tickets for breakfast £15 and £19.50, I think the real price was £22.

Aternoon tea is served in the Hotel, we did not have it but it looked really nice.

The hotel is no smoking but they have a very attractive patio area for smoking with tables, chairs and heaters.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

All in all we would definitely stay here again, it's a great hotel for sight seeing.

Nearest Tubes
Embankment (2 mins- Circle and District lines)
Charing Cross (5 mins – Bakerloo and Northern lines)

Within 5 minutes walk you can be at Trafalgar Square, the National Portrait Gallery, the National Gallery, The Household Cavalry Museum, Banqueting House, Benjamin Franklin Museum, and the Playhouse Theatre.

Within 10 minutes walk you have Leicester Square, the London Eye, the Royal Festival Hall, The National Theatre, Downing Street, the Houses of Parliament, Westminster Cathederal, The Cabinet War rooms Museum, Institute of Contemporary Art, Theatre Royal, Her Majesty’s Theatre, Garrick Theatre, Adelphi Theatre and Covent Garden.

A lovely walk to the Tate modern along the river bank takes about 20-25 mins and gives you great views of London from the south bank. A little further (5 mins) and you are at Shakespears Globe Theatre.

If you want to go shopping Regent Street is 15 -20 minutes walk or you can get a bus from outside Charing Cross Station ( numbers 6, 9, 13, 15, 23) which will take you up Regent Street to Oxford Street. Remember to buy your Oyster Card for tube and busses.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lemans24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you for such a detailed review, I feel we should be using it in our advertising!!!! But seriously thank you for providing all this information and I am sure other TripAdvisor readers will find the level of detail extremely useful when deciding if they should book our hotel. As a result of your comments I am sure it will encourage a lot more people to book with us.

I really do not know what else to say as you have covered everything, so thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Horseguards soon.

Kind regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was our third stay at the Royal Horseguards, this time to celebrate our wedding anniversary. As ever the staff were very friendly and helpful from reception through to the restaurant at breakfast. Our room was on the seventh floor, with a fantastic view across the Thames to the London Eye and we awoke to the sound of Big Ben, which added to the atmosphere. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring central London - five minutes' walk to Trafalgar Square and only another five or so to the heart of Covent Garden. True, the hotel (and its bar!) aren't the cheapest in town but you certainly get what you pay for. This has become our top choice when visiting London and we look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: If wanting a river view, make sure you are on the 6th floor or above, to avoid having your view bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you for the lovely review you placed on TripAdvisor. We are honoured that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us.
I am delighted that you found the team friendly and helpful again on this visit, and I will certainly pass your comments on to everyone.

Wow what a way to be woken up, by the sound of Big Ben in the distance. That is certainly something to remember, along with the view out over the Thames which I am sure you will agree, is well worth the few extra pennies.

It means a lot to us that we are your preferred hotel in London, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth visit soon.

Kind regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We arranged a last minute trip to London during the December vacation and found accomodation at the Royal Horseguards Hotel at the price of a 3 star hotel on agoda.com!

On a previous trip to London we had stayed at a "3 star" hotel in Earls Court that we had booked on-line, and it turned out to be such a dump that we had to find alternative accomodation after the first night. Fortunately this time around I had helpful reviews on Tripadvisor to guide my decision.

We had travelled from Leicester to London by train, arriving at St. Pancras Station. The taxi ride to the hotel cost in the region of 25 Pounds. As we had arrived late, check-in was quickly accomplished.

The room (a standard double) was a tad small, however by London hotel standards it was large enough. We were offered an upgrade to a deluxe double which was literally a couple of square meters larger and not worth the additional fee.The size of the room did not bother us much as we did not plan on spending too much time in our room. All the usual amenities were provided including a flat screen TV in the bathroom. While it would have been nice to have had a river facing room, we had booked at the last minute and had to be content with a view of the Corinthian Hotel across the street. Being up on the 9th floor there was little to no noise from the little traffic on the street below. The room was furnished quite basically, but was however more than comfortable. There were no issues with the bath or toilet.

The Hotel staff were all very friendly, courteous and accomodating.

We dispensed with the breakfast offered at 22 pounds per person. Little Frankies and Garfunkles are literally around the corner and offer a full english breakfast for 2 at 10 Pounds! We did not bother having supper at the hotel either and preferred to sample the cuisine of the world (indian, chinese, thai, vietnamese etc etc)available throughout London. Special mention must be made of Dumpling Legend in Chinatown where we sampled some of the most delicious dim sum.

The hotel is ideally situated for tourists. It is a block away from Trafalgar square and is in close proximity to Big Ben, Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey, across the river from the London Eye, a short walk to Leicester Square, West End, Covent Garden, China Town, Buckinham Palace etc. Embankment underground station is literally a 2 minute walk away.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in London and having a comfortable, clean and luxurious hotel to come back to after a tiring day sightseeing and shopping was a relief!

On check-out, I asked the concierge to obtain a quote for a taxi ride to Heathrow Airport and the quote he got was quite shocking: 80 pounds!
I called a private radio taxi myself and saved 30 pounds!

The hotel is a perfect base for tourists seeking excellent accomodation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an in-depth review regarding your stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. It is pleasing to hear that we have been able to make your visit to London a comfortable and a luxurious one and that you did not feel the need to check out after the first night!!

The entire team will be delighted to read their efforts in providing a friendly and courteous service is appreciated, as we strive to improve with every passing day. It is fantastic that you managed to find a good deal on your stay with us. We do have promotions available directly at the hotel from time to time and we always suggest that you reserve directly with us.

I have discussed the transport issue with our Head Concierge and discovered that the quote given to you was for a Chauffeured Car which tends to be priced little higher than London taxi's. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the miscommunication. Our Concierge team can also arrange a traditional London ‘Black’ taxi from the taxi rank located just outside the hotel.

The location of our hotel is indeed a blessing, as we are very close to most of the popular tourist attractions of London and very well connected to the transport system.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you again for your critical feedback as it is a vital tool that helps us adapt and correct our service standards where necessary. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you come to London.

Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

An amazing location, beautiful hotel and friendly helpful staff, room was pure luxury and i loved all but the bar prices, I know its London but still! To much! Will hopefully go back to stay but we will keep away from the bar!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

I am pleased that you enjoyed the most luxurious stay with us, and that you found the entire team were helpful and friendly. Our Equus Bar has was launched a year ago and I am disappointed to read your comment as we have endeavoured to keep our prices competitive compared to other 5 star hotels in London. However I am pleased it will not deter you from coming back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,931 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#49 of 1,076 in London
3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,076 in London
4,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#101 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £197 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotelopia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing